Ratings based on 1,100 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2015 on Hotels
Great as always!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2016 by Tyler, Hotel Management
Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm glad to hear that your stay was great and even happier to hear that it's always been that way! We hope to have you visit again soon.
3 out of 5
by Christopher

Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2016 by Tyler, Hotel Management
Christopher, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We hope that the next time you stay with us we can turn that 3-star stay into a 5-star one!
2 out of 5
by Carol from Seattle

Damp, cold, musty

Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed in the bldg. in the back, not waterfront. The bldg. is cement block. It was summer weather in Sept. The floors stunk, anything you left on the floor or sitting in a chair became damp. The plumbing is incredibly loud! You can also hear the neighbors plumbing on each side and from above. When you flush the toilet you need to immediately close the door when you exit or you can't hear each other speaking. The hot tub closes at 10 p.m. so no late tubbing. Overall got a bad sense about customer service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2016 by Tyler, Hotel Management
Carol, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm disappointed to hear that your stay in the exterior-corridor building was less than pleasant. I've passed these issues that you've encountered on to your housekeeping and maintenance leadership and are working on getting them fixed. We hope you'll give us another chance to earn your business in the future!
5 out of 5
by Not Provided

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2016 by Tyler, Hotel Management
Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm happy to see you enjoyed your time here and hope to see you again!
4 out of 5
by Thaoe

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2016 by Tyler, Hotel Management
Thaoe, thank you for reviewing our hotel. We hope the next time you stay with us we can turn that 4 star into a 5 star!
2 out of 5
by Andrea from USA

Bad Management

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is in a great location. Awesome views. The hotel smells a little musty, but that is clearly from the ocean that is only a few feet away. Very clean and quiet. We ran into an issue with the hotel. Supposedly, the hallway smelled like marijuana and we were blamed. Its Washington, every place smells like weed! The man from the front desk called our room and acted condescending, snotty and then proceeded to mimic my reaction then threatened to kick us out of the hotel if he smelled it again. This man has no business interacting with customers. A senior manager should train him to know that there are a lot better ways to handle the situation. I understand the hotel's policy to control all types of smoking, but to have this man mimic me in snotty manner and then threaten us, was complete uncalled for. We stayed the night and then left 2 days early. After it got dark, it smelled like marijuana everywhere (which is very typical at WA hotels), and we didnt want to get thrown out in the middle of the night for someone else's actions. Will not be staying here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2016 by Tyler, Hotel Management
Andrea, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm disappointed to hear about the issues you had with your stay. Please know they are not of the norm here and given that we are a 100% nonsmoking property, smells of smoking of any sort are not tolerated. We hope you can give us another shot in the future!
5 out of 5
by Robert

Nice quite place to lay your head at night

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
This is an average hotel that offers above average views. I would put this one in line with a holiday inn that needs a bit of TLC. The hotel itself was very nice, just felt a bit dated. But the real reason to stay is the water views!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2016 by Tyler, Hotel Management
Robert, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm happy to hear that you thought our property was very nice and enjoyed the view! We take all of our feedback seriously and appreciate the candid comments regarding the hotel's appearance. We hope to be your choice in Port Angeles in the future!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Seaside view a mosted reserart breafested was done well
Cons: Stay away form booking rooms close to exit doors if you don't mind being woken up at intervolds. Or the work out gym overhead lots of noze !!!! Oh ya
Location: Olympic Game Farm .... Farmers Market ..... Taylors Restaurant... Vintage Clothes Shop... Taco Bell ...
The website only would book for one night also upgraded when arived to seaside view ? Thy desk Clerk Hidy was very distort with are present that we wanted to upgraded to the seaside . The booking for the other couple was incorrect also two rooms two days no they booked one day two rooms . So on Saturday after a trip out to the game farm that was great we were looked out of are rooms because of the booking problems. The other couple had a second go round with desk clerk Hidyon confirming their second night say very rude explanation of why this happen to him . All of the rest of the staff was amazing happy and helpful great place to stay .
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2015 by Tyler, Hotel Management
Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed the view from the premium waterfront room and had a good breakfast in The Crabhouse. I am sorry to hear about the noise experienced with your room near an entrance though! A good night's sleep is valuable and I apologize that wasn't the case for you. The next time you book here please let us know so we can place you elsewhere. With regard to the gym being overhead, I am unsure exactly what you mean because our gym is located in a separate building than the guest rooms. I'd also like to apologize for the confusion with the reservations. I've spoken to Heidi and discussed your issues with her. It seems there was an issue with how the reservations were booked and she tactfully fixed it. I'm sorry if there were ill-feelings. Once again thank you for staying with us and we hope to be your choice in Port Angeles in the future!
4 out of 5
by Lauren

SUPER but no elevator

Posted Oct 31, 2015 on Hotels
Business, great location, clean safe place next to ferry and beach- prettty ! only down side NO ELEVATOR :(
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2016 by Tyler, Hotel Management
Lauren, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel's location and amenities! Although our property is indeed an older one without an elevator we do everything we can to accommodate guest floor requests and in the case we can't or a guest simply would like help with bags we are always available to assist! We hope to be your choice in Port Angeles in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Tacoma, WA

Stay at the Red Lion Port Angeles

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: see above
Cons: heat the pool during the cold months if it is open
We love staying here restaurants close by and they have a nice restaurant in the hotel and bar as well. the rooms are clean and they make every effort to make us feel welcomed and service is awesome.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2015 by Tyler, Hotel Management
Schwab, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed you stay. Being right downtown we do have access to many restaurants even by walking! I'm also pleased to hear that your room was nice and clean. With regard to our pool it is indeed seasonal as it is an outdoors. We actually do heat it while in season, to a temperature around 80 degrees. During the cold season when it is closed we have a partnership with the local public pool to give our guests free access! Next time you visit give them a try! Once again thank you for staying with us and we hope to be your choice in Port Angeles in the future.