Ratings based on 3,641 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Philadelphia

Quiet, yet stylish hotel! Very reasonable!

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness Staff Location is close (but not too close) to Times Square
Cons: No real parking situation. Good luck with that!
Location: Scotty's Diner or Penelope's for Breakfast. Foray out for dinner. Plenty within walking distance or a short cab ride. Catch a show!
Would definitely choose again. Nice suite with queens, kitchenette and clean, modern bathroom. Nice lobby for lounging around and hotel offers wine in the lounge on many days (free) Requisite fitness center was there with a decent enough variety. Great staff!!! Every communication I had with the staff was friendly and informative. Beds were quite comfy...absolutely no complaints there. in room TV was at least a 42" model. Nice touch. Plenty of restaurants, mini markets, dry cleaners, coffee shops close by. Clyde, the concierge was quite helpful on a snowy day when there seemed to be nothing to do. Money well spent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Good bang for the buck.

Posted Jan 16, 2016
The Shelburne used to be a more traditional, charming NYC hotel but under new management it is a little more modern and in the mold of NYC boutique hotels. But it's affordable for what you get and it's well located near Grand Central, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from new york, ny

Nice hotel good location

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Room very clean, staff very helpful, welcoming glass of wine and a nice restaurant next to the hotel for night drinks and breakfast. Enjoyed my stay Only negative- hotel a little old and tired that they make up for with all else - Worked for me!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Convenient Mid-Town Hotel

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Pros: Spacious, Comfortable bed, Good supply of Newspaper, hot water.
Location: Very convenient to bus and subway and plenty of shopping.
This hotel has comfortable large rooms, conveniently located. Staff is extremely pleasant and helpful. There are several areas that needed improvements: 1) The cleaning staff missed making the room one day. Apparently it happened before with other customer. 2) The bed sheets are not 100% cotton, but a polyester blend. These sheets are stiff and make noise, it was not comfortable, but according to the front desk staff, that was a union requirement, and they do not like it either because customers complaints. 3) the hotel building is old, therefore has some creaky floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from New York

Re-located to FiftyNYC Location

Posted Dec 21, 2015
I showed up to the Shelbourne location at 12AM on Saturday and apparently there was an overbooking. Mr. DeJesus at the front desk right away explained the mix up and got me a cab to the other available location...not only did he pay for my cab but also took care of my stay (without me even having to ask) for the inconvenience-now that is customer service at its finest!..my boyfriend and I had a wonderful stay at the other location FiftyNYC Affinia and can't thank the hotel staff (Mr. DeJesus, Laura, and Jesus) enough for making our stay enjoyable. The rooms were clean & comfortable with very modern chic decor, and there was a complimentary wine hour that we really enjoyed! Location is amazing! I would highly recommend the Affinia boutique hotels and will stay here whenever I need accommodations in the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mary from Beverly Hills Michigan

Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Hotels
Concierge was extremely helpful. Gave great instruction for travel on subways. I am a total subway novice- but his instructions so good- had no trouble getting to my distant destination which involved 3 train changes. Thanks!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A traveler

Nic stay in nyc

Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Hotels
room was a little dark but we enjoyed the fact that it was very quiet at night and for nyc that is quite unusual. Loved the neighborhood!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Expedia
No hassle, everyone was really friendly. The room was perfect, clean, and the location is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from UK

Great Hotel in Murray Hill NYC

Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Friendly staff, location, quality of the room and its fixtures.
Cons: The Wi-Fi could do with being a touch cheaper
Location: Grand Central Terminal is approx 5-10 mins away, The Empire State Building is 10-15 Mins walk away. Scottys Diner open 24Hrs and only 2 mins away.
Friendly staff welcome you, checking in was easy and stress free. We were allocated room 1204 (twelfth floor) which was ideal for a family of three with two comfy double / Queen beds. Spacious room, with en-suite, kitchen and small store room - complete with Digital safe. There were four windows two on the side overlooked a wall, we didn't raise these blinds, but the other two windows gave a view of the Chrysler building and adjacent skyscrapers, these blinds we had up! Bathroom was well fitted out, the bath was shallow, only really used for showers. The Kitchen had coffee maker, sink, refrigerator with Ice Machine -a nice touch - and a microwave / combi Oven. Wall mounted Flat Screen TV with loads of free channels and optional Pay-Per View channels. Wi-fi is free in the Lobby but chargeable in your room. One of the best features of this Hotel is the roof, in the Summer season it has a bar, but at other times you can just pop up there to get a fantastic view of the Empire State Building and views across Manhattan. Don't miss this! All in all, a great hotel only 5 mins walk from Grand Central, clean and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Hotels