Ratings based on 20 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from J

Excellent!

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Really lovely hotel with a wonderful, authentically sweet and accommodating staff! L'Amico for dinner is ridiculously delicious! Really. It is. The Vine is more relaxed and has a great lounge, where you can luxuriate through brunch (while you get over your New Year's Eve hangover...) Love it! Jason is the best!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2017 by Gabriella , Hotel Management
Thank you for review! Come back soon! We are thrilled you enjoyed the restaurants.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Philadelphia

Not up to Kimpton standards

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: The bathroom was very nice and large. They should have used some of the bathroom space for the room space. Or closet space.
Cons: Don't pretend this is a suite. Remove the wall between "outer room" and "bedroom." It will still be a cramped single but at least not misleading.
Location: The hotel is about 3 blocks from Penn Station and there are some nice restaurants within walking distance. About 12 blocks to Times Square.
I've stayed in Kimpton hotels all over the US. This was our first time in the Kimpton Eventi. It was the most disappointing experience we have had in any Kimpton hotel. We booked an Executive Suite for a one night stay for three adults. The "suite" was so tiny that it would have been cramped for one person but for three it was truly inappropriate. The bedroom barely had room for the king bed and the closet was so small you couldn't put anything in it. The "outer room" was nothing more than a wide hallway (about 7 feet wide) from the door to the window at the end of the room. There was a sofa bed at the end of this "room" but when the bed was open it took all the space in that end of the room and extended about 7 inches in front of the doorway into the bedroom. To open the sofa bed they had to remove the 2x4 foot coffee table from the room. To put it elsewhere would have blocked the exit path from the room to the door. I told the manager that my husband's health issues were serious and the room was so small it wouldn't easily allow an EMT crew to enter if there was an emergency. I told him that only if they removed some furniture would it probably be workable and even then it was iffy. His response was that the "room was up to code" which tells you everything you need to know about the customer service motivation. We did not get furniture removed or an appropriate room. Very expensive and unpleasant experience. This was NOT up to Kimpton standards at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by Bill M, Hotel Management
Tricia, We are very sorry to hear about your less than positive experience with our hotel. It seems the size of the room was not quite up to your standards and we are very sorry about that. Although our rooms are well known for being larger than most in our city, we can see that if enough luggage and people are in a room, it can seem very cramped. We value your feedback and hope that you remain loyal to Kimpton.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Sarasota, FL

Central to almost everything we wanted to see.

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Pros: Wine hour at 5:00 PM each day. Very welcome after a long day walking.
Cons: Nothing, everything exceeded our expectations
Location: Empire State Building and Korea Town about 4 blocks away. Penn Station, Macy's, Madison Square Garden a short walk.
We were greeted by a friendly staff, the doorman had great recommendations for dinner. The hotel has 3 restaurants, each has it's own character and each was excellent. The room was comfortable, clean and the staff was available to insure our stay was memorable.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Hudson Valley, NY

Excuse me?

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Pros: Location was adequate.
Cons: See above
Location: Hotel was centrally located to major attractions.
Had high hopes from the jump that this hotel would be great based on available reviews. Upon entering the foyer there was trash on the indoor/outdoor rug--not a great way to kick off an initial impression. We waited in line to check in but there was only one staff behind the desk. The other gentleman staff was outside with his buddy. The other gentleman staff whom I had seen outside on my way into the hotel ultimately showed up, and while he was nicely attired, he had dirt on his suit jacket's lapel. While staff were friendly, they were very young and their immaturity was evident. The room was sufficient size and did offer a view of the city as requested. I couldn't believe there wasn't even complimentary water! There were two bottles, but you had to pay for them--come on! The pillows were no more effective in supporting my head and neck than a sheet of paper, so obviously I didn't sleep that night at all. The most obnoxious aspect of the hotel was the inexplicable brief noise that kicked on every so often (throughout the night too), which sounded like a mechanical device kicking on whenever someone turned their shower on. Wine reception also let me down--I was so excited for a freebie after spending $426 (excluding taxes and fees) for one night's hotel stay, but upon arrival we were offered one cheap red or one cheap white. Come on, this is NYC for crying out loud. I expect more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Los Angeles

Great staff, sexy hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2015
Stayed five nights at the hotel. Staff went overboard to ensure we had a great stay. Loved the decor! Wine in the evening, coffee and tea in the morning in the lobby. Hotel is located within a 5 minute walk to Madison Square Garden and Penn Station
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from West Vancouver, BC, Canada

Fantastic location, lovely room, great staff !

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Pros: Everything
A five star experience at a 4 star price. Loved The Ivy restaurant in the hotel, fantastic food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2015 by Elise, Hotel Management
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the new restaurant The Vine. Our newest restaurant L'Amico opens this week so make sure to come back and visit us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Excellent Hotel - Staff is very helpful and nice

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Excellent Location! Great staff and service. The new lobby and upgrades are great. I have now stayed at this Hotel 3 times and I will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from San Francisco

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff; quiet chic room with a gorgeous city view, comfy bed, lovely bathroom and shower. Many thoughtful extras.
Cons:
Location: We walked to the West Village for lunch. The Flat Iron building, the Empire State Building,Times Square, and Herald Square shopping are all close.
If you need to be near the location of the Eventi, and you don't mind a 70's exterior building, and not exactly a fashionable address, then it's a wonderful place to stay. Very comfortable, well-appointed rooms and decor, comfy beds, attention to detail, great service and a staff who seem to really want you to have a good stay. For NYC also a solid value! We didn't eat there so cannot comment on the food or room service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from knoxville, tn

Hotel location is pretty good

Posted Jul 6, 2015
The Eventi was pretty good overall. Most of the staff is pretty friendly gave some good food recommendations. The bed was way too soft for my liking. It had huge divots on both sides. The other thing was the big bathroom light didn't work. We had a short stay and didn't want people in our room while out for who knows how long so we just made due which all in all wasn't a big deal there's a light in the shower and some other small ones too. Anyways I prefer the Westin in Times square for the bed but it was kind of nice not always having to go through Times Square as we aren't the touristy type of travelers.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from New York, NY

Underwhelming all around

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Booked a room here for my wedding weekend, was expecting a relaxing stay in a nice hotel. Hotel room was not thoroughly cleaned before check in - I found half empty juice and alcohol bottles in the mini-bar, dresser and trash can. Told the front desk about this, assuming they would move us to another room or send someone up to clean while we were out but when we came back late that night nothing had been done. Also wanted to make sure I wasn't charged for things taken out of the mini-bar. The rest of the room was cleaned, it was clear that the ed was freshly made and the bathroom was how you would expect it to be (toilet paper roll folded to a point, etc). No idea why someone would just fail to clean up garbage in one part of the suite. Room was also not as advertised - no tub in the bathroom. This was the main reason I booked this particular room - to have a huge tub. We did have a nice view of the Empire State Building (although I have this view from my own apartment 10 blocks away haha). Between the general lack of care and overpriced accommodations, I wouldn't stay here again.