Ratings based on 1,808 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Long Island, NY

Great vacation getaway spot

Posted Nov 22, 2016
My wife and I had a great time at the RIU Ocho Rios Hotel. We did lots of exciting things like horseback riding, swimming on the beach, swimming in the pools everything was great. The food at each restaurant way great. I would recommend the experience to anyone that wanted to go there, they would have a great time.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from Bronx, NY

1.5 star hotel at the price for a 4 stars hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: I liked the fact that the beach was close to the hotel.
Cons: The owner should fired 95% of its staff. The rooms needs to be updated with new bedding, fresh pain and remove that moldy smell. Food was not tasty.
Location: The locating of the hotel is good since it is closed to Mystic Mountain, Dum's river, and other attractions.
At arrival to the hotel, the front desk people were not friendly and lack of information for hotel guests. Our room had a strong moldy smell. The room curtains and and chairs had black mold on them. That horrible smell was transferred to our luggage and clothes. The food had no taste. It seems that the cooks never went to culinary schools. All the meat has no flavor and they were hard to chew. The specialty restaurants were all buffet. Food was cold most of the time, and most male waiters were unfriendly. I was expecting more from this hotel considering it had a good rating in Expedia. Go to another hotel.
5 out of 5
by Glen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Queens NY

Not like the first time !

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Expedia
I had a wonderfully stay..... I know there's a new chef because when I stayed at the RIU 6 years ago the food was much better ! All the tours were wonderful and adventurous. Jamaicans can drive !
5 out of 5
by A traveler from south Carolina

Great resort

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Expedia
Everything was wonderful . Except the check in desk was so long and it took over an hour to get checking to our room. Also door keys don't work... in one week had to call front desk everyday to open or lock our room with Master key. Lights kept going out during storm.... elevator was out for three days
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Great location and all inclusive, but it's....

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Expedia
It's almost as if they're trying to do too much. The location and rates are pretth fair. ESPECIALLY cause of the view. There's just a few things that didn't sit right with me: 1. The room was cool but I had to turn the fan on to feel cooler if that makes sense. Also the furniture including the bed felt mildly moist. Now I know you're thinking that it's The Carribean and it's the weather, but nope. I stayed in Kingston also and other hotels and felt as cool as a polar bear. 2. Had to ask for a lock for my safe and it was, let's just not the most secure. 3. I was there for 4 days, the elevator worked the first day and that was it. I kept hearing that it was "getting worked one". Overall not bad, the staff was really pleasent. But I'd probably rethink staying there next time.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Expedia
It was very nice, but the customer service wasn't
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Bronx, NY

Nice, but flies over the food

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Enjoyed the hotel. Flies were all over the food, that was disgusting.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Ok hotel, close to the beach

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: The variety of food, bar staff very friendly. The staff in the large buffet area very attentive...
Cons: Housekeeping services, and wifi for all paying customers throughout the facility.
1. Room not ready until almost 4pm. We had already killed 2 hours waiting until checkin at 3pm. We were so jet lagged and tired, we sat in the room with the housekeeper cleaning it. We just wanted to sleep. No early check in, unacceptable.. 2. Was told to leave our bags at the desk and they would be delivered to our room. After 2 calls around 7-8 pm, no delivery. Bags found in the same spot we were told to leave them I'm the lobby. We brought them up ourselves. 3. While finally sleeping off our jet lag, someone from house keeping opened our door without permission, unacceptable. 4. Very difficult to get towels. If your housekeeping you clean and leave fresh towels. No, we had to call and ask for towels to shower with, unacceptable. 5. Day two, after our room had been cleaned and no towels left, someone from housekeeping opened our door again while we're in bed and says, "oh somebody is in there." I don't know what that was about but I wasn't happy. Attempt to speak with management and he always seem to be in a meeting or not there until after 6pm, how convenient. 6. Wifi in the lobby only, not good. With the amount of money this establishment takes in, there should be free wifi for all throughout the facility, not just for the ones who stayed in a suite, not fair.
4 out of 5
by Cecile

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels