Ratings based on 1,082 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Room and our stay

Posted Jan 10, 2016
This stay was great. The hotel was great and the staff were always willing to help us when we needed assistance. They were always available when we needed them or had questions. They really take care of their guests. The only thing was our room was a little small, and the heat was a little much at times. Besides that we loved our stay and would defiantly stay there again or recommend to other people.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from New York

Hotel BANG BANG

Posted Jan 8, 2016
Big construction going on right next door that starts at 0730 am. Literally will wake you up with load bangs and jack hammers. The whole place was shaking, seriously.Don't bother coming before 3:00pm front desk was very strict with 3pm check in. Location was nice with lots of places to dine, movie theater, pharmacy & whole food. Just not for the next 2 years.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Bend, Oregon

Comfortable boutique hotel in UES

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Cons: The wireless network needs upgrading. It was intermittent, and slow. It was better to just use cellular.
Found this hotel when our plane flights were cancelled and we needed to find a place to stay for an extra 2 day stay. Although the rooms are small, typical of boutique hotels, they were well appointed, clean, and had new furnishings. We've stayed at a few places in the UES when visiting our daughter including VRBO's and other small hotels. This is right up there at the top of the heap for price, location, and quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from CT

Small well-located hotel.

Posted Dec 14, 2015
Pros: Value, location, condition
Cons: Really nothing. My small room would not suitable for 2 big people or for someone needing to spread out, or spend a lot of time in the room.
Location: Great location. 1 1/2 block from Express IRT station. Easy walk to MET, guggenheim, neue, the park. Fun strolling on lex park madison fifth
This hotel was a pleasant surprise--medium priced, some lovey details an of older hotel. The room was very small, but it was identified as such, so I knew in advance. Spanking clean, super comfortable bed, high end cotton linens, lovely toiletries. Was perfect for me
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Susan from Newtown

A great bargain!

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
A lovely small hotel in a great location for walking, shopping and museums, the Franklin is a rare bargain in the city. We stayed in a petite queen and it was, as advertised, quite small, but it contained everything we needed for a very pleasant overnight stay. It was very clean, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the pillows were perfect. The sink was tucked into an alcove in the room and the bathroom was a WC with tub and very good shower. If you're coming to NY to enjoy the city rather than sit in your hotel room, The Franklin is a great choice. Spend the money you save on museums instead of extra space you don't really need.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Allyson from Randallstown

Relaxing weekend alone

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
I had a much needed relaxing weekend. everything I needed or wanted was within walking distance or a short subway ride. The staff was very polite and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Natalie from Karalee (Ipswich) Australia

Perfect base for exploring NYC

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
Even though the building next door was being noisily demolished, it was only during daylight when we weren't in the room. Staff were very helpful and friendly. This is an old hotel and has all the querks of an old hotel. Very quaint rather than flashy with cool light fittings etc. Loved the old elevator doors. Super fast elevator. Breakfast room was very small but breakfast was available for hours and never a huge problem. It was very convenient. There were soooo many places to eat and is a very safe neighbourhood. Room was smallish but the bed was huge. Our 10 night stay was well catered for. Loved it.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by michael from pennsylvania

be wary

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
management would be wise to post on the website that the building is under re-construction until 2017. had i known i wouldn't have stayed at the franklin. the building quite literally "shakes" from 7am until 5pm. though this did not affect sleep, it is completely unnerving as there are any number of building collapses in nyc in the course of a year. additionally, because the room was small and the temperature (indoor and outdoor) warm, we needed to use the a/c. this would have been fine were not the a/c as loud as the construction being done outside
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Grenada

A true gem.

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Expedia
Perfect location, warm and friendly staff and accommodations that are understated, yet quaint and welcoming, make the Frankin Hotel a true gem in Manhattan.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from houston

Great small space!

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Expedia
The franklin is in a perfect location for us. Very close to Central Park! The staff is helpful and friendly. As with everything in NYC it is a bit cramped - particularly the sink in the bathroom. during the day they are demolishing the building next door right now so that was a bit disruptive. Other than that all's good!