Ratings based on 139 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Laredo,Tx

NYC last minute

Posted May 20, 2017
Great location but over price for experience, very tiny bathroom and showers were an issues. Water was like the Exorcist! Very cold one minute then very Hot the next and toilet was hugging the sink! If you want history Hotel has it and walking distance from Central Park and shops!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from New Milford, NJ

Central location in NYC

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Central location and price.
Cons: Taps in the tub were a little awkward to figure out.
Location: Close to Columbus Circle, Lincoln Center, Rockefeller Plaza, Theater district, and more..
Decor is dated, but room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Room is also small, but the price was right, after all, you won't be spending much time in your room with all there is to do in the city! Room had a safe, hairdryer, and iron and ironing board.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Portland, OR

Great location, and affordable.

Posted May 11, 2017
Grand old style hotel (115 yrs), but updated. Nice comfy room, but no refrigerator, coffee maker, or bottled water provided. Park Cafe off the lobby may be the reason for that. Enjoyed my 2 nights there, may stay here again at $115 a nt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from long island

Sisters and fun

Posted May 9, 2017
Enjoyed a quick overnight trip. Subways were great fun. Gonna do it again. The Wellington was the best.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from northern Connecticut

I frequently stay here, but disappointed this time

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Location. Usually can get early check-in.
Cons: See above.
A week before my stay, I had tried to cancel one of my two booked nights, but was refused (I was made aware by Travelocity that this would be the case.) Desk personnel pleasant and helpful as always; person on phone who refused to cancel one of my nights was very unpleasant. Large coffee stains on white bed spread. Very slow drain in the tub, with standing water when showers were taken (room 1831). I have stayed at The Wellington numerous times, and have never before been disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from T

It was really nice. Very convenient

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Room very clean. Friendly staff. Convenient location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from colorado

I will come back!!

Posted Mar 26, 2017
This was one of the best stays I've had at a hotel in awhile. The room was so comfortable and the staff was super nice and helpful. I needed coffee at 5:00 am and they happily directed me to the closest place for coffee. If you're a light sleeper, It might be hard to sleep the first night ( you're in Manhattan) but the second night I slept like a baby. There is a restaurant and cafe in the hotel and there is PLENTY of restaurants around. Starbucks is directly in front of the hotel and the subway in right outside. Not to mention this hotel is reasonably priced. I paid for my flight and hotel together and got some serious savings out of it. Thank you for a great stay and when I'm back in NY, I plan to come back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Virginia

Many stays at a convenient hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Location, friendly desk staff, great rates. Door men helpful and courteous.
Cons: HVAC upgrade and safes in the rooms.
Location: Carnegie Hall is almost next door. Great coffee shop ("Park Cafe") on street level. Short walk to 5th Avenue stores.
We've stayed at the Wellington many times over the past years, but one thing has always bugged me - they can't seem to get a reliable heating/cooling system. The sub-units in the rooms are always malfunctioning. This time the room was too hot on our arrival. Setting the thermostat on the unit and switching to "cool", the unit cycled back and forth from heat to cooling. The only alternative was to open the window to the safety position to get some cool air (it was 29 outside), and then get up in the middle of the night to close it once the icicles began forming on my body. My wife's only complaint was that there were not in-room safes. Overall, the Wellington is a pleasant, convenient place to stay. There is a great coffee shop downstairs, and the subway entrance is right outside the door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Chicago

Great location

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Location, location location
Cons: Room temperature.
Location: As above: Central Park, Columbus Circle, Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, Broadway, Times Square all within 10 blocks or less.
Hotel was very close to Broadway shows, 5th avenue shopping, Central Park, Rockefeller Center and subway stops. Room was small but clean. 55th street was very noisy all night with cabs honking and trucks going by. It might be like that everywhere though. The room temperature was hard to control. It was either blasting hot or off. We were glad it was in the 50's so "off"worked fine for us. We never ate at the attached cafe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Great time there

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Is a old hotel there for found little details but they took care and service very nice, staff very nice. We felt save and comfortable and great location too. We will return. MAYCOL and LILIAN