Ratings based on 233 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from S

Yes I recommend!

Posted May 1, 2017
Centrally located, great price, very comfortable!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Stewart Hotel Reputation Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Stewart Hotel. We would like to know what more we could have done to make your stay a perfect 10! I hope that you allow us a second opportunity so that we can make the Stewart Hotel your hotel of choice in NYC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from DC

Great Location

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: The rooms are very spacey for New York and at great price! Great for our family of five. I also like that you couldn't use the elevators with a key.
Cons: Better water pressure but that's not a big deal,
Location: Madison Square Gardens and Penn Station is just across the street, Macy+HM one block away, Time Square 11 blocks and the subway is very close
Prom service, check in was a breeze and everyone that I dealt (staff) was extremely nice and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Stewart Hotel Reputation Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Stewart Hotel. We would like to know what more we could have done to make your stay a perfect 10! I hope that you allow us a second opportunity so that we can make the Stewart Hotel your hotel of choice in NYC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

A great experience at Stewart Hotek

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Jenny at the front desk was wonderful. We had 2 rooms in our reservation - both exceeded our expectations. We had a beautiful outside patio off our room - but oddly, no patio chairs or anything on it so we couldn't use it. The room was large by NYC standards, and quite comfortable. I noticed the air vents had thick dust on them, which kind of grossed me out a bit. The bathroom felt kind of dirty. (Am I the only one who is so bothered by dirty light switches?) But overall, very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Stewart Hotel Reputation Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Stewart Hotel. We are excited to inform you that we are taking countless opportunities to improve our guestrooms and their overall aesthetic. I hope that you allow us a second opportunity so that we can make the Stewart Hotel your hotel of choice in NYC.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Maryland

Okay Hotel - Middle of Everyhting

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The size of the room was great
Cons: Cleaning of the carpets and the A/C system needs and upgrade. 1 window unit for a near 20' long room won't cut it.
Location: Times Square - 7 blocks, Penn Station & the Garden - Across the Street, Subway 1,2,3 - about 3 blocks uptown
My sister and I were in town for a concert at the Garden and we had the Studio Suite. Ok room, but know that this hotel is clearly very dated. The room was ok, not amazing or pleasing. The closet had not been cleaned in quite sometime... and the room had a wet or humid feel to it. No bed bugs, but overall this room is a solid 3.0 in my eyes.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from CT

VERY DISAPPOINTED THIS IS NOT A 4 STAR RATING AT A

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: Remodel the hotel to make it look like what they advertise online and dont falsify anything
I was super excited to book a room at this hotel. I always do my research and this had a 4 star rating and when I did my search I make sure it had breakfast included. I never go anywhere and decided to book a room in NYC with my bff so we can go to Imats that weekend. I decided to spend a little extra of my hard earned money in order to get a good room. I started my search with 4 stars and up and breakfast included this one came up. I looked at a ton and rooms and fell in love with this one. I needed a double bed and they had one avaialble there is a section where you can click on the room option and look at the picturse for that specific room. I was very spacious looking and it was supposed to have a great view from your window. I had a tiny tiny room that was dirty and disgusting and a huge ac unit on the window. There were weird stains on the wall. The headboard had a huge stain, the toilet was tiny the size for preschoolers Im not kidding. I closed the door to in the bathroom and there was a huge pee stain on the door which did not slide closed all the way and the sink was broken. We went downstairs to the very noisy lobby and had to wait in line for a long time for the one attendant. We explained the issue and he gave us another room. That room was clean and a little bigger he said it had a great view. The only view I had was a big ac and it was hot and theheater was off. And the bathroom pipes sounded like they were going to explode. I was charged 60 breakfast for 2 peo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Centrally located Manhattan Hotel

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Very clean, friendly staff, located next to Penn Station with the A,C,E & 1,2,3 trains & less than a block 34-Herald Square Station with the B, D, F trains giving you access to anything you want to see in NYC!! Highly recommend!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Texas

Great location to my venue

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Lobby and location to my venue as well as many other options - close to Penn Station for Subway travel
Cons: Rooms might need some updating but still nicely done.
Location: Had coffee across the street - NOT the Starbucks - and it was great. It was called Gregory's coffee. Had casual dinner at Black Iron Burger - good!
I was in town for the Sweet Sixteen and it was pretty hectic. The staff and team at the hotel were very accommodating and helpful. Zoe always had a smile on her face and wanted to help - as well as many others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Great option for any event at MSG

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Nice hotel with old style charm. Right across from Madison Square Garden. Very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Ft. Lauderdale, FL

Large, Clean Room, Close to Madison Square Gardens

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Most NYC hotel rooms are very small. This room was large, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a bit small but workable. Staff were all very nice.
Cons: Beware that they add a daily $25 service charge to the room rate for Wifi, etc. The hotel's hallways are not well lit and seemed a bit dark.
Location: Across the street form Madison Square Gardens and easy walking distance to the Empire State Building.
This was the first time I've stayed at this hotel. Most NYC hotel rooms are very small. This room was large, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a bit small but workable. Staff were all very nice. The Niles restaurant is in the hotel and the food is good; they also offer room service. Downside: Beware that they add a daily $25 service charge to the room rate for Wifi, etc. The hotel's hallways are not well lit and it seems a bit dark for a women walking alone. They would not extend my checkout time from 11:00 AM to 12:00 because "they had a group checking-in and needed the room".
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Cincinnati, Ohio

Good location and nice lobby, but awful room

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Pleasent staff and good location.
Cons: I would have liked travelocity to show a photo of room...then I would have not gone there.
The hotel was in a good location for our trip and lobby was lovely. But our roonm was so tiny that my husbend (6'4") could hardly get around in it. It had a window air conditioner that let in cold air constantly....we were always cold. The heater was right by it and mixed with the cold air. It ws set on 92degrees. We asked to change rooms and did, but it was no different except we got a tub. The fire department is right next door...no joke...sleeping was rough.