Ratings based on 14,076 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Concord, CA

Spacious suites

Posted Nov 15, 2016
We booked a king suite through Travelocity at the pay-in-advance rate of $220 per night. The room was huge! It may have formerly been an apartment because it had a dining room, wet bar, living room with sleeper sofa, bedroom, bathroom, and at least 3 closets. The amenities were were older (circa 40's or 50's) but all functional and it added charm in our opinion. Plus it was walking distance to Central Park, MTA, and Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall, and Carnegie Deli. Would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Boca Raton, FL

The Price is Right!

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: The best thing is the price. There are only a couple of other hotels in Manhattan where you can get a double bedded room for an average of $300.00 per day. The staff was very friendly & accommodating. The room was quite large. 2 walk-in closets large enough to hold empty suitcases, hanging clothes, & lots of shelves. A "kitchenette" with a microwave, coffee pot, refrigerator, & sink with a cabinet underneath for food. The hotel doesn't have a real restaurant, but there are a couple of markets just a few steps away so you can "eat in" if you want. Although the bathroom was not big, the sink had a cabinet underneath to keep makeup, toiletries, etc. It was also stocked with extra rolls of toilet tissue & Kleenex. The continental buffet breakfast is excellent. Terrific pastries. (Try the almond croissant.) Great cut up fresh fruit. Lots of cereals. Many different kinds of bread & a toaster that rolls constantly so nothing gets caught. You can also heat up waffles and pancakes. No breakfast meats. The only eggs are hard boiled. Yogurt. Coffee. Tea. Cost is $10.00 per person, but it's all you can eat & if you're a big breakfast eater I don't know where you can get this big a breakfast at this price anywhere! Amenities were plentiful. Soap, shampoo, body lotion, hair dryer, coffee, tea, sugars, creamers. Real glasses with "coasters" and paper cups. Large wall TV. Desk with 2 drawers & comfortable chair. Dresser with 6 drawers. Excellent housekeeping.
Cons: This is a very old hotel which hasn't been updated in a long time. If you want marble bathrooms and fancy furniture, this is not the place for you. A fresh coat of paint would be nice. The kitchenette cabinet in my room was in need of repair including a new facing. There are very few electrical outlets in the room. I had to unplug the desk lamp to plug in my computer.
Location: Carnegie Hall & the Russian Tea Room are across the street. Crosstown bus runs both ways on 57th street. 6th avenue subway is half a block away.
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Pennsylvania

Would Stay Again

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: It was very clean and the staff couldn't have been friendlier.
Cons: Very old and somewhat worn out but the positives outweigh the negatives. No wifi. They say you can purchase it from an outside vendor but the options don't load when you follow their instructions.
Location: Wonderful location. Near Central Park and good restaurants/shopping. But it's THE most expensive shopping area in the city.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from b

Tired hotel in great location

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Clean
Location: Near Carnegie Hall and all sorts of high-end shopping.
Staff was pleasant beds hard as a rock lots of chipped paint and tired furniture.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Disappointing stay at the Salisbury

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: The rooms need to be renovated and updated.
Location: Great location across from Carnegie Hall with easy access to the upper west side and upper east side of Manhattan.
We used to stay here 20 years ago and the furniture still looks the same. While the room was clean and the bed was comfortable, the furniture, bathroom fixtures and carpet were shabby looking and in need of updating. The nightly cost for the room, while not reflecting poorly on Travelocity, was way overpriced for the state of the furnishings.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

The hotel was old but quaint

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: The proximity to the places I was visiting. It was inexpensive.
Location: It was walking distance to Rockefeller Plaza which was where I was trying to be.
The hotel was nice and quaint. The only issues I had was I got stuck in the bathroom because the door jammed and the box window air-conditioner was loud and made sleeping a challenge. Other than that it was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. I said I wouldn't recommend the hotel but that was because I was missing the middle road answer. I would say yes to someone staying a brief moment in the hotel not for someone wanting an extended stay.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Close proximity to Central park and Times Sq. Ex

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Close porximity to everything
Cons: Ice machines closer to floors and not just in the lobby. Very small elevator
Close proximity to Central park, shopping, restarants etc.
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Berlin

Praktisches Hotel in "Best"-Lage

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Lage ist wirklich sehr, überaus empfehlenswert; Preis-Leistung ist Gut, Wieder buchen = Ja
Cons: Mobiliar ist teils abgewohnt, starker Straßenlärm in Zimmern (16. OG, Straßenfront)
Location: W 57th St, 2 Querstraßen zum Zentralpark, 1,5 Blocks von 5th Av (Tiffany), 0,5 Blocks von touristischen U-Bahnlinien, 15 Gehmin. Times Square
Familienaufenthalt 5 Tage, 3 Zimmer, 3 Generationen: Hotel liegt touristisch ideal in der 57 th St, unweit touristisch nutzbarer U-Bahnlinien (Süd-Manhatten - Freiheitsstatur, 9/11, Wallstreet ...) und nur zwei Blocks vom Central Park, 1,5 Blocks von der 5th Av (Rockefeller, Tiffanys, ...). Die Zimmer (16. OG zur Straßenfront) waren geräumig. Das Mobiliar wirkt teils abgewohnt, aber keineswegs schmuddelig. Ein-Glasscheiben-Fenster zur Straßenfront, dadurch dringt der Stadtlärm (57th St scheint wichtige Verkehrsstraße) laut ins Zimmer. Das Hotel ist aus unserer Sicht für New York von der Preis-Leistung gut - gibt bessere teurere, gibt schlechtere gleich teure. Das wichtigste: Würden wir wieder buchen? Ja.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Central

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: It was central
Room size was good but the double beds were small and not double in size. We had to pay for wifi which in this day and age is unacceptable, in addition the cost was per device. $10 per day. Bathroom was extremely dated and bath although cleaned did not look clean.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from Ct

Bad place . over priced . dirty

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
Unhappy with room out dated dirty walls smelled nasty .. And over priced ..over very unsatisfactory