"Little disappointing, the rooms were clean. However there is a refrigerator provided but not coffee machine or microwave in the room. Making for diffi ... " More

By a verified traveler on Wed 22 Mar 2017

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

At Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel you'll be 2.1 km (1.3 mi) from Universal’s Islands of Adventure™ and 2.6 km (1.6 mi) from I-Drive 360. Highlights at this hotel include an outdoor swimming pool and free self parking.

TVs with cable channels are featured in all 190 rooms, and you can enjoy separate bathtubs and showers, safes, and hair dryers. You'll find nice touches like soaking tubs and free toiletries to enhance your stay. Room service and desks are also available. Private bathrooms are not ensuite.

Enjoy the seasonal outdoor swimming pool and pool loungers. Added amenities include free WiFi in public areas, a coffee shop/café, and laundry facilities. Each morning continental breakfast is served between 6:30 AM and 10 AM. There's also free extended parking, along with the convenience of a free theme park shuttle.

With a stay at this Orlando hotel, you'll be 3.7 km (2.3 mi) from Universal Studios Florida™ and 4.1 km (2.5 mi) from Orange County Convention Center.

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
$49 per night

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
2.0 out of 5 2.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 2.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 2.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 2.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5

Not a great place to stay....

I was greeted by a young man that attempted to check me in. He was new. When he asked for help, 2 women suggested things to help me get checked in (some problem with the way the credit card system worked) and they argued over what he needed to do. It took about 20 min to get me checked in. I went to my room - carpet was filthy, there were cracks and eroded holes in the walls. I figured that I got what I paid for. That evening I was having problems with my cell phone so I tried to call the front desk for a wake up call and my in-room phone wasn’t working. When I went to the front desk to see about getting It fixed, he stated, “the phones don't work in most of the rooms and won’t be fixed. “ When I said that was a safety issue and asked what I would do if I needed help, he just shrugged his shoulders. The next morning I got up and got in the shower to get ready and stepped in. I noticed it was a bit slick and there were no grips in the tub. Wouldn’t you know it, as soon as I was covered with soap, I slipped and fell almost killing myself in this death trap, pulling the shower curtain off. After my near-death experience I went to the lobby to get my coupon for my $10 continental breakfast. I went into the little cafe to find a little area with pick/choose items. On the wall behind the attendant was a bulletin board like I had in elementary school showing other items. I got my $10 in items and checked out. Worst experience ever!!

Posted by , from Akron, OH on Dec 6, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Dec 8, 2017 by N

Hi There, We are very sorry about the issues you had but will note the manager about the problem you had faced.Thanks

2 out of 5
Flew in to Orlando late with my grandson. Decided to stay overnight in Orlando and treat him to a day at Universal before heading back to the beach. Booked this place on-line. total mistake. First room, the AC didn't work. Second room, not much better. Staff was not very friendly. I can say in their behalf, they were housing several people displaced by Hurricane Irma.

Posted by , from Dunedin, FL on Nov 2, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Nov 4, 2017 by k

Hi Sir, We are very sorry about the issues you faced . Thanks

2 out of 5
Everything is very old. Carpet and curtains need to be deep cleaned!

Posted by on Aug 9, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 12, 2017 by N

Hi There we will look into the issues you had.

1 out of 5

Bad

Pros: Nothing
Cons: Updated everything
Location: University
Wifi was available, only in the lobby. Elevators button for third floor only worked fifty percent of the time. Packing lot had glass, nails, and screws (I picked on up in my back tire). Room was dirty (toilet paper and towels in bath room where stained, when the shower was turned on little to no pressure, one of the two sinks was cracked so if used would leak on floor, bed sheets had green paint on them, ac leaked into room on the carpet).

Posted by on Aug 6, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 8, 2017 by n

Hi There, We are sorry about the issues you had I hope we knew what room you were in so we can back track so the manager can visit the room.

1 out of 5

Don't Stay Here

This hotel is a waste of money even for a bargain. The person working the front desk when I checked in was very rude. When I went up to the room it had a horrible smell. I pulled the sheets back and there was mold everywhere. Went down to the front desk and showed the lady the picture of my bed sheets. Even after the picture was viewed she gave me a hard time asking for a new room. The sheets in the new room didn't have mold on them but the toilet was clogged and the shower was rusted and looked like it hadn't ever been cleaned. I was told there were no other rooms and I'd have to make due. She would have maintenance look at the toilet tomorrow. So I didn't have an operating toilet for the night. Asked for a refund so I could stay elsewhere and I was told they have a no refund policy. Really wish I had been able to get a refund and go to a different hotel.

Posted by , from Ohio on Jul 30, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 6, 2017 by N

Hi There, We will look into the issue with the department heads. Thanks

2 out of 5

Get what you pay for

No tv remote, no way to change channel. Charged for ice. Asked twice for refrigerator which never came. Maid service came in room with DO NOT DISTURB sign on door. Only good thing about this hotel was location to Universal.

