Ratings based on 12,843 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Mr. Frugality APPROVED.

Posted Jan 27, 2016
I believe a penny saved is a penny earned. I would rather spend my money on fine wine and great restaurants. It was clean, not the most updated, with kind and thoughtful staff, comfortable bed, HOT shower/bath, GREAT LOCATION, $24 parking. I slept great. Perfect for my needs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Orlando, FL

Salisbury - excellent choice for midtown Manhattan

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: the price and the location
Cons: well it could be updated and freshened up but that would probably raise the price, so I hope they don't do too much in the way of refurbishing.
Location: Midtown Manhattan. The world of music, Broadway, museums and great restaurants is at hand. Plus Central Park is one block away.
I was in town for a conference at Saint Peter's Church - so I had found Salisbury the previous year, and enjoyed it, so I booked it again. The hotel is older, but safe, clean and comfortable. Staff is nice, efficient and welcoming. You are steps from two different main subway lines to take you anywhere you want to go in NYC. Great restaurants surround you. Maybe other places are fancier and more luxurious but you really can't beat the Salisbury for value, comfort and ease.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Great location to get around NYC on foot

Posted Dec 23, 2015
Pros: Great location in proximity to Times Square, shopping, Broadway theatre district, etc.
Cons: The historic hotel is showing some age, but has character.
Location: Right across the street from Carnegie Hall and the Russian Tea Room. Two blocks from Central Park. Great location!
We did not spend a lot of time in the room. It was mostly a place to park our stuff, sleep, and clean up, and then launch out again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler from Danbury CT

Christmas at The Salisbury

Posted Dec 14, 2015
Pros: Ambiance, cleanliness, friendliness
Cons: Two lamps wouldn't light - it turned out they were both unplugged. Need a little better quality control while cleaning. And altough they say they haon
Location: Carnegie Hall, nearby subway station, Central Park, Fifth Ave., Broadway theaters, many restaurants.
I needed a hotel reservation suddenly, and the Salisbury is my favorite. It's not luxurious and grandiose - it's comfortable and cozy. The Christmas decorations were out and the desk was very welcoming. Best of all, after a hard day, the bell person carried my bags and talked about the city and the sights with me - again very welcoming and helpful. The one disadvantage is that there is no food to be had there, and only one choice in their book to order take out where the price goes on the bill. But I like the furniture, the bed was comfortable. It feels like home rather than imposing and overwhelming. It's a great deal for the money, and extremely convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Loved it.

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Nothing fancy here but definitely clean and comfortable. Great staff. Awesome breakfast for $10 can't be beat. Right across from Carnegie Hall. Loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Great Location

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Elevators
Best deal for the price and location Pleasant staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from New Jersey

Huge Suite, Small Price

Posted Nov 16, 2015
This is my second stay at the Salisbury Hotel, and once again it was just right. The hotel was converted from apartments to a hotel and so the suite of rooms is enormous, especially by New York hotel room standards. There is a hallway with a walk-in front closet; a kitchen area with a microwave, sink, refrigerator, and coffee maker; a large living room with a pull-out sofa, flat-screen TV, and another walk-in closet; a large bedroom with 2 walk-in closets and a flat-screen TV (king bed, night stands, dresser, chair and room to spare); and a full bath. It was spotless. It is also older, so if you are looking for a well-kept vintage vibe (glass doorknobs, painted scrolled woodwork, etc.) and not a modern decor, you will appreciate its charms. The bathroom came with the usual assortment of shampoo/conditioner, soap, shoe buffer, and shower cap and a hair dryer. The front desk personnel were friendly and helpful. When the parking lot that the hotel is associated with for reduced fee was full, the front desk fellow called another lot and had them honor the rate. The location couldn't be better--57th between 5th and 6th.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Cindy

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is very comfortable and the staff is very nice. Spacious for the money and a great location. As other reviewers have pointed out the decor is quite dated and carpets worn and overall the feeling is quite shabby. But the cleanliness for me and the comfort of the bed makes this Hotel a great value for those not looking for luxury.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Sydney, Australia

Very central location

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Very close to Times Square, Central Park, and within walking distance to other major attractions in the city.
Cons: Several light bulbs were not working; power points were very loose and appeared dangerous. Tiling in the bathroom didn't match original, looked ugly
Location: Central Park, Times Square, Broadway all within walking distance and subway on the corner.
Enjoyed the time we spent at the Salisbury. Staff were very helpful and added to the pleasure of our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from SC

Perfect location

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Expedia
So enjoyed my stay... Hotel is dated but that's what is cool ...love the history... A simple walk to central park... And most things of interest in walking distance... And shout out to Merci deli around the corner.. Saved my budget.. .highly recommend.. .I will be back!!