Ratings based on 769 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Memphis, TN

Outstanding 2017 Vacation

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Clean; Maid service twice a day.
Cons: Nothing; maybe less mosquitoes.
Location: GREAT Location. Short drive to shopping, food, and night life.
The RIU Palace Tropical Bay was outstanding. From the staff, food and beach all was a wonderful and enjoyable experience. The Staff was helpful, friendly and always ready for a conversation with a smile. Food was plentiful and delicious with fresh fruit daily. The Beach was clean and relaxing, with clear warm waters, the perfect beach to relax and soak up the sun. Enjoyed walking the entire length of the beach every morning. LOOKING FORWARD TO RETURNING!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from New Jersey

Treated like Royalty at the Palace

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Expedia
Wonderful hotel with friendliest staff every time we go. The beach is fabulous and you are made to feel at home. Most relaxing vacation I've had in a long time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Los Angeles, Cali

Didn't want to part ways with this paradise!

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Expedia
I had an incredible experience staying at this hotel! Let's be real, no hotel is perfect. But if you're not the type of person who sweats the small stuff, you will have an amazing time. little issues such as a shower not working and having to move to another room, etc was just a minor thing for me because I had such an amazing time at this paradise. And the hotel staff and entertainers are one in a million! Amazing people, extremely talented, they really stuck with me when I left Jamaica. I will never forget them. Some of the employees here really go the extra mile to make someone happy ( like Cristoff at the front desk and David Stone and Mario in the dining area).. I loved the food. . They have some good curry goat and oxtail in the buffet some nights. For lunch, the best option is The Jerk chicken Hut, Mmm those thighs, so yummy it melts in your mouth. And all of the restaurants are delicious! The dishes are so innovative and unique! They have some amazing Lobster here. Last but not least, the bartenders are spectacular, especially the ones in the pool area. That dirty banana is killer!!! Love it! Oh and the Mojitos too! So don't be that uptight tourist. Get into that island mode, carefree, come on down and explore! You won't regret it! To every single employee that works here: I love you all so much. You are celestial. One of a kind. BEAUTIFUL SOULS. I'll be back to see you soon !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Boston

Wonderful hotel; amazing staff and beautiful beach

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Expedia
Pros: The staff was really the highlight, as well as the food, which we thought was very good (the buffet as well as the specialty restaurants).
Cons: Some reviews complained about the small pools and lack of shade umbrellas on the beach, but as we visited off peak, this was not a problem for us.
Location: We recommend the Scuba Caribe half day sunset cruise that goes to Nick's Cafe (cliff diving!) and snorkeling. The boat leaves right from the resort.
Our family (two parents and four adult children) had a great time! The location on the bay was great, and all the staff at the hotel (from the front desk, the groundskeepers, excellent housekeepers, attentive waiters at meal time, and energetic and friendly entertainment staff) were amazing. Special shout out to Damion, our breakfast server each day:). I would highly recommend this resort to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from charlotte, NC

Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Expedia
Great place, nice view, beach was very calm. Staff are very nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Miami, Florida

Nice Family Hotel

Posted Aug 13, 2017 on Expedia
Very friendly staff. Front office was understaffed and seemed disorganized. Lots of various people milling around in lobby that didn't seem to have a purpose there. Lobby and front office needs attention. Otherwise the food activities shows and staff was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Expedia
Gorgeous beach, helpful and pleaseant staff, good food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Ohio

Beautiful beach

Posted Aug 8, 2017 on Expedia
Pros: Location on the beach
Cons: Some staff members, especially around the pool and in Scuba Caribe could be more polite.
Location: Go to the cliffs for a day and to Mayfield and YS falls
Overall quite nice, some staff is unfriendly, outside décor reminiscent of a hospital, also they were painting all of the buildings. But the beach and ocean are great (just not for snorkeling), food was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Excellent Stay

Posted Aug 8, 2017 on Expedia
We have stayed there 3 times and each time it's better. Words can't describe the beach with its smooth waters no rocks. If your looking for a beach to chill this is it. Our room was emaculate no worries.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from new jersey

pretty good a little out dated service excellent

Posted Aug 6, 2017 on Expedia
Pros: the food was very good always fresh and the staff was amazing
Cons: pool could be kept cleaner through out the day the bathrooms were so far from the pool and beach..the bathrooms in the rooms are very small tubs tiny
hotel needs an upgrade...glad I came for the beach and not a pool cause the beach was incredibly beautiful.. the pool was disgusting didn't seem to have much filteration.. the staff was great and i mean great so kind and friendly always a pleasant experience