Ratings based on 1,172 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
by A traveler from San Francisco

Website picture mislenading

Posted May 7, 2016
Pros: Price and proximity to 6 train. Staff very nice.
Cons: Remodel and upgrade to match the photos online.
The Franklin Hotel is well located; however, the furnishing and overall condition of the property is shabby. Perhaps you get what you pay for in comparison to more expensive accommodations. The staff was very friendly and helpful but my room was cold and the heating unit was old, noisy and blew across the bed and was therefore unless during the night. The bed was lumpy and soft and the linens and towels of mediocre quality. The breakfast was very basic; however, there are many excellent eating options in the neighborhood if you want to go beyond the hotel offerings. The best part of this hotel is its proximity to the 6 train which I used often because the property is a significant distance from NY landmarks.
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Buffalo, NY

Close to the Metro and great food

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: VERY friendly and multilingual staff, the breakfast was good, the twenty-four hour coffee/cappuccino station was handy and the sitting room was great.
Cons: I wish I had known that construction on the weekdays started at 7 am before I booked, as I am not an early riser, but definitely became one.
Location: Right near the 86th/Lexington Metro station, plenty of great restaurants within a 3 block radius, shopping, people-watching, very accessible.
I was a little worried when I realized the building next door was in the process of being demolished, but the staff were wonderful. The hotel is a piece of history, with a beautiful manual-door elevator and traditional neon sign. The room we happened to stay in was a little on the small side, and had no refrigerator, but we knew it was advertised as a "small queen" and itwas clean and comfortable otherwise, with good hot water, a modern bathroom and clever space-saver solutions. I would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
by Joanne from Connecticut

A Nice Boutique Hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
We have stayed at the Franklin numerous times. Our rooms were always clean with great Queen beds, but very small. This time we had a spacious front room with a king size bed. We were very comfortable. Hotel personnel are always nice. Getting cabs is easy. Plus my son lives nearby!
2 out of 5
by Alan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A traveler from California

Nice hotel conveniently located to Central Park

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Expedia
Our initial impression wasn't wonderful because the front entry looks a bit shabby. However the reception people were pleasant and competent and our room was very nice and had what we needed. They offer a nice continental breakfast. The location was very convenient for us. The 6 subway line is right around the corner on Lexington and Central Park was a few short blocks away. Lots of shopping and restaurants nearby.
4 out of 5
by gretchen from Mpls

Usually great hotel, some disappointments

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
I didn't spend much time in the hotel, but slept well. The only objection I had was that there was demolition of a building next door happening, so woke up to noise in the morning (staff warned me). Fortunately I had taken an early shower because as I was leaving the hotel, the staff apologized for inconvenience of no water for several hours as they had a plumbing issue. I would have been upset had I slept in, and planned a leisurely morning.
4 out of 5
by A traveler from London

Old world charm but few modcons

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Excellent location close to museums and shops.
Cons: More powerpoints in the rooms and a few more breakfast choices,
Location: Easy to get to the Cooper-Hewitt museum and the Guggenheim and Central Park. Great Wholefoods shop just one block away.
The Franklin Hotel has some interesting period features like an old fashioned lift and pretty cornicing in the rooms. However, due to the smallness of the rooms, I could not open my closet door without hitting it on the bedside table. I also struggled to fund a powerpoint for plugging in my phone charger. The breakfast is very basic and the breakfast room tiny. And the construction noise every morning at 7 am was hard to take. However, the hotel does have a certain quirky charm with friendly staff and an excellent location.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: We love the location!
Location: Guggenheim, the Met, Park Avenue, 5th Avenue, within walking distance of so many great venues
It was a great experience. We love the location. It's close to Papaya King (very delicious), the Met (one of our favorites), the Neue Gallery (fabulous), and the Guggenheim (always interesting).
2 out of 5
by A traveler

"Sorry" no running water.

Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Location was perfect.
Cons: Emergency repairs do happen, but at least make compensation to your guest for not having RUNNING WATER.
Not only did construction begin at 6:45am right outside the room, there was no running water for a day! The hotel's reply is "Sorry, we had an emergency and construction can begin legally in New York at 7:00am" But they were happy to charge full price for the less than acceptable conditions. Will not stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Upper East Get Away

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Expedia
Very Clean, little European Style Hotel. Dry Cleaner across the street delivers to your room. Upper East Side is charming in spring, lots of kids and dogs. At 87th street deli you can get a cup of coffee with by holding out $2 without speaking.