Ratings based on 528 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Marilyn from Leesburg

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
WiFi was not good for my business due to limited connection and some interruptions. The room was fair, but I decided to not stay the second week because the rooms could use some renovating. For example, carpet needs either a deep cleaning and/or replacement and the floor in the bathroom needs cleaned on a regular basis. Overall, the stay was okay and served its purpose.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2016 by Drew, Hotel Management
Marilyn, Thank you for taking the time to leave our property a review. We do apologize for the inconsistent wifi as we have been working with our provider to improve it. As for the carpets, we are disappointed to hear of issues and hope you brought this to the attention of our staff. As we head to the off season all rooms will be undergoing a deep clean. Being a small, independent hotel, we take pride in our customer service and hope you will stay with us again so we can improve upon your last stay. Best Regards, Drew B Guest Service Manager
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lisa from Hollidaysburg

Needs update

Posted Nov 6, 2015 on Hotels
AC blew very warm in 1st room, 2nd room was strong w/mildew. 3rd room was acceptable. Property needs updated and refreshed. Front desk staff was very helpful with room changes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2016 by Drew, Hotel Management
Lisa, We apologize for the need to change rooms. We hope you will stay with us again so we can improve upon your last experience with us. Best Regards, Drew B Guest Service Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Affordable value

Posted Oct 31, 2015 on Expedia
The units are old, however the plus side is price, large room, and very clean. When visiting DC we would stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2015 by Drew, Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by SARAH

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from UK

Wonderful place near Washington DC

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: The staff were very friendly at all times. It was clean, comfortable and quiet.
Location: It is listed under Washington hotels although it is in Virginia.
The staff were very eager to assist in every way they could. It is a quiet comfortable hotel a few miles outside Washington. Breakfast was very pleasant too. The free shuttle service to the metro was helpful as we were further from Washington city center than I had expected. However as it was a much nicer place, for a far cheaper rate than anything I had found in Washington I could not complain. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Washington that does not mind the short trek into town. The metro just takes 15 minutes to Capitol Hill. It is an ideal place to stay if you have a car. I was visiting from the UK with my 18 year old daughter and I look forward to going back with the rest of my family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 28, 2015 by Drew, Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Khadija, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Great option for budget travel

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: The staff is outstanding. Location is excellent and the metro shuttle a plus.
Cons: The rooms could use more lighting, they seem a bit dark. Also the safety deposit box needs refurbishing.
Location: Location was extremely accessible and only 15-20 minutes from downtown DC. Pharmacy, and many places to eat nearby.
The hotel has a great accessible location. The room is comfortable and clean, maybe a bit dark. This is a great option for travel to the DC area on a budget. The best asset is the staff which go out of their way to assist and provide the BEST quality of service, accommodating every request. From Terhas and Steve at the front desk to Gabriella the Manager, to Said the shuttle bus driver (to the Metro station), they all made me feel like at home away from home. They even have freshly baked cookies every evening for the guests which was a nice touch. I do recommend this hotel. If you are looking for luxurious this may not be it, but if looking for a decent stay with a great price for the location, this is your choice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2015 by Best Regards, Entire GHI Staff, Hotel Management
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and our staff so much! As we head into the off-season we will be improving our rooms with new light fixtures along with some furniture updates. As a small, independent hotel, we pride ourselves on excellent customer service! We hope to see you again next time you are in the area!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Steven from North Carolina

Good place to consider.

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
Room was adequate and comfortable. Breakfast provided was very good. Liked having shuttle service to/from Metro station. Internet access was not always available but I was able to get access for sufficient time each evening. Some confusion about room receipt and had to request one a few days after the stay. I was disappointed in that there was a sign indicating that towels that were hung up would not be replaced each day. Perhaps there needs to be more communication with the staff about that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2016 by Drew, Hotel Management
Steven, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We will certainly pass your comment about the towels on to our housekeeping staff. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Beaumont Texas

Very Friendly Staff. Excellent location.

Posted Oct 25, 2015
Pros: All of the staff was super friendly and helpful. Housekeeping did a good job everyday. Very centrally located for tourist.
Cons: All of the improvements have to do with updating the facilities which admittedly is a large and expensive undertaking.
Location: The hotel is perfectly located for what we did. It was a short drive (or shuttle ride if you don't have a vehicle) to the Metro to D.C.
The good: The hotel is perfectly located for someone wanting to tour D.C. and the surrounding areas. We were able to travel from Dulles to Arlington to Fairfax and into D.C. with relative ease. We had a rental car, but even if you didn't there was enough public transportation and shuttle services available to get you anywhere you want to go. Food, shopping and anything else you might need while away from home was within walking distance. Bently's restaurant is located on the property and has some very good breakfast. The property was clean and as well maintained as a 50's hotel can be. We did not get to use the pool facilities because it was already closed for the season but we didn't go to D.C. to swim anyway. The best part of the hotel is the staff. We dealt with 3 different front desk clerks as well as the owner. Every one of them was friendly and helpful. Every time we had a question they went above and beyond to provide help and answers for us. The bad: The only negative about the hotel is that it is terribly outdated and in desperate need of repair/updating. The old 50's tile is still in the bathrooms and the lighting fixtures and furniture are on their last legs. The beds are comfortable enough, but just barely. The bottom line: If you are looking for a centrally located, relatively clean hotel with friendly helpful staff but no frills and no bells and whistles then this place will work for you. If you prefer new and modern, pay more and look elsewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2015 by Drew, Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Peter, Thank you for leaving our property such a detailed review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and liked our staff so much. We are a small, independent hotel that prides itself on great customer service. We understand some of our rooms show their age so we are constantly updating our property. We look forward to hosting you again when you return to the DC area!