"Last minute switch from a trip to the mountains (wildfires) to a trip to Universal Studios in Orlando, Florida. The staff at the hotel were very atten ... " More

By a verified traveler on Sat 26 Nov 2016

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

At Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Orlando, Florida you'll be 1.5 km (0.9 mi) from I-Drive 360 and 2.8 km (1.7 mi) from Orange County Convention Center. Highlights at this hotel include free breakfast, an outdoor swimming pool, and free self parking.

LCD TVs with satellite channels are featured in all 170 rooms, and you can enjoy free WiFi, coffee/tea makers, and free newspapers. Refrigerators and microwaves make in-room dining convenient. Additionally, free local calls, hair dryers, and irons/ironing boards are available.

This business-friendly hotel offers free WiFi in public areas, a fitness center, and concierge services. Added amenities include a 24-hour business center, coffee/tea in a common area, and laundry facilities. Hot/cold buffet breakfast is available for free. There's also the convenience of a free area shuttle.

With a stay at this Sand Lake hotel, you'll be 2.9 km (1.8 mi) from Universal’s Islands of Adventure™ and 4.6 km (2.8 mi) from Universal Studios Florida™.

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking (Guest)

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
$69 per night

Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking (Guest)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Suite, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking (1 Bedroom)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking (Guest)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible, Non Smoking

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking (Rollin Shower)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Orlando ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.7 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0
3 out of 5

It was just okay

When we firdt walked in people at front desk were just chatting and just glanced at us until I asked where do I check in? And room had some kind of smell.. it was just oky

Posted by , from Florida on Jul 16, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Orlando, Florida

Pros: Only the location but the property is not well maintained...
Cons: Need to higher a new maintenance staff and management that could hold them accountable...
Location: Very centrally located...
The location was good but the cleanness of the room was not good at all, the A/C unit facia was all broken and you could see the air filter all dirty. Same thing in the bathroom, the vent could see all the dirt accumulated inside. The continental breakfast that was offered, was cold...Not happy at all with the property, if it was not because was staying for one night only, would have left the property and gone elsewhere.

Posted by on Jan 31, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 5, 2017 by Customer Care

Hi. It is good to hear from you. Thank you for your positive feedback about our hotel location. We apologize that you were not satisfied with the accommodations and cleanliness of your room during your stay. Also, we are sorry that you were not happy with the “Be Our Guest” breakfast at that time. Your comments will be shared with the hotel management to refine our services. We are hoping for another chance to serve you at any of our Country Inn and Suites hotels in the future.

3 out of 5

Very Caring Staff!

Pros: The staff! They all appeared to want to help make our stay a good one!
Cons: Our suit had a little carpet mold. Rather smelly room.
Location: It's like a mini Las Vegas Strip! You can walk to shops, dining venues, and entertainment! Excellent location!
Last minute switch from a trip to the mountains (wildfires) to a trip to Universal Studios in Orlando, Florida. The staff at the hotel were very attentive to our needs! Phone and bedside light were not working in one room.... electrician was there and the problem fixed within the hour. They suggested a taxi service to get to Universal Studios as my 80 year old parents were traveling with us. That was an excellent suggestion. Staff setting up breakfast were very helpful and cheerful too.

Posted by , from South Carolina on Nov 26, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Nov 29, 2016 by Kris Santana

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read our staff was able to exceed your expectations and make your time with us enjoyable. We are pleased to say that we are currently going through renovations to get a fresh new look. We look forward to your next stay.

1 out of 5

Nasty!!

This was the worst Country Inn I have ever stayed in! Stay clear of that dump,

Posted by , from L on Jul 18, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 19, 2016 by Kelly

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We are continuing our renovations to be able to better serve and make our guests happy. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

3 out of 5

Overall Pretty Good

Pros: Great Location. Condition. Cleanliness. Pretty Enough parking. Very good price.
Cons: Breakfast. It was the Christmas Day and they ran out of almost everything.
Hotel is in great shape. Very clean and convenient. Accommodating staff.

