Ratings based on 768 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
by A traveler from US

Not what we expected

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: the beach
Cons: the vendors on the beach, the proximity to the main road, traffic noise which is clearly audible in the room even with the AC on & sliding doors shut.
Location: location is far from everything
We stayed in room 1203 which was close to everything but to get anywhere on site you had to climb/descend 36 steps each way. Most disappointing was our view. We asked for a Garden View but instead were on the main road overlooking it and the tennis courts. We felt like we were in a city with the traffic noise. The restaurants were ok nothing great. There is no room service. We were not given washcloths & hand towels for a couple of days. Doesn't seem like a big deal but for the price paid it shouldn't happen. Then we were reduced to 3 bath towels and told that was their rule. Our room had 4 towels upon arrival. Even the Holiday Inn sets out 4 towels. Never have we stayed in an AI where they ran out of towels or limited them. There were no toiletries provided as they state on their site except for a shampoo/cond. combo in the shower. Drinks in the fridge not replaced, so I found the cart and got sodas myself. The beach was beautiful! They really need to do something about the vendors because we couldn't enjoy walking the bay w/o constantly being bothered. I don't know what they do to the alcohol but you may as well drink water. The one caveat is the jerk chicken hut on the beach - BEST FOOD!! The people smoking/selling ganja didn't bother us - if you don't want it don't buy it. The staff for the most part were very nice. The worst issue is the smell of cat urine. I LOVE cats but the smell is heavy. Not much to do nearby and it's very $$ to get anywhere.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Family hotel not for singles

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Expedia
Location: Mothing aroundmit directly. You need a cabbride to get anywhere good
- Beach ; terrible, it was my second stay and the beach is full of weed. It gotten worse over 3 years. I'd look up hotels on the 7 miles beach instead. - Lots of families, weddings, couples, not great for singles. - Food is good, lots of variety. Staff really works hard to make you happy in restaurants. - Staff; most are nice, some had attitude. Their room key system has issues, and they werent very happy about it. - Pool bar; there is only one, disgusting. Inspite of their constant effort to clean it, it always had dirt floating around the bar, lots of bees - got stung hy one- - Hot tub / Jacuzzi; after two stays, more then 10!days, I found their hidden Jacuzzi, younhave ti got through a maze to get to it, but its there.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Destination wedding

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
It was pleasant. However, the main restaurant had too many flies and birds flying around. The food at the buffet spaces, were uncovered. Disappointed with the flies in the glasses on the tables. Glasses, cups should have been turned down until the individuals start eating. Overall, would not recommend or return to this resort.
1 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2016 on Hotels
The room was nasty and no one had any time to listen , all was said was sorry.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from DC

Hotel not what I expected

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Expedia
The staff was just okay. Nothing excellent or outstanding regarding the hotel facilities. The staff seems confused and there seem to be a high staff turn over which is not good. The food was okay and the entertainment good. The person Marcia who was handling our room was excellent. We are clean freaks. Overall okay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Puerto Rico

Wedding in Negril

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Expedia
Good food, excellent service. I missed the body lotion and body wash in the bathroom. Also the coffee maker.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from NY

Nice hotel close to the beach .

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Expedia
Room was close to beach and lobby.Nightly entertainment.Specialty restaurant was great.No more reservations for them.It was done on first come ,first serve basis .Two sittings 630p and 830p daily.All staff were wo nderful.Will go back in a heart beat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from north miami beach

Hotel staff friendliness and courtesy

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Expedia
Overall pretty positive experience. Room pretty spacious. Variety of food choices well prepared and served.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Los Angeles

The rooms are almost on the beach.

Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: the people who works there, from the front desk to the bartenders to the room cleaning are very very nice and polite.
Cons: Food ,food food and maybe the beds cleaned from bed bugs.
Location: the location is a little far from the airport and the road is not very pleasant for the trip. This time I didn't set my foot out of the resort.
this hotel is very close to the beach; the employees are very nice and polite; very customer oriented and try to help you in anyway possible. the food is good but has room for improvement; the variety of food is very limited, it's almost the same every day.Went to the italian restaurant,"Luigi", the food was really mediocre. the bars are good but the quality of the alcoholic beverages are "standard"; the tequila tastes like out of industrial alcohol company. Looks like the bartenders have to work with whatever the management gives them ; overall the drinks are not so great. it doesn't mean I didn't have few drinks every day but wasn't so great. The hotel is pretty clean; the beaches are cleaned every day the beach towels , somehow old and with holes in them, were clean. I think I had bed bugs in my bed. this is my second trip to Riu Negril, first one was in 2008, and my overall impression is good. 8 years ago the food and drinks were a little better; it doesn't mean that I won't visit this hotel again if i had the opportunity. The general manager and the food manager and the chef were extremely friendly and service oriented. I've been in Ocho Rios Riu and in Mexico not in Riu. If I have to choose I'll choose Riu Negril, even with the bed bugs.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Michigan

Not worth the money

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: I love the beautiful view. The lay out is nice. I had a room with ocean view. I love the location of the resort. very comfortable beds.
Cons: The staff needs to take customer service lessons. They need a reminder that without customers you have no job. they need to work on more amenities.
Location: It wasn't far from Rick's cafe. Which is a major attraction. You can cliff dive here, get great food, hear nice music, and be treated nicely.
I didn't enjoy my stay. I've been to all inclusive resorts and they offer you all sorts of things to do for the amount of money you spend. This resort offers you nothing but a bunch of pools. No excursions, no sail boat rides unless you already know how to sail, otherwise it's 20USD. No glass bottom boat ride. No snorkeling. Just nothing. The front desk staff is rude and has no customer service. We had to unload our bags and load them up. The waitresses seemed unhappy and barely said a word to me. My first maid seem as if I asked for a million dollars when I asked for water. My second maid had more personality and was warm and friendly. She got a huge tip from me. I went to sports bar to get my daily fix of coffee, one of the guys was overly nice, the other said nothing and served me warm coffee. My overall experience, this was the worst resort I've been too and I don't plan on coming back, unless major changes are done. The food was horrible. always dried out and overcooked. They serve Jamaican food once a week. Rest of the time is American food. I come from USA to eat food that I can get anywhere in USA... how disappointing! Way over priced for what you get, which is nothing. I hate being negative, but I hate for someone to go to this place and expect it to be like other resorts... it's not! I had someone planning a trip to Jamaica at the end of the month, they asked should they book there, I told them no, go up the street you will find better hotels for your money.