Ratings based on 3,185 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Hear it directly from our travelers
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Monterey, CA

A tired hotel...in a perfect location.

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Virtually everything inside.
I'd like to recommend this hotel, because of it's location to everything in the Waikiki area. But I can't. The hotel appears "tired" and woefully outdated. Our room had no water pressure; an accumulation of condensation and mold above the air conditioning unit; the climate control unit was the old 70's/80's dial style that didn't allow for precision setting; the toilet plumbing made noise constantly; and one morning brown water appeared out of all of the faucets. It's clear that the hotel ownership and management is content to rely solely on the hotel's ideal location and is not committed to investing any money in modernizing the hotel. Ultimately, this will be a losing strategy as the hotel is falling increasingly behind its competitors in the area. The Hilton and Sheraton are adjacent, more modern alternatives, and only two blocks away you have the Grand Hawaiian and the Ala Moana - all of which would be superior choices to the Pacific Beach. With proper modernizing, this could be a first class hotel, but best to skip it at this stage.
5 out of 5
for Couples
by A traveler from Orem, Utah

Great hotel across from beach

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: Location and view. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Cleaning staff didn't get around very early which was inconvenient one of the days.
The room and bed were comfortable. Location to beach and surrounding facilities were exceptional. Parking and resort amenity fee were pricey but may be consistent with other hotels in area.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A traveler

First time in Waikiki

Posted Sep 12, 2015
I enjoy my stayed at this hotel there's better ones but the truth you just go to sleep because most all the time you out so its good
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A traveler

Awesome Hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2015
Great location. Close to restaurants, nightlife and right across from the beach
3 out of 5
by A traveler from palm Springs

Good location by the beach

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Staff great.location good by the beach across the street by a section for small kids.but you will have to walk if you want to be at the end with all the restaurants. And the action.pool was small and cold..restaurant with aquarium smelled fishy.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A traveler from Rome, GA

Great location to the beach

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: 1) Great customer service 2) Room was clean
Cons: Remove the extra fee they charge us!
Location: Great Location (close to the beach, shopping centers, and restaurants)
The location between the Pacific Beach and the beach is less than 3 minutes walking! All you need is to cross the street. The only thing that we did not like, they charge us extra $209 as fee after we paid the full amount of money thru Travelocity. We did enjoy our vacation. Wonderful hotel! The cost of lunch inside the hotel was $45 which is very expensive to me that is why we did not eat there. The staff was friendly to us. Great customer service. We loved that hotel!
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A traveler from Arkansas

Summer Vacation 2015

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: It is a convenient location to the Waikiki Beach. Only one block away from the beach.
Cons: The bathrooms are becoming dated and are very small. Not much space inside the bathrooms.
Location: One block from the beach and walking distance to many of the activities that are nearby.
We arrived June 27th and checked into the Pacific Beach Hotel. Everything was great, except we read online through Travelocity's site, that the Pacific Beach Hotel would start adding an amenity fee beginning July 1st, 2015. Upon arrival on June 27th, we were told "everything was paid for, except the daily amenity fee and that would be due when we checked out on July 3rd." The amenity fee was $20 per day, plus tax totaling $20.94 per day. We also were told that we had to pay a $300.00 Security Deposit, that would insure the hotel was not damaged. This fee would be refundable when we checked out, if everything was OK. Upon checkout, I questioned why the daily fee was charged starting June 27th, if the Pacific Beach Hotel website, stated they would begin charging the fee on July 1st. The hotel staff stated they had charged daily fees for a long time and didn't know where I had read that information. They apologized for this and said they would gladly read any printed information that I had regarding this. Unfortunately I did not print their website information and was assessed the daily fee for an additional $125.64, which was not included in the Travelocity price when I booked the trip.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from Bay Area

"Ocean View" is a misnomer

Posted Jul 11, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: "Water stations" with free refillable bottles
Cons: At least some of the 'Ocean View" rooms should be re-categorized as "Diamond Head side with partial Ocean View"
Location: We found out if you go to Hanauma Bay before 7AM, you don't need to pay for the entrance fee. Also, you avoid the heat and crowds.
My room was classified as "Ocean View", but it had just a small hint the ocean was there since there was building between my room and the "view". The hotel uses this type of complain as a "bait and switch", since they have another category named "Ocean Front". The "Ocean View" is facing Diamond Head and you may (or may not) which is a nice view, but you may not have any view at all if you are not in a very high floor (possibly 30+).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2015 by Zena , Hotel Management
Aloha KarlsM, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you liked our water stations and free refillable bottles. We have Ocean View category rooms on the Diamond Head and Ewa side of our hotel. The Ocean View rooms include both ocean and city views. Our Ocean Front category rooms have an unobstructed view of the Pacific Ocean. We do our best to accommodate each guest (depending on availability) and we apologize for our shortcomings. . Thank you for providing your very thorough review. It provides us with great areas of opportunity in our service delivery, and we truly appreciate this. Mahalo nui loa,
4 out of 5
for Families
by A traveler

Nice hotel in a great location.

Posted Jul 11, 2015 on Hotels
The rooms were typical hotel rooms. The staff kept them fresh daily. Loved the location (directly across from the beach)and swiftness of guest services as far as towels, iron, etc. I did not like the price but who does like prices of hotels over the holidays. I would definitely stay here again. The price of the room and the hotel buffet (50 a person) was the reasons for the 4 bar rating.
4 out of 5
for Families
by A traveler

Herlig ferie

Posted Jul 10, 2015 on Hotels
Fint opphold, kjekt at det var nært standen.