Ratings based on 664 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
by A traveler from los Angeles

Already booking for next summer!

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Friendly staff, clean rooms , great beach location,excellent service. A perk is that you will have access to both riu resorts if you book at the palace. Hated to leave. We had one of the best vacations ever.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Washington, DC

Close to the beach

Posted Jun 11, 2016
I was close to the beach, but there was no coverage from the sun. No hotel staff came around with drinks or offered to bring drinks. The restaurants on the property were "booked", and it was only our first night there. On Wednesday one the restaurants was closed. But look in the window and all the restaurants were not full. Mini bar was empty on arrival to the room. And the hotel safe didn't work. The only good thing was the 4 bottles of booze already in the room that was half full.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Great beach....

Posted May 25, 2016 on Expedia
We had a great time. The beach is probably one of the most beautiful around.. It was our third time visiting RIU
5 out of 5
by A traveler from c

Posted May 12, 2016 on Expedia
Had a wonderful time. The staff was very nice and treated me great.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

The beach is great!

Posted May 5, 2016 on Expedia
Entertainment staff is the best we've ever met. The rooms are quite outdated and smell a bit. The food was absolutely amazing. Some entertainment for the kids was provided, but no designated kids club (so a minus for that).
4 out of 5
by A traveler from queens, new york

Awesome beach

Posted May 3, 2016 on Expedia
My stay at the riu was good. The beach is very nice. Very clean and close to the hotel. The rooms were comfortable if you were just using it to sleep and change. Not much to do at night but the bar is always a good option. Would definitely recommend this hotel for someone who wants to chill on the beach.
3 out of 5
by Barbro from Los Angeles, CA

Warnings!!! Before you choose this hotel...

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
THE BAD: beds are very hard, pillows are for children, you may not get room service unless you ask for it, no wine in the rooms nor will they bring it unless you pay $20 extra per bottle. On the beach you get accosted by people bugging you endlessly to sell you stuff, and some were not very nice after being rejected. Resort is NOT on 7-mile beach, it is on Bloody Bay Beach. 7-Mile beach CANNOT be accessed other than to walk down the road about a mile, where you will constantly be honked at by people wanting to give you a ride for a fee -- and they won't take "NO" for an answer. They also don't tell you that the tap water is not safe for consumption. The staff seemed to be miffed when they don't get a tip. THE GOOD: The ocean was heavenly and the food was pretty good. The entertainment was ok, but most consisted of one Jamaica Reggae band after another. THE WARNINGS: Do not rent a car, it is a waste and too dangerous. Do not try to walk to Negril or Rick's Cafe from this resort. Though we walk 4 miles every day at home, this trek was too far and we definitely felt threatened by sellers, including one guy who followed us, swearing at us for not buying anything from him.
5 out of 5
by A traveler from NH

Wonderful time

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Everything! Food great, drinks plentiful, staff wonderful helpful friendly, beach beautiful, water warm and wonderful very few vendors get by security
Cons: towel cards Most people don't read the back of cards and don't realize there would be a charge if the card is not returned $20 too high of a charge
Location: Went on boat to Ricks café. Wonderful! there was snorkeling and well worth the $50 per person!
There were 6 of us all couples in our 45-55 range. Went to 3 of the specialty restaurants Krystal, The Japanese and the Italian. The only disappointment was the Italian. Salad bar was great but the entres were lacking. Japanese surprised us we all thought we would be going to the buffet after but the food was wonderful. Buffet was also great. Clean beach and lovely water. Our only "glitch" was the towel cards. 2 in our group never even used towels and when we went to check out they did not know where their cards were and the hotel wanted $20 per card! Thankfully they went back to their room and found the cards. So remember to keep those cards safe or you will get charged! Very few kids and the ones there were well behaved!
4 out of 5
by A traveler from NJ

Excellent hotel for the price.

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Everthing
Cons: Bathroom closer to the beach
Location: 10 minutes from the cruise boats
Love Jamaica the hotel was great, party party party, The food, room, entertainment and the piña coladas were all good. The grounds are beautiful, drinks are plentiful and for the price you pay you are on a beautiful beach. I wouldn't bring children here, nude beach steps away.. Normal guy with lots of cash in my pocket and this place is fine for me
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Expedia
Very tired and many excuses as to why things weren't done or up to par.