Ratings based on 163 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Excellent Vacation

Posted Jul 23, 2017
We have stayed at many different all inclusives, but this one is, by far, the best. The facility is beautiful and well maintained. The staff is capable and respectful. And the food was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Austin, Texas

Loyal to the Royal!

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Activities around pool, shows at night, pilates classes (Juan Carlos was top notch) in gym. Loved that there is a quiet pool, no music, can read!
Cons: One group brought their own music and had it on competing against hotel music at big pool and that was rude and too noisy. A few people are oafs.
Location: Great location.....we explored 5th Avenue most nights. Lots of activity there but great to return to luxury and quiet of Royal when had enough!
The Royal is amazing.....it is hard to put into words the way this lovely place can excel in each category...staggering beauty, quality of food, activities, comfort, variety and of course the most outstanding aspect that sets this place apart is the staff! Until we experienced the Royal we did not understand how the quality of the staff could make such a difference in one's overall experience. You have to be there to really get it. Jose Garcia and his wait staff at Spice are beyond description - wonderful!!! The chef there is amazing. Example of attention to detail - we were there 6 days and each day, in addition to every possible fruit (tropical to of course) being available at peak of flavor each day, they cut the fruit differently each day so it is novel and new. We loved the quiet pool, the large pool, the ocean. It was hard to leave where we were to go someplace new on the grounds since we were so enamored where we were. The ceviche and paella served for lunch at the large pool was best I have ever had. Actually every meal was that way. The drinks are crazy good...we loved Red Tide, Funky Monkey, Mudslide (just to name a few) and of course the mojitos...they do not make them this good in Texas. Maria Marie was a spectacular dinner....get reservations! Diego the manager, Pastor the chef and our waiter Leonardo go out of their way to make it memorable and beyond perfect. Even our housekeeper deserves commendation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Wonderful all-inclusive beachfront resort

Posted Jul 23, 2017
We had a wonderful experience here. My only complaint is the difficulty we had making dinner "reservations" due to the size of our group (5 couples total).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Michigan

Best Hotel Ever!!

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Each summer my three best friends and I take our annual girlfriend trip--no husbands!! We have gone other places but generally stay at all inclusive resorts. I must say The Playa is the best resort ever. Pure perfection--location, room, food, drinks, pools, evening entertainment....We have never stayed at the same place twice, but we will be back to the Playa next year. LOVE!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2017
The hotel is nice and the location is great. Some of the staff are rude; for instance, they won't change a large USD bill for smaller USD bills. I was told, "we are in Mexico and we use Mexican pesos". Concierge, Alex is extremely rude and arrogant. He told me that I will have to pay $10 USD If the card key has a pen mark!!!! Completely absurd!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Iowa

Excellent Resort

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Pros: Hotel was clean and again could not have asked for a better staff.
Cons: Really would have liked to have had a Budwiser. Only had Coors for American beers. I do jest a little.
Would definitely return. Staff was friendly and helpful. Food was great and a good selection of choices. We enjoyed that is was close to the shopping area, yes the individuals trying to sell were typical but not overly pushy. We enjoyed the selection of meal options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Fantastic All Inclusive!

Posted Mar 21, 2017
An A+! Great food & service. Beautiful pools & landscaping. So close to shopping & ferry pier to Cozumel Island. Loved the coffee shop. The evening entertainment shows were full of unbelievable talent. Our rm was always clean & restocked with more amenities than we could ever want. Loved the slippers, robes, jet tub and patio hammock in our rm. Only one negative, the bed was too hard for our liking. Can't wait to go back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Staten Island, NY

Perfect location for a trip to Playa del Carmen

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Beautiful building and grounds well maintained. Friendly, polite and professional staff eager to ensure a great experience. On premises restaurants!
Cons: Entertainment and karaoke until at least Midnight, rather than 11 PM. Entertainment to begin on schedule so dinner can be planned before or after.
Location: Hotel is a short walk to town if shopping is in your interest. Worthwhile to see the local shops one afternoon (5th Ave).
Hotel staff and locals in Playa del Carmen are very friendly and welcoming. Restaurants on premises are excellent and no need to try the off premises restaurants that are included in the plan. Top shelf alcohol is included and the included house wines are a good offering. Chef cooking shows at the pool are fun and the well prepared food offered to all at the pool. Pools are clean and well maintained but not heated ... just a bit cool. Beach is clean and ocean is fun. Servers offer drinks all day at the pools and beach. Bartenders at all the bars are attentive. Evening entertainment is local.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from new jersey

beautiful location, relaxing week

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Resort is well maintained
Cons: room issue
Location: Location to local shopping was perfecto.
Staye done wek. The hotel staff did a fantastic job helping with every request. pool bar staff was awesome, namely Erick,Luis and Chi. Housekeeping was great, Great food as well
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Texas

Would Absolutely Return to this Resort!

Posted Jan 10, 2017
From the welcome we received upon our arrival to our departure...we enjoyed our entire stay at the Royal!. The staff were accommodating, kind, helpful and very friendly. The dining experiences we had were very enjoyable, the Chef's Plate was our favorite, with Maria Marie in second. However we also liked the Japanese restaurant and Rincon Mexico...fabulous authentic taco bar and delicious scallop ceviche. The drinks were wonderful, not watered down like in some other "all inclusive" resorts I have been to...loved our vacation.