Ratings based on 2,946 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Great location and amenities

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Free coffee bar and bottled water. Perfect location. Friendly helpful staff. Clean modern rooms. Would stay here again for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Columbia, MD.

Aptly-Named Hotel

Posted Jan 10, 2016
Pros: Location, location. On top of that the hotel's staff not only strives to, but succeeds at making guests welcome and contented.
Cons: Perhaps a previous guest is to blame, but our room lacked a hair dryer.
Location: A 150 character limit is greatly insufficient for this purpose.
On this, our second stay at the Jewel, we again thoroughly enjoyed a 3-day respite in New York City. Much of our delight is attributable to our accommodations. The modern hotel is well-situated within reasonable walking distance of the Theater District and Central Park. Views of posh shopping on Fifth Avenue is even closer, while Radio City Music Hall is just down the street. The Jewel's compact size and amiable staff nurture a close, friendly atmosphere that somehow seems to inspire guests to be more relaxed. Not surprising in the City, rooms are not large. Yet they are spacey enough and so well appointed that they should satisfy all reasonable needs. This is especially true for folks like us who are on the go all day and evening and so mostly use the hotel for a comfortable night's rest. This time we took advantage of a discount for a nice restaurant at a sister hotel a few doors away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Last minute booking

Posted Dec 23, 2015
Pros: The convenience location, staff, cleanliness, restaurant and shopping couldn't be better.
Location: Rockefeller Center, Saks Fifth Avebue, Radio City Music Hall, Nintendo world.
We decided at the last minute to book hotels to stay overnight in NYC. We were expecting to find $400 - $500 room rates. I saw the rate under $200 and had to do a double check to make sure I was seeing right. The hotel is magnificently located across from Rockefeller Center. The tree is right across the street. The rooms are modern, clean and very comfortable. The staff was extremely friendly they let me store my luggage until checking in and so we proceeded to go around the city until check in. We finally checked in around 6 and waited until 7 to cross the street to see Rockefeller center decorations. After we were done, we headed back to the hotel and stopped for dinner at a hamburger pub across the hotel. There's a pastry right next to the hotel that serves full breakfast in the morning. Check out was at 12 but my daughter decided to do last minute shopping. I asked the staff if it was ok for me to wait at the lobby for my daughter. They told me that I could go to the lounge they have on the second floor and they proceeded to escort me there. It is a great comfortable room with TV and free coffee, cappuccino, lates.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Convenient to rockefeller and nice staff

Posted Dec 5, 2015
View was amazing. Staff let us store luggage for a bit after checkout.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Outstanding room with balacony in Manhattan

Posted Nov 17, 2015
We loved the hotel. With Partial view of Rockefeller center. Wonderful view of st Patrick's cathedral and radio city music hall.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by James from Pittsford

it was ok, not great . Location was very good.

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
disappointed in size of the room for the $$$.....one side of the bed was up against a half wall....could not get in or out from that side. Staff was helpful, 2nd floor coffee room nice for early risers. Card key requirement for elevator good security idea....surprised room did not have a safe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Hamilton, Ontario

Great New York Hotel!

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Location, cleanliness and helpful staff! The "Living room" on the second floor was great - coffee always available, computers and easy chairs!
Cons: Would be nice if there was a bar in the hotel, but there are lots within a quick walk.
Location: The location is super - just steps to Rockefeller Plaza and Radio City Music Hall and the subway is only a five minute walk.
We had a great four night stay at the Jewel. The room was very clean and comfortable! Plenty of room for two of us. Great facilities for charging phones, cameras and tablets which is always appreciated! We especially loved the ability to re-fill water bottles on every floor with cold, filtered water. What a great idea! Staff were all great - helpful with directions, recommendations and making arrangements.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kelly from Voorhees

Happy and would definitely recommend

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was very nice and located a few blocks from Time Square. This was perfect because the area was a little quieter. Hotel was very safe because you cannot get to the floors without a key. Lounge area excellent- offering free coffee, latte, etc. Free wireless and free, unlimited bottled water! Refrigerator in room also. Only thing lacking was a safe in the room. Definitely recommend this hotel. (Staff were also outstandingly friendly!!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jean from Massachusetts

Great location and service

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
Centrally located for sightseeing and shopping! The room size was adequate and very functional. The only downside about our room was that it was close to the cleaning staff lounge. the loud conversations was a little distracting. But other than that, it's a hotel I'd highly recommend. Thanks The Jewel for a great stay!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from San Diego

Centrally located, very romantic! Coming back !

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Expedia
The hotel staff went out of their way to make us happy, always very nice and accommodating ! It was a first for my girlfriend to visit NY , and she was blown away ! The rooms are very quaint and modern, loved the availability of fresh cold water 24/7 . Perfect location, close to everything ! Definitely would stay at the Jewel again !!