Ratings based on 166 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Colorado

Needs more entertainment at night.

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Food was very good. the staff excellent, Thank you Chef Omar, Vicenta , Reynaldo from Spice. Willam from front door. I will not consider a 5star
Cons: Beach areas too small , very crowded. NO live music at night to dance. Like every other hotel. I recommended to 6 couple so for and the same.
Overall he had a good time! needs some updates!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Irvine, CA

Great Hotel, Great Service!

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Exceptional Service!
Cons: I wanted to stay longer!
Location: Xplorer Park nearby was a lot of fun!
Everything about the Royal Playa del Carmen is first rate. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and I will go back. My review is going to be a lot different that all the others due to a very sad situation. On the second to last night of my stay, just past 11:30PM, I got a call from the USA. My father had suddenly passed away. Needing to get back to Los Angeles ASAP, I went to the front lobby and spoke with the staff at the front desk. I cannot remember his name, but he gave me his condolences, and urged me to contact my travel agent for rescheduling my flights home. He asked the name of the agency, and I showed him the phone number... Without hesitation he said that the call was to the USA and the rate is $1/minute, but the hotel is not going to charge. He told me to return to my room, call the hotel operator, and everything will be taken care of. I called the hotel operator and she immediately knew who I was and connected me through to the operator. 95 minutes later I had a new flight home first thing in the morning. I went back to the front desk to arrange transportation to the airport and they took care of everything. At 4:30AM I was checked out of the hotel and the taxi was waiting for me. I can go on and on about the room, drinks, pool. etc. but this example of exceptional service I experienced, is what I will always remember. The travel agency struggled to take care of me (eventually they did) but the staff at the Royal got it, and I am very grateful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Missouri

Overall, a great hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2017
The staff went above and beyond to make my Mother's Birthday trip special. Room decorations, champagne, a cake and even a card were waiting for us when we arrived. Cesia and Daniella were fantastic! The beach was kept clean, the pool is great and the location is close to shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Excellent Vacation

Posted Jul 23, 2017
We have stayed at many different all inclusives, but this one is, by far, the best. The facility is beautiful and well maintained. The staff is capable and respectful. And the food was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Austin, Texas

Loyal to the Royal!

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Activities around pool, shows at night, pilates classes (Juan Carlos was top notch) in gym. Loved that there is a quiet pool, no music, can read!
Cons: One group brought their own music and had it on competing against hotel music at big pool and that was rude and too noisy. A few people are oafs.
Location: Great location.....we explored 5th Avenue most nights. Lots of activity there but great to return to luxury and quiet of Royal when had enough!
The Royal is amazing.....it is hard to put into words the way this lovely place can excel in each category...staggering beauty, quality of food, activities, comfort, variety and of course the most outstanding aspect that sets this place apart is the staff! Until we experienced the Royal we did not understand how the quality of the staff could make such a difference in one's overall experience. You have to be there to really get it. Jose Garcia and his wait staff at Spice are beyond description - wonderful!!! The chef there is amazing. Example of attention to detail - we were there 6 days and each day, in addition to every possible fruit (tropical to of course) being available at peak of flavor each day, they cut the fruit differently each day so it is novel and new. We loved the quiet pool, the large pool, the ocean. It was hard to leave where we were to go someplace new on the grounds since we were so enamored where we were. The ceviche and paella served for lunch at the large pool was best I have ever had. Actually every meal was that way. The drinks are crazy good...we loved Red Tide, Funky Monkey, Mudslide (just to name a few) and of course the mojitos...they do not make them this good in Texas. Maria Marie was a spectacular dinner....get reservations! Diego the manager, Pastor the chef and our waiter Leonardo go out of their way to make it memorable and beyond perfect. Even our housekeeper deserves commendation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Wonderful all-inclusive beachfront resort

Posted Jul 23, 2017
We had a wonderful experience here. My only complaint is the difficulty we had making dinner "reservations" due to the size of our group (5 couples total).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Michigan

Best Hotel Ever!!

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Each summer my three best friends and I take our annual girlfriend trip--no husbands!! We have gone other places but generally stay at all inclusive resorts. I must say The Playa is the best resort ever. Pure perfection--location, room, food, drinks, pools, evening entertainment....We have never stayed at the same place twice, but we will be back to the Playa next year. LOVE!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2017
The hotel is nice and the location is great. Some of the staff are rude; for instance, they won't change a large USD bill for smaller USD bills. I was told, "we are in Mexico and we use Mexican pesos". Concierge, Alex is extremely rude and arrogant. He told me that I will have to pay $10 USD If the card key has a pen mark!!!! Completely absurd!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Iowa

Excellent Resort

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Pros: Hotel was clean and again could not have asked for a better staff.
Cons: Really would have liked to have had a Budwiser. Only had Coors for American beers. I do jest a little.
Would definitely return. Staff was friendly and helpful. Food was great and a good selection of choices. We enjoyed that is was close to the shopping area, yes the individuals trying to sell were typical but not overly pushy. We enjoyed the selection of meal options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Fantastic All Inclusive!

Posted Mar 21, 2017
An A+! Great food & service. Beautiful pools & landscaping. So close to shopping & ferry pier to Cozumel Island. Loved the coffee shop. The evening entertainment shows were full of unbelievable talent. Our rm was always clean & restocked with more amenities than we could ever want. Loved the slippers, robes, jet tub and patio hammock in our rm. Only one negative, the bed was too hard for our liking. Can't wait to go back again!