Ratings based on 682 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
by A traveler from jacksonville, Florida

Very nice place to vacation

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Expedia
Very pleased with overall stay I will come again Front Desk Clerk,Andrew was very helpful as was all of the dining staff, cleaning service on top of it view of the beach from my balcony was right on time, I would recommend this resort to anyone wanting to get away for a while
5 out of 5
by A traveler

The Best of Jamaica

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Everything
Cons: More Jamaican music on the beach. More Jamaican food
It was absolutely wonderful. From the first step into the beautiful lobby to the beautiful European furnitured rooms.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Expedia
Amazing trip. I loved the staff and the food was great. I would definitely go back. It's right on the beach which is great and the shows at the hotel were super cool.
1 out of 5
by A traveler

Be careful of the time period you book this hotel.

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: The staff (except for the managment) was excellent. The food was wonderful. The beach and water was just wonderful.
Cons: For the sake and safety of guests, especially with families, warn prospective guests about the annual 4-day "Dream Weekend." It's the least you can do
Location: The beach is fantastic. The view is equally fanatic and the water temperature is just wonderful.
Unbeknownst to us the Jamica Indepenace Day "4-Day Dream Weekend" occured during 9-night night vacation from July 26 to August 4th 2016. Unfortunately Expedia will not permit my exposing the kind of horrific detail that transpired so I will post those details elsewhere to serve as a warning to anyone planning a vacation at this hotel. Unfortunately Expedia makes a great effort to censor the truth of horrid experiences such as this. Suffice it to say this experience was so shocking and frightening that I can only give this hotel the lowest possible rating. Our $4500 vacation (my wife and myself) was ruined because of it. I only wish I could share with you what transpired at this hotel during this period. If I could I seriously doubt that you would ever want to vacation of this hotel, especially with your children. For families to be subjected to anything like this, even if it is just an annual event, substantiates (at least to me) that the RIU Tropical Bay does NOT put family first and will do nothing to protect them much less compensate them when such an unbelievably horrific experience/event occurs. Consider yourselves warned.
5 out of 5
by A traveler from NC

Nice resort even nicer locals!

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Expedia
We stayed at this resort August 2014 and just recently, August 2016 and we noticed the food choices definitely got better. We paid for an upgrade when we got there to a beachfront view (3310) and did not regret the extra $100, it was worth it! The water is calm and clear, plenty of loungers, the resort is huge and you'll have a lot of walking but who cares, you're in paradise! We had lunches at Wayne's lobster shack which is to the right of the resort (if you're on the beach head right towards the shacks). He's a Rasta man so if you're craving fresh lobster and one day fresh crab! Ask any of the locals walking up and down the beach for Wayne and they'll point you to where you need to go.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Maryland

Mosquitos Mosquitos Mosquitos

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: A chef personally fixed me curry shrimp and lobster and I enjoyed the jerk hut during lunch
Cons: Beds too hard..too many mosquitos...tub and shower combination very small...food same everyday and not good...nd to replace beach umbrella w/tree huts
Too many mosquitos...food same everyday and not that good...drinks were ok
3 out of 5
by A traveler from chicago

Nice location, bad room

Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Expedia
The location was beautiful and the grounds were well kept. The food was subpar. The room was dated and beds uncomfortable. Cleaning was inadequate also.
2 out of 5
by A traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Expedia
I've stayed at the Riu in Cabo so that's why I chose it again. However, I was disappointed. The buffet was not good and flies were sworming over the salads and veggies. The front desk was not friendly or helpful at all when it came to asking for ideas or activities outside the resort. It wasn't my fav stay.
4 out of 5
by A traveler from New York, NY

Great Hotel for Dream Weekend

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Expedia
The hotel was great. We got upgraded to a partial ocean view room which was just as great as ocean view! The food needs a little more seasoning but it's resort food so you can't please everyone. The beds were okay, not plush but not hard either. PERFECT LOCATION for all the Dream Weekend Partying !!! I will be back !