Ratings based on 251 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Great time at the Affinia

Posted May 28, 2017
I had a problem with going to a confusion with the room with the staff but it was rectified and I was pleased
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Portland

Great Location with a very friendly staff.

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Nice rooms. Great Location. Friendly staff.
Cons: Room ventilation. Tough to control the room temperature.
Location: Walking distance to great restaurants, the Empire State Building, Grand Central Station, Time Square and Park Avenue.
We were extremely pleased with our accommodations, as the location was perfect for our first visit to NYC. The rooms were larger than many we compared at booking. Double Queens were hard to find elsewhere. They also have a happy hour complimentary wine service from 5-6 in the lobby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by Office Manager , Hotel Management
Hello Lucky One, Thank you for your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our great location. Warmest regards, Kristina Perez
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from P

Wonderful Service and Amenities.

Posted Jan 20, 2017
We were greeted with wonderful customer service and a trip to the pantry for some refreshments after a long day of travel. Our room was very impressive, the room was very large in comparison to other hotels in the city and extremely clean, great view and location. My only regret is that I didn't take advantage of the pillow menu. When it was time to checkout I really didn't want to leave. The Shelburne Affinia is at the top of my list for my future visits to the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Philadelphia

Quiet, yet stylish hotel! Very reasonable!

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness Staff Location is close (but not too close) to Times Square
Cons: No real parking situation. Good luck with that!
Location: Scotty's Diner or Penelope's for Breakfast. Foray out for dinner. Plenty within walking distance or a short cab ride. Catch a show!
Would definitely choose again. Nice suite with queens, kitchenette and clean, modern bathroom. Nice lobby for lounging around and hotel offers wine in the lounge on many days (free) Requisite fitness center was there with a decent enough variety. Great staff!!! Every communication I had with the staff was friendly and informative. Beds were quite comfy...absolutely no complaints there. in room TV was at least a 42" model. Nice touch. Plenty of restaurants, mini markets, dry cleaners, coffee shops close by. Clyde, the concierge was quite helpful on a snowy day when there seemed to be nothing to do. Money well spent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Good bang for the buck.

Posted Jan 16, 2016
The Shelburne used to be a more traditional, charming NYC hotel but under new management it is a little more modern and in the mold of NYC boutique hotels. But it's affordable for what you get and it's well located near Grand Central, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from new york, ny

Nice hotel good location

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Room very clean, staff very helpful, welcoming glass of wine and a nice restaurant next to the hotel for night drinks and breakfast. Enjoyed my stay Only negative- hotel a little old and tired that they make up for with all else - Worked for me!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Convenient Mid-Town Hotel

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Pros: Spacious, Comfortable bed, Good supply of Newspaper, hot water.
Location: Very convenient to bus and subway and plenty of shopping.
This hotel has comfortable large rooms, conveniently located. Staff is extremely pleasant and helpful. There are several areas that needed improvements: 1) The cleaning staff missed making the room one day. Apparently it happened before with other customer. 2) The bed sheets are not 100% cotton, but a polyester blend. These sheets are stiff and make noise, it was not comfortable, but according to the front desk staff, that was a union requirement, and they do not like it either because customers complaints. 3) the hotel building is old, therefore has some creaky floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from New York

Re-located to FiftyNYC Location

Posted Dec 21, 2015
I showed up to the Shelbourne location at 12AM on Saturday and apparently there was an overbooking. Mr. DeJesus at the front desk right away explained the mix up and got me a cab to the other available location...not only did he pay for my cab but also took care of my stay (without me even having to ask) for the inconvenience-now that is customer service at its finest!..my boyfriend and I had a wonderful stay at the other location FiftyNYC Affinia and can't thank the hotel staff (Mr. DeJesus, Laura, and Jesus) enough for making our stay enjoyable. The rooms were clean & comfortable with very modern chic decor, and there was a complimentary wine hour that we really enjoyed! Location is amazing! I would highly recommend the Affinia boutique hotels and will stay here whenever I need accommodations in the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Wisconsin

Great choice and value for NYC

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Pros: Staff is attentive, yet not obtrusive. Room was very comfortable and you can't beat the price for NYC.
Location: A good location for Times Square, Broadway and Grand Central.
Comfortable and quiet, friendly staff. Good elevators, great bar and restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Colorado

Center of city-almost

Posted Sep 2, 2015
Hotel is in Grand Central neighborhood with plenty of restaurants available. Subway , bus or taxi can take you to Times Square where plenty of good Broadway shows. Subway can take you to Chinatown, Little Italy or World Trade Center rather quickly. Hotel in warm weather has a roof bar where you can see the Empire State Bldg in its colors. Hotel has some rooms with kitchenettes which can help offset high eating out prices and a D'Agostino's Grocery store is a short distance to stock up your refrigerator. Rooms are not small like many NYC hotels.