Ratings based on 1,559 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Maryland

Hotel is on the beach

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Pros: The cleanseness and the decoration.
Cons: Make it more wheelchair accasseble. It was hard to push a wheelchair up and down the slopes from the elevator to the dining area. Have a kettle-tea.
Location: We shoppedA.
The food was fabulous, many dishes to choose from. Everyone was catered for. The staff were friendly and very professional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from FL

Nice Hotel... Food and service are great!

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Friendly staff, great food! Nice hotel in general just need more pool shows or activities to have fun
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Hazlet, NJ

Nice Hotel right on the beach

Posted May 30, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Hotel was beautiful and the pool is huge with a great pool bar. Loved watching the dancers-they sure can dance!
Cons: We booked an excursion for the Dunn's River Falls w/a rep from Expedia for Monday. Only to find out it was cancelled w/no phone call to advise us.
Location: Dunn's River Falls is literally 10 mins away. Great fun if you can climb up the falls. Tubing was 1/2 hr. away. Great fun, highly recommend it.
Just got back from Riu in Ocho Rios. The hotel is beautiful, right on the beach. We had a junior suite with beach views and pool view. The room was very comfortable and bigger than expected. As far as the restaurants are concerned, we didn't try any of them-lines were too long to get reservations. Ate at the buffet-which was very good. Alot to offer. Also try the Jerk Shack ( I think that's the name) its right on the beach.The shows were awesome w/some very talented dancers. After the shows they interact with the audience to keep the party going. Had a great time at the beach party. Had a steel band and fire show.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted May 29, 2015 on Expedia
we had a great time at riu. we stayed in a junior suite. the room was nice and a good size, enough space to put everything away and feel homey. the food was decent and there was entertainment nightly if you felt like it. staff was very friendly and not intrusive at all. little patio was great, felt very private sitting out there. i have two comments about the room. neither are meant too negatively just things i noticed. the bed could have been a little softer, it was on the hard side for me. the bathroom was a little disappointing. the toilet pipes were really loud and the shower could use a few upgrades, no light in the shower and the curtain didn't allow too much in, shower head was really basic. overall i loved my stay. i would go back or stay at other locations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from oRLANDO FL

AWESOME VACATION TO A BEAUTIFUL ISLAND

Posted May 28, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: THE HOTEL WAS VERY NICE. OPEN AIR LOBBY AND BARS. THERE WERE ABOUT 5-7 BUILDINGS SEVERAL POOLS ABOUT 3 RESTAURANTS, COMEDY THEATER, CLUB.
Cons: UPDATED ROOMS.
Location: LOCATION WAS GREAT. ABOUT 10 MINUTES FROM DUNNS RIVER FALLS. WE DID NOT VENTURE OUT OF THE RESORT EXCEPT TO GO TO DUNNS RIVER.
THE HOTEL WAS GREAT. I HAVE 2 YOUNGER CHILDREN AND THEY THOUROUGHLY ENJOYED THEIR STAY. THERE IS A LARGE POOL AND ANOTHER FOR ADULTS. THERE ARE ACTIVITIES THROUGH THE DAY FOR THE ADULTS AND THE CHILDREN. IT IS AN ALL INCLUSIVE AND THE RESTAURANTS WERE GREAT. WE ATE AND DRANK AND DID NOT HAVE ISSUES WITH ANY OF THE FOOD OR DRINKS. YOU TIP GENEROUSLY AND YOUR DRINKS WILL BE MUCH TO STRONG TO REMEMBER YOU TIPPED ALREADY. THE FACILITIES WERE CLEAN, THE GYM WAS ADEQUATE AND HAD ENOUGH EQUIPMENT TO KEEP ME BUSY. THE BEACH.....WOW, THE BEACH WAS AWESOME. PALM TREES, BARBCUE ON THE BEACH AT NOON, CALM WATERS, KAYAKS, CATAMARANS FREE JUST A 20 FEE TO LEARN HOW TO USE THEM, AFTER THAT NO CHARGE THE ENTIRE STAY. THE PEOPLE WERE GREAT, ALWAYS A NICE ATMOSPHERE. NIGHT TIME COMEDY AND SHOW WAS DECENT. THE PEOPLE WERE GREAT AND WE ARE DEFINATELY RETURNING TO THIS HOTEL AS THE EXPERIENCE WAS GREAT, BIG ENOUGH TO NOT MISS ANYTHING OUTSIDE, AND THE FOOD AND AMENITIES WERE GREAT.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Henry from Nj

Excellent

Posted May 28, 2015 on Hotels
It was good. Looking forward to retuning
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Atlanta, GA

Awesome!

Posted May 27, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Well organized so that we stayed entertained.
Cons: None.
Location: I did not leave the resort grounds as it was a short. There was enough to do at the resort itself.
Beautiful beach, delicious food and last but not least warm, friendly staff. They made us feel at home. Ye mon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

enjoyed myself

Posted May 26, 2015 on Expedia
Huge hotel! Staff was amazing all around Pool and beach were amazing as well Awesome views Great nightly shows , we enjoyed every 1 every night of our stay ROOMS not as nice as I thought being that I was "upgraded" to the junior suite I wasn't 100% pleased but the room was nice I really enjoyed the food several nights the Cuisine did feature to my interpretation "authentic" Jamaica food The only thing I can say bad about this experience is that the distance from the airport to the hotel was longer than I would have liked which made the price for the commute a bit expensive.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from south florida

OverRated

Posted May 26, 2015 on Expedia
The best part of this hotel is the beach, PLEASE NOTE there is no wifi in the rooms unless u pay for it, if u stay in the adult section u lucky, for every1 else u get 90 mins free in the lobby and that is to be used right away or else u lose it and u wud hav to wait til the nx day For another 90mins free. Please ask questions b4 u do anyting or else u wud b charged wit a bill, food is boring, i stayed 4 nites and by the 4th nite i was going crazy seeing the same food over n over, elevators have no AC and no emergency call, if u get stuck ur dead.the floors can get very slippery wen it rains so be careful.Some staff members are absolutely rude, u dont have much to do at the hotel so prepare to rent a car and head outside the area to do something else much more exciting, the rooms are not dirty they just smell terrible, musky, old, weedy, moldy, and well funky, try using those words and put in ur thoughts to figure out what ur really gonna smell. There r very few bathrooms to use outside of ur hotel room, u hav to walk a gd way b4 u find a washroom, the drinks at the bar taste watered down, they barely put a ounce of alcohol in ur drink, so u get more juice or soda than alcohol and im not a big drinker but i can def taste the difference, personally i wud not stay at this hotel, ive been to jamaica b4 n stayed elsewhere, at the pallidum, wasnt too happy there but rather pallidum than riu, nx time i go bak to jam i wud try another hotel until i find the vacation spot for my fam
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from wilmington, de

Posted May 26, 2015 on Expedia
Beautiful resort, good food, very friendly staff and clean comfortable room. Highly recommend