Posted by , from louisiana on Jul 7, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 23, 2017 by k

Hi There, Thanks for the review we will let the manager's know about the issues. Thanks

2 out of 5

THE WIFI SUCKS . THE LAUNDRY WAS OUT OF ORDER

Pros: NOTHING
Cons: YES THE COMPLETE HOTEL
I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO NOONE BAD ORDER ID ROOM TELEPHONE NEVER WORK STAFF WAS NO COMMUTED

Posted by on Jun 25, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 28, 2017 by k

Hi There, We are sorry about the issues as we only have Internet in the lobby and yes the Guest laundry was out of order but on the 2nd floor has 2 area's .

3 out of 5

The stay served its purpose.

Pros: Price and avaliability. But you get what you pay for sometimes
Cons: TV in rooms WIFI not just in the lobby. Some coffee pots in the rooms.
Little disappointing, the rooms were clean. However there is a refrigerator provided but not coffee machine or microwave in the room. Making for difficulty heating up something or being able to have coffee in your room. There is a cafe that offers coffee but if they are closed the lobby charges 4.00 or more for one cup of Keurig coffee. In looking to book my stay I wanted to have wifi avaliablity which was indicated they had, The one think they failed to tell you was you can only get it in the lobby not your rooms. Had I known I would have been watching tv on a 19 in television, I would have brought my glasses. The room served the purpose of my visit but probably wouldnt book again.

Posted by , from New Jersey on Mar 22, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5

Not clean

My room wasn't clean for 2 days, it has a ver bad smell.

Posted by , from Puerto Rico on Dec 14, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5

Convenient and inexpensive, but not perfect.

Pros: Cost and location.
Cons: No refrigerators.
Location: Walking distance to Universal Studios; right on International Drive; near all transportation.
I come to Orlando all the time and always stay at the Continental Plaza. It is very inexpensive; is walking distance to Universal Studios and right on International Drive, thus close to all transportation. The staff is very pleasant and try to be helpful. The cleaning staff do a good job and I've never had any problem with honesty. Towels are plentiful. Showers have a good force. Parking is plentiful and convenient and made easy access for my disabled aunt. There are several washing machines, reasonable in price. The snack and soda machines are very reasonable in price and are stocked. Walgreens is right next door and has everything. There are some negatives. My biggest negative is that the refrigerators were removed from the rooms, creating a big inconvenience. Rooms are old and dark. Locks are not the modern swipe key card. WiFi is available, but only in the lobby. Only one movie station, but several cable channels. You are charged for everything, e.g. picking up a package in the office, ice machine, breakfast, valuables safe in room. I cannot comment on the pool or the discount ticket kiosk, since I have never used them, but I've seen that many people do. I would recommend this hotel.

Posted by , from New York City on Oct 9, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?

About the Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel

Location 6825 Visitor's Circle at Intl. Dr, Orlando, FL 32819

Property Features

There's a coffee shop/café on site. Public spaces have free WiFi. An outdoor pool, tour/ticket assistance, and multilingual staff are also featured at Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel. Self parking is free. This Orlando hotel is smoke free.

  • 1 building
  • 190 guestrooms or units
  • 4 levels
  • Built in 1988
  • Coffee shop
  • Poolside lounge chairs
  • Umbrellas for the pool
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Car service
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Gift shop
  • Television in lobby
  • ATM
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family Property
  • Free WiFi
  • Free theme park shuttle
  • Laundry facilities

Internet

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free long-term parking , Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Orlando, FL (MCO-Orlando Intl.) (24.7 km / 15.3 mi)
  • Property shuttles: Free theme park shuttle
  • Parking: Free self parking and extended parking

Room Amenities

Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel offers 190 air-conditioned accommodations with laptop-compatible safes and hair dryers. Premium cable television is provided. Rooms have detached private bathrooms. Bathrooms include separate bathtubs and showers with deep soaking bathtubs and complimentary toiletries. Cribs/infant beds (surcharge) are also available. Housekeeping is provided on a limited basis. Renovation of all guestrooms was completed in March 2016.

  • Private bathrooms are not in room
  • Deep soaking tub
  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • Television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Separate shower and tub
  • Cribs (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (limited)
  • Hair dryer
  • Laptop safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy continental breakfast daily from 6:30 AM to 10 AM.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Accessibility

If you need to make special requests for accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when booking your stay.

  • Roll-in shower
  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is 21

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! One child 14 years old or younger stays free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are available for USD 10.00 per night.

Pets

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation.

The hotel advises that Orlando/Kissimmee residents must provide a USD 200 deposit in cash or credit card hold at check-in. For more details, please contact the property by using the number on the booking confirmation email.

  • Only service animals are allowed
  • Noise-free rooms not guaranteed
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • Parking height restrictions apply

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: USD 200.00 per stay
  • Breakage deposit: USD 200.00 per stay

The charges below are included in your overall room price:

  • Resort fee

The resort fee includes:

  • Pool access
  • Parking

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Breakfast fee: between USD $2.00 and USD $9.00 per person (approximately)
  • Late check-out fee: USD 25.00
  • Refrigerator fee: USD $5.00 HA TO BE REQUESTED per day
  • Crib (infant bed) fee: USD 10.00 per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Continental Plaza
  • Continental Plaza Hotel
  • Orlando Continental Plaza
  • Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel
  • Orlando Plaza Hotel
  • Orlando Plaza Hotel Continental
  • Continental Plaza Orlando

You should know

  • The total price shown includes a resort fee.
  • One child 14 years old or younger stays free in the same room as the parent or guardian when using existing bedding.
  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.