Ratings based on 691 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Cincinnati, OH

Awesome hotel on the beach!!

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: The staff, the spa, the closeness to the beach, the scenery, the decor, the options, the water activities, the cleanliness, the in room stocked bar.
Cons: I may have missed it but having more Jamaican (real Jamaican, not Americanized Jamaican) food available.
Location: The location is right on the beach. You can take a taxi into town, but the resort has many activities available on site. Depending on what you want.
Absolutely amazing. Everything was great! You will have to leave the resort to get authentic Jamaican food, but otherwise so many options.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Expedia
Location: Negril is about an hour and 15 minute drive from the airport, but it's a beautiful drive. It cost $100 US one way for a private taxi .
Third time staying at Tropical Bay. My only negative remark is regarding the specialty restaurants. You are told to line up and it's first come first serve . each restaurant holds about 50 people and they only seen it twice . So, if you don't line up and get on the list you eat at the buffet. I like the old system better where you make reservations early in the week . Also, the room service menu is terrible. It's only a few sandwiches and a salad or two. Nothing hot, not even a burger and fries . That being said, I still love this resort and will definitely visit it again .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from US

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Expedia
The hotel is very old and dated but the people that work there are awesome! I was disappointed when we arrived because it looked so run down. But people of the amazing people that work there I would stay there again. The beach is beautiful there as well. Upper management seem very serious and needs to smile more...they are the I'm assuming Spanish people. But the Jamaican people are awesome!
1 out of 5
by A traveler from los angeles, California

This hotel needs a huge upgrade. Rooms, staffs....

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Pool area and location of the hotel and there isn't much to like about this hotel.
Cons: rooms cleanliness and old furniture, staff were extremely rude when asked questions. Restaurants were dirty and food was terrible.
Location: Not a whole lot.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Hotel cómodo y con una playa espectacular

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Bonito hotel...limpio...personal muy atento pero no hablan español
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Great vacation, love Jamaica!

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: The staff is incredibly helpful and provided exceptional service. Nadine, Andranike, Hotdog, Gray and every staff member we encountered were extremely friendly!
Cons: Unable to make reservations at the restaurants first come first serve made it difficult to get a seat. We were fortunate and got in to all the restaurants but not all guests were able to get a table.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Claymont, États-Unis d'Amérique

Outstanding beach, hotels a 4/5

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Expedia
Location: Fantastic...roughly 15 min to 7 mile beach.
4/5....no elevators could be challenging for 2-3 floor guests
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from US

Paradise

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Expedia
Everything about this hotel was EXCELLENT! Staff, food, accommodations....BEACH!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from massachusetts

yes very nice ocean few ....love it

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: it was relaxing
Cons: room service could be better...more choices for breakfast
Location: everything was fine as far location and things to do around the stay
my first time experience was wonderful ...I will come back again and visit ....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from jacksonville, Florida

Very nice place to vacation

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Expedia
Very pleased with overall stay I will come again Front Desk Clerk,Andrew was very helpful as was all of the dining staff, cleaning service on top of it view of the beach from my balcony was right on time, I would recommend this resort to anyone wanting to get away for a while