Ratings based on 78 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from los Angeles

Already booking for next summer!

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Friendly staff, clean rooms , great beach location,excellent service. A perk is that you will have access to both riu resorts if you book at the palace. Hated to leave. We had one of the best vacations ever.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Washington, DC

Close to the beach

Posted Jun 11, 2016
I was close to the beach, but there was no coverage from the sun. No hotel staff came around with drinks or offered to bring drinks. The restaurants on the property were "booked", and it was only our first night there. On Wednesday one the restaurants was closed. But look in the window and all the restaurants were not full. Mini bar was empty on arrival to the room. And the hotel safe didn't work. The only good thing was the 4 bottles of booze already in the room that was half full.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from atlanta

This was the best vacation I've ever had

Posted Sep 19, 2015
Frist let me say if you have never been to jamaica it would be a HUGE mistake not to go, the water and the weather seem as if it was custom set for you the beaches are more beautiful then you can imagine if you have seen pictures multiply that by 10 I've been twice to the same place and will be going back as soon as I can and as for the staff me and my thought they had mistaken us for someone famous lol we were treated that we'll this is a must for anyone I don't see how it would be possible to have a bad time here no way no how. IAM GOING BACK AS SOON AS I CAN FOR SURE
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from negril jamaica

jamaica get away

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Wow what a view we had from our third story corner balcony overlooking the ocean and facility. Best room I've ever stayed in ever. Will be back no doubt
5 out of 5
Recommended
by NICKMILANO2 from Columbia, SC

Great Trip

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Hotel met all of our expectations. Great food, lots of drinks and a beautiful beach. From visiting other resorts and talking to other couples this was a great deal. You will not find a better deal or beach in Jamaica. The entertainment staff was lots of fun, providing games, music, and events during our stay. This a great couples or family resort. I would and will come stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Bbaes1 from Newfane, NY

Beautiful beach and awesome staff!

Posted Oct 2, 2013
Staff was absolutely wonderful! So friendly and helpful, they ,are this one of the best vacations. Resort is very clean and beautiful. So was the beach and pool. Rooms were very clean, my only complaint is that the bed was two full beds pushed together. Was kind of annoying bc kept falling in crack. Food was wonderful! Would definitely go back and stay at this resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by WellSeasonedTraveler from Indiana, USA

This hotel had great food, great staff, great pools and a great beach.

Posted Dec 12, 2012
Pros: Free Internet, Quiet, beautiful long white sandy beach & turquoise water, great piano bar and very talented piano man!, the four specialty restaurants, friendliness of most of the staff
Cons: Nothing close, small pillows, loudness of activity director, not enough reggae music
Very beautiful property and very clean. All four restaurants had excellent food and service. The buffet was very good, although I am not a buffet person - would have preferred more grilled meats/seafood, veggies and salad (lighter fare). The bbq jerk chicken lunch was awesome! Would have enjoyed a reggae band more than the noisy daytime pool entertainment. Part of the cultural experience is the local music. Didn't much care for the stage shows either; however, the piano player in the piano bar was quite the local talent! Most of the staff was very personable and fun. Even though the bed pillows were a little small we slept really well!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by IslandGirl679

My over view room was exactly what I hoped for.

Posted Dec 7, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Free Internet, Quiet
The Riu Tropical Palace was an excellent choice for my stay in Negril. The junior suite was spacious & the bar was well stocked. The food was okay. I've had better at another resort. The staff was friendly, the overall atmosphere was peaceful. The stretch of beach along the resort property was perfect for swimming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Saverioweddingguest from California, USA

Great place for vacation but needs to have free wifi in rooms

Posted Aug 2, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Quiet, ambiance
Cons: No free Internet
WE were a huge group attending a wedding in the area and we enjoyed our stay and the entertainment, great food, drinks and excellent service in Jamaica;s Negril location. Definitely want to go back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jawaiian

Staff was courteous.

Posted Aug 1, 2012
Pros: great beach for swimming
Cons: free internet only available in the lobby.
Hotel keycard were not working which was the biggest downer. We had to attempt several times before we got a green light. Front's desk supervisor had to come and take care of it. Taxi cab drivers are nice. Negotiate rates early. Save some room in your check in luggage and buy your rum at the duty free shop at the airport when departing. It will save you lots of money. Just don't forget tocheck it in when you reach your US destination since you will go through another TSA bag check. Also, bring your bug juice.