Ratings based on 1,952 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rachel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A traveler

Pictures are deceiving.

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Location was great, lots of fun stuff to do, everything is overpriced.
People were getting their rooms who arrived hours after we did, the front desk suggested that we go eat at the buffet while we were waiting. When we arrived at the buffet, I was soo disappointed, the salad bar portion of the buffet was very gross, the rest of the buffet was OK at best. They tried to give me a room overlooking the roof that connects both towers, we looked out the balcony, the main part of our view would have been building B, which has rust bleeding down from the balconies, old crusty paint, and scaffolding around the whole top edge of the building, we also got the pleasure of being able to see the top of the roof that connected the 2 buildings, which had not been cleaned since they probably opened, the view was gross, when I complained, they wanted me to pay extra to get a different room, even though I had already paid extra through Travelocity to get an oven view, they finally gave me a better room when I told them that I was refusing to check in. Make sure you are one of the first to get to the buffet, it looks like 10 miles of bad road after an hour, the food was just OK at best, the elevators broke down twice, even when both were working, they are very slow, the rooms smell musty, this place was built in 1968 and it shows, I would not go back if the trip was free of charge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Los Angeles

Nice hotel, lots of food, lots of drinks

Posted Oct 30, 2015
Cons: lower your prices on the wifi, we payed for all inclusive stay, and wifi no included .... that is sad. :(
Location: the local craft shops .. those people pressure you so much to buy souvenirs.... they charged me 11 american dollars for a crappy bracelet . haggle!!!
This was my first time to Jamaica, we stayed at this all inclusive hotel, everything was included like water activities such as snorkeling (they give you goggles and a mouth piece) and kayaking. Hotel was nice and the staff was all really kind. Jamaica is expensive. 1 US dollar is the equivalent of ~115 Jamaican dollars.... i bouth like 10 shirts and a couple of other little souvenirs for the family and it was more than 150 dollars... so bring money if you want to enjoy a nice stay. the tours were awesome, expensive as well and the packages seemed limited. but they were fun. dont rent a car. its too confusing to drive on the left side of the road like in England, you'll get lost or worse get in a car accident.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from new york

Lovely view

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: The view from my room and the changes made for dinner to have the view of the town in the background . The staff were friendly, courteous
Cons: The choices of food
Location: Great location
Front desk staff who checked my family in was very mannerly, pleasant, and smiling face. The only draw back was the elevators were old, slow and jumps. The food can be more upscale and a better choice of fish. Need more variety of food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Melbourne, FL

Vacationing at Sunset Beach, Montego Bay, Jamaica

Posted Oct 22, 2015
Pros: Everything! The sunsets/rises are the most beautiful I have ever seen!
Cons: Add Jamaican patties to the Beach Grill. It would be nice to be able to make reservations at the restaurant instead of first come, first serve.
Location: Dunn's River falls, Y S Falls, the Appleton factory, shopping on the hip-strip. Some of these places may take an hour or less to get to.
My family and I have returned to this hotel many times (some as minimal as 5 times and others as many as 12 times). The hotel staff is so inviting from the lobby, bartenders to the housekeepers. They are always so friendly and willing to please. They can help you with any request or need. My favorite place is the large, breezy lobby. The restaurant's food presentation makes you feel like you are dining at a high classed, expensive restaurant. The food is very good. The snorkeling is the best right behind the hotel. The nightly shows are wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Randy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mark Ryan from Long Island NY

Awful

Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Hotels
My wife and I attended a wedding at the resort, but unfortunately we stayed at Sandals Royal Carribean before we stayed at Sunset Beach Resort and Spa. The food was horrible in comparison and the staff seemed bothered to help with any request at all. If you are looking for a nice vacation skip this resort and spend a few extra dollars to stay at Sandals. Everything is taken care of there from the hotel shuttles, food, high end liquor, etc..... The workers at sunset beach expect tips, and everything seems to cost you extra money (even the shuttle to and from the airport). Also, my wife and I had dominos pizza delivered to us there, because the food was that terrible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from philadelphia, pa

Great family hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2015 on Expedia
Wonderful hotel, great food, all inclusive, great staff, awesome price
1 out of 5
by A traveler from New York

Renovations

Posted Oct 8, 2015 on Expedia
The hotel is under new ownership and doing renovations. I was not informed when I made the reservation. There was noise day and night. Elevators were malfunctioning and out of order. Bags of cement and loose bricks lying around, scaffolding and caution signs all over the place. The hotel should not have been open for business. It is a huge safety and health hazzard with dust flying around. The food portions were sparce and the staff said because this is not slow but a "dead" season they do not stock or prepare as much food. I have had better Caribbean food in New York and the Aisian beef was raw! The manager and staff apologized but as it was our last night, there was no time to upgrade our meal plan. Several guests made the same complaints and one party left and changed hotels.