Ratings based on 9 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.2 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Harrisburg Area

Loud AC and Suspicious Stains

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: The pool and location.
Cons: Cleanliness of the room.
Location: Near DC.
The pool was nice and the front desk staff was friendly. The AC unit, however, was extremely loud and rickety. We barely slept because of the racket. We should have realized when we walked into the room and the AC was turned to the off position during one of the hottest times of the year. The carpet was old and had a disgusting white stain near the beds. The sheets had spots of what looked like blood. We checked for bed bugs but did not see any, thinking that this was the cause of some of the blood spots. The wifi also did not work very well. I was disappointed overall, but if they could fix the AC and make sure the carpet and sheets were in better condition, then they might be in a more passable state.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Philadelphia

This Hotel met our needs

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: The staff were very sweet and very personable, not just courteous. The pool was clean, refreshing and had a pleasant life guard.
Cons: The rug in the lobby needs to be replaced due to the smell. Actually the rugs through out probably need replacing.
Location: The location is on a busy street, not particularly pleasant but across from an IHop and a pharmacy. It was close enough to Mt Vernon for our purposes.
I based my decision to pick The Governor Inn on the review I had read. I agree with that review that although the facility is in need of update, the lobby has an odd odor of old rugs and mustiness, the staff who work at the desk etc were very personable and friendly, and the price was affordable. We had a problem with the Air conditioner. The night before we were told the system was being worked on in general but it would go back on eventually, fortunately it wasn't too hot out and although I wasn't as cool as I'd have liked I was ok, it did not go on. The next evening we still didn't seem to have air-conditioning. We went to the lobby and told of our issue and immediately 2 staff came with us to our room to show us how to deal with the old finicky thermostat. The AC worked on it's own terms and that was fine. If you just want a reasonably priced place to stay 30 mins from Mt Vernon (George Washington's estate) with no frills this could be a decent choice. If you want modern comforts and newer facilities you may want to pay more and go elsewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2016 by Enat , Hotel Management
Dear Elaine, We are sorry to hear you had an issue with the A/C, but glad to hear the staff helped you immediately. We thank you for letting us know about those issues. We will work hard to fix all the issue you mentioned. As always we thank you for your feedback and staying with us.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Beaumont Texas

Very Friendly Staff. Excellent location.

Posted Oct 25, 2015
Pros: All of the staff was super friendly and helpful. Housekeeping did a good job everyday. Very centrally located for tourist.
Cons: All of the improvements have to do with updating the facilities which admittedly is a large and expensive undertaking.
Location: The hotel is perfectly located for what we did. It was a short drive (or shuttle ride if you don't have a vehicle) to the Metro to D.C.
The good: The hotel is perfectly located for someone wanting to tour D.C. and the surrounding areas. We were able to travel from Dulles to Arlington to Fairfax and into D.C. with relative ease. We had a rental car, but even if you didn't there was enough public transportation and shuttle services available to get you anywhere you want to go. Food, shopping and anything else you might need while away from home was within walking distance. Bently's restaurant is located on the property and has some very good breakfast. The property was clean and as well maintained as a 50's hotel can be. We did not get to use the pool facilities because it was already closed for the season but we didn't go to D.C. to swim anyway. The best part of the hotel is the staff. We dealt with 3 different front desk clerks as well as the owner. Every one of them was friendly and helpful. Every time we had a question they went above and beyond to provide help and answers for us. The bad: The only negative about the hotel is that it is terribly outdated and in desperate need of repair/updating. The old 50's tile is still in the bathrooms and the lighting fixtures and furniture are on their last legs. The beds are comfortable enough, but just barely. The bottom line: If you are looking for a centrally located, relatively clean hotel with friendly helpful staff but no frills and no bells and whistles then this place will work for you. If you prefer new and modern, pay more and look elsewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2015 by Drew, Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Peter, Thank you for leaving our property such a detailed review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and liked our staff so much. We are a small, independent hotel that prides itself on great customer service. We understand some of our rooms show their age so we are constantly updating our property. We look forward to hosting you again when you return to the DC area!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Rochester, NY

great value

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Pros: Location and staff.
Minutes to DC, this place is the best value. Inexpensive, clean, comfortable with great staff. Price includes breakfast, a clean pool, coffee in the room, fridge, microwave, and quiet in the back rooms. Have stayed here before and will again. The staff was exceptionally nice, friendly and welcoming.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2015 by Drew, Hotel Management
AG, Thank you for your review! We look forward to your next stay with us! Best Regards, Drew B. Guest Service Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Oakdale Minnesota

Great place to stay.

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: The Staff, and the hotel
Cons: Not a thing.
Location: The location is just right.
Ideal place located just in the right spot, several eating places with in walking, the staff were great people very helpful and very kind and friendly, my next trip to D.C I will be staying there again I highly suggest that you try it, oh and the owner is a very very nice person. James L.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Ottawa

Close to Reagan National Airport

Posted Apr 20, 2015
The hotel/motel had one advantage - it was close to Reagan airport and it was cheap. Otherwise, it seemed to be under renovation and the aircon system was out of commission. The staff tried their best to help us out and finally found us a room with aircon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

old skool but good

Posted Mar 27, 2015
This is a motel with history, spanning a few decades former but it doesn't mean it's seedy or bad. The place is kept up nice and things are comfy without being extravagant. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable of the area. I recommend this place for those looking for good affordable accommodations within the DC area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Harley11 from Bealeton, va

We were very pleased

Posted Apr 26, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, staff was very friendly to us
My husband and I stayed here for one night (April 2012), the room was very clean, bed was fresh, bathroom was clean, carpet was clean and looked new, all the furniture was polished and bright. The front staff was very polite and helpful. The restaurant next door was very convenient. The price was more than reasonable. We would stay here again anytime and would recommend it to our friends and family.
1 out of 5
by A traveler

Run away!

Posted Mar 25, 2008
Stayed here with my 3 kids. Room was in back, very hot, but a/c had not been turned on for season. They suggested I sleep with window open. A woman alone with 3 kids. I asked for hot water for tea, as the in-room "coffee maker" was spewing brown water. They gave my son an ice bucket filled with hot tap water. I'm not making this up! Crumbs in drawers. It was a dump. I checked out the next day, though I had reservations for 4 nights.