Ratings based on 13 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from So. Cal.

Raiders VS. Bills Trip

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: Everyone was so friendly and we especially enjoyed the free breakfast snacks.
Cons: The cable box needs its own shelf. Our box pointed at the ceiling making hard to change the channel.
Location: We ate great Chinese food at Hunan Village on Grand Ave.
My friend and I stayed here when we went to see the football game at the Oakland Coliseum. I was looking for a reasonably priced place that wasn't in a dangerous location and boy did we score. The location seemed a bit dated but the rooms seemed remodeled and comfortable. We were in the room that faced the street. Even though cars drove by all night on University, we didn't hear them. The beds and pillows were soft and comfy and I wanted to bring them home. The two men working the front office were so kind and so were the ladies cleaning the rooms. We also saved money by taking the BART to the stadium instead of paying for parking. The BART station was two blocks over and two blocks up and round trip was five or six bucks. I will be sure to stay here the next time we see a game.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A traveler from Beijing

It's about six minutes drive to UC Berkeley

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: Quite good
The room is small but clean. The breakfast is simple. Free parking in the yard. The staff there are quite friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2016 by Tony, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at Super8 Berkeley and the wonderful review. We hope to see you again soon. With much respests management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Houston, TX

Great bang for the buck

Posted May 1, 2016
This was excellent value for the price and location. The only complaint I have is the chemical smell from cleaning products. The smell triggered my allergies, which was not good. Everything else was great. Clean room, comfortable bed, place to stay. I felt perfectly safe staying there by myself. I'd stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2016 by Tony, Hotel Management
Thank you for stayin at Super8 Berkeley. And we are glad for your wonderful review. We hope to see you again soon. With much respects. Management
3 out of 5
by A traveler

It was ok...

Posted Aug 14, 2015
I guess it was ok for the price. I felt neighborhood was not that great, and room was uncomfortable for 2 men.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2015 by Roy, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at Super8 Berkeley. Sorry for the incoviences i hope you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that this will not mar your overall experience and we all look for the chance to welcoming you back and have a good day. With much respects, Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Nice inn in Berkeley

Posted Jul 2, 2015
It is located in a safe area. We had a late dinner at ten o'clock and drove back to the hotel. The price is acceptable. However, the wall was thin and we heard the TV noise from the next door all the night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2015 by manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying in our motel. we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. we are open 24 hour for our guest service. we welcome you to come back againand have a wonderful stay. with much respect, management.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

A Good Choice for the Price

Posted Aug 27, 2010
If you are looking for a decent motel walking distance from downtown Berkeley that is not too expensive, Super 8 is a good choice. The rooms are clean, the staff friendly, and parking is free. There is also wireless access in all the rooms. I spent a week here, and would have no reservations about recommending it to a friend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A traveler

What a great place!

Posted Jul 29, 2010
I stayed there the weekend of July 24, 2010. Went to the Greek Theatre there in Berkeley, so I picked this hotel for its price and proximty to the Theatre. I had read that they had redmodeled it so I was excited about that. I have only wonderful things to say about this place. First off, I told the manager that I would be a single woman staying by myself and and was a little worried about that. When I checked in he said "I gave you the room here, next to the office so you will feel safe, please call or come get me if you need anything at all". He was so kind and caring. The hotel was adorable, plenty of parking, freshly painted. My room was super nice, everything looked brand new, the carpet, the bedding, the bed, the furniture, there was granite in the bathroom! There was a blow dryer in the bathroom, a in room coffee maker, a little fridge, huge closet, safe, a desk. There was nothing I needed. The internet was free and fast. It was about 4 minutes to the freeway and 8 blocks from the Greek Theatre! So, on check out day, I overslept a bit and they allowed me a later checkout at no charge. I would give this a 10 out 10 stars and I am not picky but I am not a motel 6 kinda gal either. The price was $* bucks I believe, a night, stay at this place, you won't be sorry!
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Very Nice!

Posted Sep 30, 2009
This was the nicest Super 8 I have ever stayed at. The room vary newly remodeled and beautiful. The staff isn't exactly friendly, but the room was well above our expectations.
1 out of 5
by A traveler

Terrible!

Posted Sep 2, 2009
While I admire their makeover, their staff and manager are the worst. It wasn't their terrible command of English that put us off, but their attitudes. We've stayed there numerous times before, and for the most part had no complaints. This time, we intended to come down and spend a few days in Berkeley but had a last-minute cancellation. We gave 24 hours notice, as required, and received nothing but attitude and sarcasm from the manager, aside from his refusal to honor our cancellation. We finally had to settle the issue with our credit card company in order to prevent getting ripped off in this way. In the past, our stay at the motel was adequate, so long as we didn't bother the manager with anything that required him to break away from his television. For the most part, the motel itself is what you'd expect from a low-budget place, with or without its new paint job. Anybody coming to Berkeley and planning to stay here should expect to be treated like a second-class citizen by someone whose citizenship is in serious doubt.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Great Experience!

Posted Feb 23, 2009
Great Experience! Kind manager gave us a good deal! Comfy bed! I slept soundly.