Posted by on Dec 28, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Hotel close to Universal Orlando

Pros: Staff, House keeping, cleanliness
Cons: Breakfast, Little more parking, as it gets too crowded if arrived late at night
Location: Universal Orlando, Wet n wild, Fun Spot, Ripley's believe it or not
Country Inn is close to Universal Orlando, Wet n wild, Fun Spot, etc. Closer to good restaurants, gas stations. The reception and front desk staff were kind and helpful. Rooms were clean, excellent house keeping, Big lobby for break fast and relaxing. Easy access to parking, 2 elevators and 4 floors, Simple Game Room, "Library Book shelf" and Basic Gym. There are things that I was not happy about the hotel. 1. Laundry is available in 3 & 4 level, not all machines were working. Couldn't get enough change for the laundry (8 quarters for washing, 8 for dryer & 5 for detergent) from the front desk or from the Gift shop. Now many hotels have CC access for laundry. 2. Room had only refrigerator and did not have microwave 3. The room key card stopped working everyday and had to get it working with the front desk, the reason being it should not be kept next to a credit card or cell phone. Seriously?? 4. Doors to the room (at least my room) were tight and needed a hard very push to open / close completely. 5. Breakfast was open till 6:30 to 9:30 AM but when the items run out (around 9 am), they are not being refilled. Not a great taste either. Over all the stay was good for the money spent.

Posted by on Dec 28, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

great location

Pros: nice,our room is clean, location,
Location: everything near by
very happy, everything went great for us , well tell family and friend

Posted by , from s a tx on Dec 20, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 23, 2016 by Kelly Cowan

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay.

4 out of 5

Clean, comfy, and updated close to Disney

Pros: clean and updated
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Close to Disney Parks
I absolutely recommend this hotel. I only paid $55/night and it was more than worth it. It doesn't look like much from the outside, but the rooms were very comfortable and clean. Also the hotel has been updated and felt fresh and the staff was nice and informative. The continental breakfast was nothing to get excited about, but we were all able to find something we liked that was filling.

Posted by , from Huntington, WV on Oct 28, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Nov 3, 2015 by Kelly, GM

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to your next stay.

3 out of 5

Know before you go

Pros: I liked the staff. They were extremely helpful and solicitous of guest needs.
Cons: The plumbing. Geez!
Location: Near to this hotel are many things to do from Discovery Cove to Universal. We had a great time at both places. Gator golf & go-carts are nearby also.
This is an older Country Inn and that's fine. The hotel was clean and the breakfast was acceptable. The main problems with this particular hotel are the the toilets. They have a low water line and backs up frequently all over the hotel. When we first checked in, I noticed a plunger in the hallway outside a door. I thought nothing of it because things happen. The first night in our own rm the a/c went out and I slept badly and woke covered in sweat. The next day involved a super apologetic staff, not their fault, and a room change. In our next rm is where we found out why the plunger is so popular. It seemed to travel up and down the hallway. The other thing that was particularly irksome to me was that I did not have a hot cup of coffee the entire time I was there. Several people remarked on it throughout the day. The room coffee makers are not popular with me. I think the staff is desperately trying to maintain standards but they have to work w/ what they have. Also, get a parking spot early. The parking lot is full to overflowing on the weekend. I understand why the rates are low at this particular Country Inn. It's good if you're in a pinch but I would not have this as my 1st, 2nd, or even 5th choice in future. I wish them well and hope that the plumbing, the main issue, is resolved in future.

Posted by , from South Florida on Sep 29, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5

Love the location.

The hotel was in a very nice location,close to attractions. Decent price! Very clean..had some aggravating noise in the air conditioner called front office,they sent up maintenance man. He took some things apart seemed to work for a while but within hours the noise was back..did not sleep a wink! Breakfast was decent...ran out of a lot of things before it was over...not enough coffee to go around and I love my coffee in the mornings.. Overall it was nice we weren't in the room long..

Posted by on Sep 21, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 24, 2015 by Kelly Cowan, GM

We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the your room. Please know that we work to ensure that each of our guest has a great stay. I will also be sure to share your comments with the breakfast team regarding their service to you. I again extend my sincere apologies.

About the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Orlando, Florida

Location 7701 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819

Property Features

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Orlando, Florida offers its guests an outdoor pool and a fitness center. A computer station is on site and WiFi is free in public spaces. A 24-hour business center and a meeting room are available. Free breakfast is served. Tour/ticket assistance, multilingual staff, and gift shops/newsstands are also featured at the business-friendly Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Orlando, Florida. Self parking is free. This Orlando hotel is smoke free.

