Ratings based on 19 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.1 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Not what I expected.

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Pros: Central location.
Cons: Perpetual lobby crowd and noise may be a bonus for some, but if you're looking for a quiet place to hang out this is not the hotel for you.
Location: Pretty centrally located.
Lobby was always disappointingly loud and very crowded. Bathrooms very small—barely room to turn around in shower. Desk staff suggested a bigger, upgraded room at check-in. When I checked the online receipt, I was charged double what I was quoted, plus occupancy and sales tax, adding over $200 to a 3-night stay. This, after I'd already paid in full through Travelocity. Despite a few email exchanges, I have yet to resolve the issue.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2016 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Hello Thank you for your feedback. We were sorry to read your experience was not what you expected. As we are unable to reach you based on your anonymous review, we hope you will reach out to us to resolve your billing issues. Our sincerest apology for your frustration. Warm regards, The Staff of Ace Hotel New York
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Amazing hotel close to subways and Empire State Bu

Posted Dec 22, 2015
The Ace hotel is a great hotel with friendly staff, great decor and stumps coffee right downstairs! I will never stay anywhere else in NYC!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2015 by Lisa, Hotel Management
"I will never stay anywhere else in NYC!" We could not wish for a greater compliment. Thank you for your lovely feedback. We were so happy to read you enjoyed your stay. See you soon, Your Friends at Ace Hotel New York
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Central Pa.

Bizarre decor and no soap

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Pros: Great location and view of a 19th Century mansion across the street.
Cons: The toiletry situation. The bathroom has no storage space. The tissue dispenser is made of cloth and all the tissues are in one lump.
Location: Convenient to Broadway and Park and Fifth Avenues. The immediate neighborhood is downscale.
Since I came in to NYC to attend a reception on 29th Street, Ace Hotel was ideally located. It has a downscale, retro aesthetic that would be perfect if you are a young Raymond Chandler spending down a million dollar advance. You get a desk that is perfect for writing about a murder that takes place in Lower Manhattan, the victim being a character based on Humphrey Bogart or Lauren Becall. Inspiration will be enhanced by the steel doors, garish black and white ALL CAPS notices everywhere and no pen, just a pencil and a complementary sharpener. At the rate charged, I do expect some basics, such as at least one small bar of soap. You get a large bottle each of shampoo, conditioner, and body wash, the last of which smells like hand sanitizer. If you want to use your own toiletries, tough luck, because the only place to put them is the bath tub.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2015 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Hi, Thank you for your visit. Your feedback is creatively written and we thoroughly enjoyed reading it! Our rooms contain Pearl + Detox Soaps. They are lovingly handcrafted in small batches in Portland, Oregon, exclusively for Ace. Please accept our apologies for one not being in your room. In the future, please feel free to let us know if you need anything. We are here to assist in any way we can. Our rooms have unique layouts and we would be happy to show you a room with some more bathroom space. Be well, Your Friends at Ace Hotel New York
4 out of 5
by bobcaygeon

Great lobby area and restaurants

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Very good location to move around the city. Cool place with nice amenities.
4 out of 5
by mikedd from Boulder, CO

Nice rooms, great Coffee!

Posted May 16, 2013
Rooms were nice, location was perfect for my work trip, coffee shop downstairs was great!
4 out of 5
by vronsky

Hotel is nice, hip

Posted Jan 9, 2013
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet
The room was awesome. We (my girlfriend and I) stayed in one of their smaller rooms, but it was well furnished and the bathroom was clean and very nice. The bed wasn't extremely comfortable, kind of firm and too short for me (I'm 6'4''), but passable. The room was quiet, though it was kind of hot. We had the heat off the whole time, and the window cracked (it was freezing out), and only then was it a comfortable temperature. Not sure how it remained so warm in our room—a mystery. The staff were very nice and helpful. My only complaint is the number of non-guests in the lobby area. This is because there is a bar, two restaurants, and an (excellent) coffee shop all around the lobby. Be forewarned: If you don't have the sides of your head buzzed and a MacBook in hand, you may stand out.
4 out of 5
by Ahlot from Connecticut, USA

Different kind of hotel

Posted Jan 1, 2013
Pros: Free Internet
Cons: Noisy
It was a nice but very different kind of hotel. Not an average place with its different kind of art decor. Location was fantastic and very accessible. Staff are good, but I had a problem with the check -in process.
5 out of 5
by lms2299 from St Louis, MO, USA

Great NYC experience

Posted Dec 14, 2012
I stayed here with my mom on a mother daughter trip to NYC. It was my mom's first time to the city and the location couldn't be beat. We could walk to most places we wanted to visit and when we had a long day in the city we came back to the hotel and grabbed a nice glass of wine from the bar. The hotel had a great vibe and it was nice to have such a warm and inviting lobby area to welcome you back to the hotel. The room was small (NYC standard) but they did a lot to maximize the space. Our room did stay very warm and we couldn't change the thermostat but we were able to keep the window open so it stayed comfortable in the room. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel, price was reasonable and the location was great!
3 out of 5
by alameda123 from California

This hotel is not for everyone!

Posted Dec 13, 2012
Pros: Free Internet
Cons: Noisy
This is a pretty funky hotel and I don't think it's for everyone. I do disagree with the 4 star rating. It's definitely not for the person that is expecting the comforts of a 4 star hotel. Originally I booked a room for my daughter not knowing that this place is definteily not geared towards kids or family. It's more of a artsy/rocker type of hotel with a blaring loud bar downstairs. Fortunately we spent alot of time out of our room, but when we returned it was so loud on the street that we couldn't even sleep. Nice front desk personnel, however...but they completely missed the mark with this traveler.
3 out of 5
by Lckystarr from California, USA

Not For Everyone

Posted Dec 11, 2012
Pros: Free Internet
Cons: Noisy, room service not great
This hotel was bizarre. Definitely funky and artsy. Not for anyone that is used to four star service. I don't agree with its four star rating. We upgraded to a larger room and it was extremely loud. We couldn't sleep either nights of our stay. Definitely not as place for children either because it has a very loud bar downstairs. It's definitely geared towards the hip, younger crowd that doesn't look for creature comforts.