Ratings based on 25 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Silverdale, Wa

Premium price for average room

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: It was in Port Angeles
Cons: Pricing. Building condition. Structures are settling and hallway floors are very uneven. Noisy AC/Heater.
Location: Nice location. Downtown on waterfront. If you pay extra you can have a room with a water view.
We were in a bind. I had to make an unexpected business trip and we needed a room in Port Angeles on Saturday night on Memorial Day weekend. Checking online, we found the Red Lion Inn was the only place in town with any vacancies. The cheapest room available was a small room with a single queen bed, no view and no continental breakfast. We booked it online on Friday. Holiday rates were double the normal rate for a room that I would rate as average in a facility that is beginning to show its age. I'm sure the price would have been even higher if we had just walked in and asked for a room.The room was clean, the staff was friendly and the location is good but their pricing is easily triple what you would expect to pay for a room and amenities of this level. It's not a bad place to stay if you don't mind being seriously overcharged but if you just want a basic room for a decent price, look somewhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Portland, OR

Right on the water, lovely view

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: Vicinity to ferry
Cons: Update carpet
We stayed here in order to catch the ferry to Victoria. Is a nice hotel, some upgrades being done. Still a little outdated in the carpeting but rooms are very clean and comfortable. They also allow guests to leave their cars while in Victoria for $5 per day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Tacoma

Best hotel in Port Angeles and best location.

Posted Oct 18, 2015
Like the title says, this is the best hotel in Port Angeles with about half of the rooms being direct waterfront with private balconies, and a great location next to the pier and the downtown area with many nice bars, restaurants and shops. But having said that, the bar is not particularly high when you look at the competition unless you go out of town. The hotel is very nice overall, and offers great amenities, including pool, hot tub, on-site dining, and bicycles. The rooms are large and comfortable with nice flatscreen TV's frig and microwave, but they are not newly renovated. The only real negative we had was the carpets in our room were stained and patched, and should have been replaced, and we could hear our neighbors shower being operated very clearly and loud. But even if you don't get a waterfront room,you are literally right there at the 'beach' and pier, and the walkway along the water. And there are a half dozen nice places to eat within a block, plus the Saturday farmers market. We would stay again if we stay in town vs. in the Olympic Park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Olympia, WA

Great Jump-Off to Victoria

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location.
Cons: This is not a "new" hotel and clearly it has been used by many through the years. Accepting those facts, it was fine as is.
Location: Browsing downtown and Port Angeles history. Ferries to Canada. Ferries to elsewhere (??? not sure). Olympic National Park. The Olympic Peninsula.
Our party of 5 reserved two rooms for one night in order to get on the 8:15 ferry to Victoria, where we were staying overnight. We were able to leave the car at the Red Lion for $5 and our walk to the ferry terminal was just 5 minutes long. Nice, comfortable, rooms. Quiet environment. A short walk to an excellent restaurant for dinner. Close to some main shopping streets that we browsed. Nice evening views out on the waterfront. We had noted that reviews for this hotel were mixed. Port Angeles itself does not seem to be a "destination resort." But it is a very fine jumping off point for Victoria and for the Olympic National Park and Olympic Peninsula. The Red Lion was just plain perfect for staying and getting out and about.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from WA

Red Lyon needs an update

Posted Sep 17, 2015
Pros: The food we had wasn't too bad.
Cons: It should be remodeled.
Location: Reason for visiting Port Angeles was to drive up to Hurricane Ridge.
For the price of a water view room, this should have been a first class hotel. It needs a complete remodel. It is old and showing its age. I would not recommend this hotel at all. The price with the update came to $231.00 for a night. That is awful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Portland, OR

Ok for a few days

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Pros: The view from the window, facing the Strait of Juan de Fuca, it is next to the Victoria ferry.
Cons: The food in the restaurant could be much better, the breakfast was a little better but not by much. The water in the pool should be warmer.
Location: On the plus side, they are located next to the Victoria Ferry.
The front desk clerks weren't very courteous, the pool water is icy cold, the food in the restaurant less than mediocre, and very expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Oregon

Hotel available for a last minute trip to Olympic

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Pros: Great location, adequate parking, friendly staff, heated outdoor pool
Cons: High priced mediocre food in the attached restaurant
Location: Whale watching, ferry to Victoria, shops, fresh seafood, Olympic national park
This was the nicest hotel available for a last minute trip to the Olympic peninsula. The staff was very nice. We splurged on a water view room and got to see some wildlife from the balcony. It had a nice view of Ediz hook, and is located within walking distance to the ferry, some neat local restaurants and lots of shops. The northern national park entrance is about 10 minutes away, and from there it is 17 miles up to Hurricane Ridge. The food at the hotel restaurant wasn't the greatest, but there are several other choices close by. There is a paved trail right behind the hotel that people were walking and biking, and it looks like it goes for miles. My kids played for hours in the heated outdoor pool. a great experience!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from k

Great location, too pricey for what you get.

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Perfect location but expensive for a nights stay.
2 out of 5
by A traveler

The photo looks good, but beware!

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Pros: It was located close to the ferry, but there was no shuttle to take us there.
Cons: Let people know they will be staying in an old building on the second floor and there's No elevator! Don't charge first class rates for 4th class
Location: We spent the day in Victoria and found that beautiful. Ferry people were very helpful and courteous.
Although we booked a room for two seniors and a grandchild, we were given a room off the parking lot...not the gorgeous building featured...on the second floor (there was NO elevator) with a door to the outside. We had booked a second night before arriving, unfortunately. The bathroom smelled moldy and had mold on the tiles...I am severely allergic to mold, so I asked for a new shower curtain. When I asked for a second stand for suitcases, we were told to get one out of the storage across the lot, but the door was locked and an assistant there left without opening it for us. At 2 am, we were awakened by loud yelling and arguing in the parking lot that continued for an hour. We had asked for help with luggage (since there was no elevator) and assured we'd get help, but it never did come. We paid the high price, thinking we'd get a view of the Strait, but didn't.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Slamo from Silverdale, WA

Pretty good.

Posted Jul 21, 2013
Clean and comfortable. Fairly quiet with windows that open! Room size ample. Pool sparkling clean. All staff great with exception of surly front desk staff at check-in. We have stayed here many times. Very relaxing if you get a room on the water side. Try The Haven for a fantastic breakfast.