Ratings based on 3,274 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Santa Barbara, Ca

UN One Hotel. Should be UN One of the best Hotels.

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Pros: Everything.
This hotel was off the charts. Our view of the New York City Skyline was incredible. I could see the Empire State Building, the Chrysler Building, the Brooklyn Bridge, and the new Trade Center Tower. Everyone there treated us like diplomats, and the proximity to the UN made it all the better. Awesome trip, awesome hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

If you know your way around NYC

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: View from corner room on 30th floor; convenient location for what I needed to do in midtown on the Eastside; access to Select bus service to go Uptown
Cons: bathroom could use an update
Location: N/A
Stayed only one night due to early work meeting. Am very familiar with city thus no issue finding what I needed. forgot to bring bathing suit; would have been nice to use pool.
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Close to UN

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Hotel condition felt like I was in a motel. Bell desk were very nice! I was ready to leave the second I got to my room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Hotel in desperate need of refurbishment

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: The location, most staff were friendly, the gym was good, but the leg press/calf raise was broken. The view from the gym of the UN building is grea
Cons: - Internet should be included. It's 2015. Charge 5$ per night more. - You shouldn't have to pay more for a room that doesn't smell. That's shameful.
Location: UN Building opposite. Off 42nd street, home of the amazing Chrysler building, Grand Central Station, the NY Public Library and Bryant Park
I'm just home after 6 days at this hotel. For UN visits the location is unbeatable, and generally speaking I found it very well situated for my needs. The staff were generally very pleasant and friendly, and although the main lobby is very dated, I got a retro kick out of it. That being said: - My room in the east tower (the west tower has been refurbished) stank of stale musty carpet when I arrived, even with the AC on full blast. This was my main complaint, it was so bad I worried about the smell getting into my clothing. It would certainly be a dealbreaker for some people. When I went to reception and asked what could be done about it, the stony receptionist offered me 2 choices: pay an extra $80 per night for a room in the refurbished tower - nearly $500 to have a room that didn't smell - or he could send up a cleaner to "freshen up" the room. As it was late and I had to be up at 5 AM the next morning I opted for the cleaner, expecting possibly a carpet shampooer or something similar; what I got was a maintenance man with a bottle of Febreze. It was so tragic it was almost funny. In the end I opted to go and buy my own air freshener for the duration of my stay. - The carpet in the hallways and elevator landing were stained and discoloured and needed to be replaced about 20 years ago. - The walls and paint in my room and in the hallways were marked and dirty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Nice view and lovely rooms

Posted Jun 4, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: The place where it is situated
Cons: None
Location: ITs Manhattan so all close by
Hotel front desk was extremely slow..There could have been more staff organised
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kathleen from Egg Harbor Township, NJ

NY Vacation

Posted Jun 3, 2015 on Hotels
Everything was great, except they forgot to mention the pool was closed due to renovations. My 13 year old daughter was quite upset as I booked this particular hotel due to the pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Kreuzlingen, Schweiz

Super Hotel mit super Aussicht

Posted Jun 3, 2015 on Expedia
Ein schönes Hotel mit super Aussicht vom Hotelzimmer. Aufpassen aber. Es gibt zwei Türme. Unbedingt bei der Reservierung schauen, dass das Zimmer im Turm auf der Manhattanseite ist. Der Turm ist renoviert und Zimmer sehr schön. Der Turm auf der Flussseite (East River) ist nicht renoviert und ist nicht zu empfehlen. Wir haben einen Aufpreis vom $50 pro Tag aber es ist es Wert.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Great view of Long Island City!

Posted May 31, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Upstairs from my former office.
Clean room with nice view of Long Island City. Water pressure from shower and toilet is what would you expect from 1 UN Plaza, if you worked there (and I did for a time). A/C set a good level and bed was surprisingly firm enough versus overly soggy.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Massachusetts

Misrepresented as a 4 star option.

Posted May 30, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Location
The hotel front desk knows when you book thru Expedia, so the room we were given was in the non-luxury tower which is a 3 star, not 4 star. The photos on line are mostly for the luxury tower. The room did not have a coffee maker, there was a huge crack in the glass counter in the bathroom, a broken cabinet door, and many dirty marks on the walls and wallpaper. The ceiling panel was partly unattached and you could see the dusty equipment overhead. The front desk was not very friendly, but the doormen were. The hotel did not seem fully booked, but the room we were given was probably one of the worst ones in the hotel. I will not book a discounted room again thru Expedia because of the different treatment by the hotels who know the room was discounted.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Australia

Average hotel for the price. Needs a good clean.

Posted May 29, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Ok location
Cons: The rooms are dated and dirty. They could do with a good clean and some new paint. For the money I would expect free coffee and a fridge.
Location: Close to Grand Central but the rest of the attractions are further way. Bring walking shoes
Booked as a mystery deal and I was exceptionally disappointed. The rooms were in poor condition and I had to ask for a refrigerator to be sent to my room. Staff weren't overly friendly. Its not a bad location however for the money I would look to stay closer to the centre of town. The pool is also undergoing repairs. On the plus side of things the bed was very comfortable and the towels and sheets were clean.