Ratings based on 23 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Maryland

Not as Posted

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Pros: I liked the efforts of the staff checking me in. There was a mixup that was straightened out professionaly.
Cons: Honest representation of the rooms. I paid for "deluxe" and got a passable room. The hotel could make sure that all elevators work. Improve locks
Location: Fabulous location if you want to be in the middle of the very busy Times Square area. A few feet from the discount ticket facility. Near subway/bus
The hotel is a large, old building that is decently maintained. The room was clean as was the bathroom. However, the air conditioning was by a unit that was incredibly loud. The tub was coated with something (not icky, just letting you know) to cover the visible spots where the tub surface had peeled. Not pretty, but all was ok and the shower was one of the best I've had. The toilet was industrial. Again, not pretty but worked well. The lock on the door was not acceptable. Other hotels have more than the one lock. Bed was not good. The hotel is a huge place, so that has to be what you want. Getting to the room was often delayed by needing to wait on a line for the elevator. Two of the elevators were not in operation, but they are needed. There is a request for you to present your key before going to the elevators. The staff was pleasant. Overall, I would not choose to stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Nice hotel in NYC Theatre District

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: The location was very convenient. Our rooms were comfortable.
Cons: A restaurant or cafe on site.
Location: It's in the NYC Theatre District--shows and great restaurants all around.
We were at the Edison right after Christmas when NYC was very busy and crowded. The Hotel staff worked well to deal with the crowds and make our stay pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from ohio

Excellent for the money

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Cons: Somesort of continental breakfast/coffee bar would have been nice.
Location: The location was great. So close to Times Square. We were able to walk everywhere and never felt nervous or unsafe at any hour of touring arouns.
The hotel was going thru some renovations, but even with that the hotel was great. Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and the location to Times Square was awesome!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Alabama

Hotel is very convenient and always feel safe.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
My third time at the Edison and I choose it for its location.Room was a little smaller than last year but was clean and I felt safe being alone in the big city. Will stay there again for sure. Just steps away from Broadway and theatres.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Dyersburg, TN

great hotel in the middle of Times Square,

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: location, safe in room, security at elevators the location is great for walking to the plays
Cons: not much!! I like everything about this hotel
Location: Times Square , plays, restaurants, people watching
The Signature rooms have been upgraded and are great rooms. I do not recommend the other rooms on the lower floors . I stay there twice a year and have been going back for about 5 years. Great rooms at a better price than other hotels in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Mountain View, CA

Great property in Times Square

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: It's a no-compromise in quality comfortable reasonably priced hotel in a great location if you're playing tourist (as we were).
Cons: 1) I guess it's unreasonable to ask for the Edison Cafe to come back? 2) We were short an outlet for the floor lamp by the sofa.
Location: 49th St Subway 2 blocks away. Duffy Square (i.e. TKTS booth) a block away. It's at the north end of Times Square. I think you'll find something to do.
Hotel Edison is conveniently located within a block of Duffy Square between Broadway and 8th Ave. It's just far enough away from 42nd Street to make it somewhat quiet. Near enough, though, that it's a short walk to everything you need if you're staying in the Times Square area. As to the room, we were upgraded by Management so can't speak to the size/condition of our original Deluxe Queen with the Jr. Suite. The latter was very roomy even though it was a "suite" by virtue of an alcove where the sofa bed was placed. Walls can be a little thin or our neighbors were really noisy. The staff was very friendly, they can arrange car service if need be, the sitting area is comfortable. I'm just disappointed the hotel saw fit to closed the Cafe (I understand was a credible under-the-radar deli).
1 out of 5
by A traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Uncomfortable stay!!!

Posted Jul 4, 2014
First of all, this hotel is not as affordable as you might think. There is a base price, but it only includes the room. I choose a classic suite and was sorely disappointed with my honeymoon experience. No television unless you pay extra. Shower choices include scalding or freezing water only. No robes included. Very small towels. Old wallpaper on walls and carpeting on floor(my allergies were going insane...). Staff would not call us a cab. No room service. No mini fridge. No safe for valuables. DO NOT STAY AT THE EDISON!!! You will regret it!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2015 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We regret to learn of any discrepancies during your visit. Was a Manager made aware of your discomfort? We do offer complimentary T.V., which offer Pay-per-view for a surcharge. All of our towels are standard size. No room services as stated at time of booking. Mini fridges and safes are available upon request based on availability. We would have liked the opportunity to appease you during your visit, and look forward for the possibility to welcome you on a return visit to NYC. Kindest Regards, Guest Relations.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Wonderful Time

Posted Aug 4, 2008
We loved the Edison Hotel. It was located right in the heart of Broadway, so we could walk to all of the shows we saw. The staff was very nice, quick service in the lobby and when we called for things. The room was nice, 2 double beds, a room with windows, nicely decorated and clean. The lobby is very nice, I love the lobby music, There is an all hours gift shop, The Rum Bar was fun, there was a singer/piano player there when I went who was quite good. The Cafe Edison was one of our favorite places to eat with a good lunch menu, good service and reasonable prices. (best tuna melt ever). We will stay there again on our next trip. Good value for the money.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Great hotel,not 5star, but solid in every way. Fantastic.

Posted Jun 27, 2008
Mom with 2 teens found this to be the perfect spot. Clean, safe, comfy, doormen, cafe, 24 hour staffing, close to pizza, bagels, Starbucks and every show we went to. Beds, air cond. pillows, cleanliness just great. I travel alot and stay in top hotels and this was fine. Everything you need. The rooms had nice furniture, bedding and rugs, bath all clean and updated. I have recommended this is othe travelling families. Great for seniors too. Safe and close to dbl. decker bus line. In the heart of theatre district, but safe at night for late night eats. I was glad there was everything that a large expensive hotel has for a great price. Use a travel agent for best price. Not 5-star for romantic getaway, but we came to see the city.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Bang for my buck

Posted Nov 9, 2007
Great location, Times Square/42nd St within 3 blocks walk. Numerous restaurants nearby. Caf? in front of hotel okay for quick bite, their staff however are not all pleasant (Guess they want to retain the impression all New Yorkers are rude,) We did not find that in most places.\n\nMain restaurant excellent Italian would recommend. About four blocks west is ?restaurant row? excellent choices. Staff most generally accommodating. ?Kevin? the day Bell Captain great guy. We will definitely go again. Price for rooms varies so explore. We booked a year in advance got good price. They were nearly double when we got there. Many Europeans taking advantage of Euro vs. Dollar, (who can blame them)\n\nAll in all rate in 4.5 out of 5 for convenience, access too many sites. Etc. This trip made NYC a definite plus compared to 20 years ago when it was like going into a combat zone. Great Trip.\n