Ratings based on 617 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Buffalo, NY

This Hotel is all about the beach

Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Expedia
I'll start with this beach is GORGEOUS, crystal clear water. Weather was nice we went beginning of Nov, it did rain everyday but usually for about an hour around 5-6 pm. The sun is strong be sure to bring at least SPF 50. They did include dinners at 4 restaurants that you have to make reservations for or the buffet. They also have a chicken hut on the beach. The buffet food was surprisingly good as well as room service even though I wish the menu was a little bigger. We didn't really go in the pool at all, it was a bit small and there were many bees at the pool bar. There are servers on the beach to get drinks but it does take a while and they sometimes don't come back enough so you may need to get your own at times. The beach is breathtaking, however when on the beach you do tend to be hassled a bit by the locals as many of them are very poor just trying to make a living. If you walk down the beach they do have huts and sell many nice things you can take home as souvenirs, and you get to bargain down the price. If you're not interested just politely say no thanks and keep walking. They can only come up so far onto the beach and there are security on the beach to ensure you're not harassed. My biggest complaint was the bed, hard as a rock & maid service was not very good, they kept taking our towels without replacing them. We did get bit up bad! Be sure to bring bug spray as its $15USD at the gift shop. Not much to do after sunset if you're not a drinker.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Washington, DC

Very nice hotel on the beach

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Outstanding customer service!
Cons: It's time for a facelift of the furnishings. Bed spreads date the bedrooms; move to modern bedroom furniture.
Location: Lots of water activities. We visited nearby, Rick's Café. We enjoyed swimming at the beach each day.
The staff was excellent! I go to Jamaica at least once per year. Negril is my favorite vacation city for swimming and enjoying the outstanding customer service. My best friend celebrated his birthday on this trip and the restaurant staff helped me in making his birthday memorable. I will continue to stay at this hotel because the staff is excellent! The food choices are also excellent!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Beautiful beach, but facilities are just OK.

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Expedia
Resort looks nice upon arrival, but I wasn't impressed with the rooms. I was put on the 3rd floor, in the back of the resort, basically on the highway. I asked to be moved to a different building with my friends, and was told I may not get the same type of room. I normally wouldn't complain, but I am 6 months pregnant and had to trek up stairs everyday - NO elevators. The decor of the room does not match the resort at all. Not to mention the smell of the room and several bathrooms in the resort - sewer like. The food was mediocre. The only place we enjoyed was the jerk hut and the steakhouse. Restaraunts are not open daily and reservations have to be made unless you want to go to the buffet. The thing we loved was the beach was beautiful, clean and well maintained. Besides the locals walking the Beach to sell you things, which really was not that bad; they weren't pushy, just trying to make a living. Entertainment staff was amazing and friendly; but no other entertainment at night other than the nightly show or places to go.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Great beach. Incredible staff.

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Expedia
Had a great week. Beautiful beach great staff. We have been here a number of times and would go back again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler from PA

BIrthday Vacation w/ Friends

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: The staff is outstanding . All are friendly and outgoing ,not at all obtrusive . The property is beautiful . Nicely landscaped and kept very well
Cons: The shower is dangerous as the bottom of the tub slopes away and it is not seen when you are stepping over the granite seat ledge into the shower.
Location: It's only an hour + from the airport and 30 seconds outside of Negril . Dynomite's Crab Shak is 100 yds away on the beach . Local Bars are nice .
We were very pleased with the facility . THe lobby is open 24 hours. and you can get drinks , play cards , dominos or just sit and look out at the ocean . In the evening they have a gentleman playing a baby grand piano . We made reservations for 2 of the specialty restaurants , The Steakhouse and the Japanese dining room . Both were excellent . You will NEVER go hungry at the buffet .... no matter which meal . There are activities for all ages at the pool and in the ocean and the hotel staff does an excellent job of keeping the" beach hucksters" at bay when you are on the beach . . We all said we would like to go back .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from cincinnati, oh

The staff was perfect, air con. In room not good

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Expedia
This was one our best vaca, we def want to go back. Loved the entertainment and staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Excellent all-inclusive resort

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Expedia
We stayed in late July, technically the off-season, and it was fantastic. The weather was mostly beautiful, with a little rain here and there which was actually refreshing. The RIU staff were all amazing, so helpful and happy. The buffet was our favorite, we easily could have eaten there every night. We tried a few specialty restaurants, the Italian was excellent, the Japanese was a let down. Jerk chicken for lunch was the best! We never had to wait to get our food, but I could see how it could get a long line during a busier time of year. Overall, it was the best vacation we've ever taken.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Howell,MI

Great people Amazing beach but not the Bed

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Expedia
We are a younger married couple 25. Her first trip like this an I've been on a couple. We were both very happy with out experience that we had here in the Negril Tropical Palace. We stay in a suite which had ample space an a great view. The bed was a rock only comfortable enough to pass out on not relax into. We are probably going back to this particular location just after the first of the year the water an beach was exceptional along with pool an staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Location
Cons: We wanted a King bed for our honeymoon but got 2 full size beds pushed up against each other. Was not too comfortable especially for our honeymoon.
Overall good but would have liked a king bed. OTher than that everything was good and the staff was pleasant.