Ratings based on 3,442 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A traveler from miami

This Hotel is amazing

Posted Nov 16, 2015
The staff and the hotel is perfect!! Has a good location is close to everything. The bedroom is always clean and is very comfortable!!!!
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A traveler

An Excellent Experience

Posted Sep 23, 2015
Pros: Everything
Location: Across the street from UN and within walking distance to Grand Central etc.
I needed a room for a quick business trip to NYC. I located the hotel, which I knew. The price was more than reasonable. They were kind enough to upgrade me. An overall pleast experience.
2 out of 5
by A traveler

The UN is short for UN-true

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: Everything
Heard great things about the pool, only thing is they don't tell you until check in that it's been closed for a year. The pictures of the "superior" room on the website certainly overstate the actual room. Half of the square footage was devoted to a winding, useless hall that led to a tiny bedroom. The "view" they quote as awesome was nice, only one had to peer at it through a slit of windows and no balcony. The walls looked bare, as if the art had been torn off, both in the room and in the hallways outside of the rooms. There was a strange smell in the closet, the fitness center was a letdown. All in all a terrible waste of money.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from Boston

A Third World Hotel in a First Class City

Posted Sep 17, 2015
Pros: Nothing except that it was a good location to reach the airport the next morning
Cons: Cleanliness, refurbishing of shabby furniture, provide a warmer and more inviting lobby area, stop charging outrageous prices in the bar
Location: NA
The One UN New York is a huge, impersonal complex with no personality or even unifying theme. The entrance and lobby areas are cold and sterile. The restaurant and bar are severely over priced and mediocre. The staff at the front desk were young and very inexperienced. When I brought the condition of my room to their attention, they simply blamed the housekeeping staff and good no responsibility. Now to the room which was really in terrible shape. I was on a very high floor that had "wet paint" signs throughout the hallway. I never saw another sole on that floor and it felt like no staff person was even away of its condition. It only got worse when I opened my room door. The entire room needed a refurnishing and update. Most startling, the walls were filled with drawings that a child with a pencil had obviously made. The sheets were clean but there were old stains on them and they needed to be replaced. The causal chair in the room looked like it had been purchased in a second hand store. The bathroom was not sparkling but I hope at least clean. Until this hotel takes its guests seriously and doesn't assume it has a built in market for foreign visitors who want to be near the UN complex, I would not book another room.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A traveler

great location

Posted Aug 28, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: room
Cons: restaurant and lounge on site
great staff, clean.............................................................................................
4 out of 5
for Business Travelers
by Sandra from Boston

Posted Aug 28, 2015 on Hotels
Upgraded to recently renovated west tower. Request for feather free was missed in the upgrade but they came and redid room while we were out to dinner so not a big deal.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Washington DC

Not Very Pleased With The Experience

Posted Aug 27, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: The location is great, within walking distance to Grand Central and 5th Avenue shopping, still a good walk to Broadway but not that far.
Cons: The hotel spells elegance but is a little dated and needs a thorough refurbishing. It is not cheap to stay so it should look every bit of its 4 stars.
Location: The location is right in front of the UN building, great view of the East river; its eight blocks to Broadway; a lot of restaurants nearby
We came on a Saturday and stayed for a night to watch a Broadway show. Parked to drop off luggage on the curb but my car battery died, tried to start several times while parking attendants stood watching, none offered to help until I approached. One attendant said an employee can jump it for me for a little fee (I gave him $20 for the trouble); parking was $63 a night which I found exorbitant so I ended up parking one street up for a lot less. The room was comfortable although not very clean, the bathroom sink made of glass has a crack in it. The tub drain was clearly old and dirty. There is no coffee maker in the room. My room was prepaid and I did not incur charges but there was a hold on my card which included a charge for food purchased in the cafe which was already paid for. Nobody returned our call to have the hold removed, it is a good thing our bank took the hold off after four days of waiting. One bright note was the lady at the concierge desk who helped me find a nice restaurant with a table for 6. I will not stay again.
3 out of 5
for Personal Event
by Desiree

good and not so good qualities

Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
High security is good I guess but seemed a bit intrudive with a trained dog that smells your bag. The room was just ok, aND a few stains on the furniture but the room I stayed in had a beautiful view.
5 out of 5
for Families
by Laura from Providence, RI

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
Very Comfortable, The bed was great. Great View. Only complaint was how expensive the parking was and that they only charge in 24 hour increments.
4 out of 5
for Getaway With Friends
by Jennifer from Holliston, ma

Great deal!

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
Perfect for a girls weekend. Staff was friendly and upgraded us to a nicer room for free :)