  • 170 guestrooms or units
  • 5 levels
  • Breakfast available (free)
  • Business center (24 hours)
  • 1 conference room
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Gift shop
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Fireplace in lobby
  • Television in lobby
  • ATM
  • Onsite shopping
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family Property
  • Free WiFi
  • Free area shuttle
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Free cribs/infant beds

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Orlando, FL (MCO-Orlando Intl.) (22.4 km / 13.9 mi)
  • Property shuttles: Free area shuttle
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Orlando, Florida offers 170 air-conditioned accommodations with complimentary newspapers and coffee/tea makers. LCD televisions come with premium satellite channels. Refrigerators and microwaves are provided. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones; free local calls are provided (restrictions may apply). Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • LCD television
  • Satellite channels
  • Premium channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Cribs (free)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Newspapers (free)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

Guests are served free hot/cold buffet breakfast.

Nearby Activities

Guests enjoy an outdoor splash pool and a fitness center with cardio equipment including with a treadmill and stationary bike.

Three miles away, the Shingle Creek Golf Club has an 18-hole, par 72 course, driving range, clubhouse, and pro shop.

The recreational activities listed below are available on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Golfing nearby

Accessibility

If you need to make special requests for accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when booking your stay.

  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 4 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Up to 3 children 18 years old and younger stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pets

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: USD 50.00 per stay
  • Resort fee: USD 5.00 per accommodation, per night

The resort fee includes:

  • Breakfast
  • Pool access
  • Fitness center access
  • Shuttle service
  • Business center/computer access
  • Internet access
  • Newspaper
  • In-room coffee
  • Laundry facilities
  • Concierge/valet service
  • Self parking
  • Parking

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

Hotel Names

  • Country Carlson Orlando Universal Florida
  • Country Inn Carlson Orlando Universal Florida
  • Inn Carlson Universal
  • Universal
  • Universal Inn
  • Country Inn Carlson Universal
  • Country Carlson Universal

You should know

  • Up to 3 children 18 years old and younger stay free in the same room as the parent or guardian when using existing bedding.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.

Promotions

25% Off Shows in Orlando

Book a stay now - January 31, 2018 for travel during the same period and receive 25% off the purchase of show tickets.


Guests must purchase tickets at the Local Expert concierge desk in the lobby. Discount is off the standard rates charged by Local Expert concierge desk. Show tickets must be purchased by January 31, 2018 for redemption by February 28, 2018. A maximum of 2 tickets per show may be purchased using this offer. Offer is only valid for shows in Orlando carried by Local Expert concierge desk. Additional tickets may be purchased at the regular retail rate. Taxes are included. Admission to theme park is not included in this offer. Parking is not included. No refunds for any unused or partially used tickets. Show tickets are non-transferable, non-refundable, not for re-sale, void if altered, will not be replaced if lost or stolen and may be confiscated without restitution for misuse. No refunds for any unused or partially used show tickets. Improper use constitutes fraud. Offer subject to availability. Other restrictions may apply. See specific show information for more details.

USD 100 off 2 Universal Orlando® Multi-Visit Tickets

Book a stay in any room or rate plan for travel January 18 - December 31, 2017 and guests receive USD 100 off the purchase of 2 Universal Orlando 4 Day multi-visit admission tickets. Each Universal Orlando 4 Day Park to Park ticket entitles guest park-to-park admission to Universal Studios Florida®, Universal's Islands of Adventure®, and access to select club venues in Universal CityWalk® for any 4 days, during a 7 day period starting from day of first use.


Guests must purchase tickets at the Local Expert concierge desk in the lobby. Discount is off the standard rates charged by Local Expert concierge desk. Additional tickets may be purchased at the non-promotional rate. Each Universal Orlando 4 Day Park to Park ticket entitles guest park-to-park admission to Universal Studios Florida®, and Universal's Islands of Adventure®, and access to select club venues in Universal CityWalk® for any 4 days, during a 7 day period - starting from day of first use. Tickets must be purchased between January 18, 2017 and December 31, 2017 from the Local Expert desk in the lobby. Tickets are for the sole use of hotel guests and may not be traded or sold. No refunds for any unused or partially used tickets. Improper use of tickets constitutes fraud. Offer subject to availability. Full details at check-in. Other restrictions may apply.