Ratings based on 1,736 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Ok hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Expedia
The view was good but the waitress was a bit rude!!!
1 out of 5
by A traveler from Florida

Not 5 star, old, and dirty rooms, same food daily!

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Free drinks. Good location.
Cons: Incorporate Jamaican food into the meals. No patties, no bun and cheese, no festival, and only a little sawfish in the aki. The shower is tiny!
Location: Scotchies restaurant, Dunn's river falls: climb, Mystic mountain: bobsled and zipline.
The resort advertises itself as five star so we booked expecting at least a reasonable level of comfort considering the pictures didn't look 5 star luxurious. We chose an ocean view, but our only view was of the front and other side of the building. The room smelled like it hadn't been used in months and the bed was so hard it made my wife's hip hurt by morning and she is young and athletic.We requested a change to what we paid for and were told our room is considered ocean view because ocean view is a category and not an indication of the view itself and that ocean Front is the room with an ocean view. We were told we would have to check out by noon and our new ocean Front room would be ready by 2pm. People around us were getting free upgrades, included people in the group we came with. So we requested the same upgrade and the manager quoted us a price, which we said we would pay for, only for her to simply refuse to give it to us. Took an extra 1.5 hours for our room to be ready. Even then we had to get towels from a friend because they still didn't have that available and they were making us late for a 4pm wedding we needed to get ready for. Both the tv in the old and new room were not flat screens like they show in the website, they were old tube televisions. Our room keys were actual turn and lock keys not keycards! The new bed was just as hard! Wifi didn't work like they said it would. Even in our new room on their highest floor we could barely see ocean! See photos!
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Puyallup, WA

Great family resort

Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: The staff was great!! The evening shows were wonderful and worth waiting for tey have some very talented staff.
Cons: The Food..... I did not starve,but most food was VERY bland... the fruit I expected to be ripe and sweet but is was unripe and hard.
Location: Location was good,lots to do near by only a 10-15 min taxi to dolphins, dunns river falls and the blue hole. all worth seeing.
Our overall experince was great!! 2 adults and 2 kids(12/14). the kids were never board and loved the water and all the sea life they could see just snorkeling in front of the resort. the activies staff was always fun to be around!! the rooms were clean a little outdated. the beds werre comfortable with the exeption of we had 2 doubles they were 2 doubles pushed together, not the best for a family of 4.
4 out of 5
by Camila

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Los Angeles, CA

The Adventure

Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Expedia
When they say checkin time is at 3, boy is that no lie. Not fun arriving a few hours early and gave to wait with your bags or if you want to leave your bags off to the side if checkin line, be aware no one is monitoring your stuff. Thought I was getting a $35 spa credit per my booking with Expedia, but it was never mentioned to me and no voucher was given. Decided to see what the spa had to offer since we had to kill time and quite frankly it's very small, no spa like feel, and ridiculously over priced - so $35 wasn't going to do much anyways. Finally saw the room and what a disappointment. This hotel is not classy at all, mattress was dirty and uncomfortable, no venting in the bathroom, toilet didn't flush on first go around, narrow tub. Mini fridge is stocked and only restocked every other day. No flat screen tv and horrible reception. Oh and this whole free WiFi thing, yeah that's only in the lobby, not in your room. Housekeeping wants to clean your room by 10am and will knock once and already be opening the door so be decent. Food was mediocre-nothing special. The only thing I give this place is that the grounds and beach are beautiful, is crowded so no real seclusion here but nevertheless beautiful. So if you are going to Jamaica to chillax and are not concerned with comfort and looks of hotel room and restaurants then this place is great and in a good location from best attraction in town - Dunnes River Falls. I wouldn't spend over $500 for a five night stay though.
5 out of 5
by A traveler from WV

Everything in one place. Don't need to leave.

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Expedia
Wonderful resort. Great beaches. Staff very courteous and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Expedia
My experience at the RIU Ocho Rios was awesome. The staff were great and friendly, this hotel is amazing and more. They have all these events and activities all day and the breath taking ocean so beautiful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and I'm looking forward to my next trip there in December.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from new jersey

Great beach. Not so good for families.

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Expedia
When we arrived we were greeted with lots of instructions but not a friendly hello. The room was okay. Booked an ocean view Deluxe Junior Suite. There was a huge palm tree right in front of balcony, so no really view of ocean. Virtually impossible to book a table at the sit down restaurants. I called three days ahead to try and make a reservation for dinner because it was my son's birthday. They said they couldn't do it until we arrived but that they would bring a piece of cake to our room. When we for there at 1:30 pm they said there were no settings available. When I explained the situation they did not really care. When I tried to get him a piece of cake at the buffet later that evening, the waitress said I needed to go to reception to get a voucher from them for the cake! Ridiculous. Forgot to mention that we had to wait almost two hours for our room upon arrival. I think that is a bit extreme. Check out was also a nightmare. Took forever and again nothing nice to say to us, so overall poor customer service. The buffet was very good for such a large hotel. Never a problem finding a table. If you are a wine drinker, forget it. Had to pay extra for a good bottle of wine. I realize it is all inclusive, but the wine was so sugary most people would not be able to handle it. Some of the bartenders were really friendly, but others treated you like you were bothering them. Not a good feeling. Really couldn't believe how rude some of the staff were.
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Newyork !

Amazing !!

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Expedia
Beautiful !!! I loved everything about the hotel from the scenery , the staff , the cleanliness , & the spa really took the cake !!! Lol lets just say I already booked Riu again for next year and I told my boyfriend this is where I want to get married !
3 out of 5
by A traveler from VT

Beautiful white ,soft,sandy beach

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: The beautiful,clean sandy beach, the drinks
Cons: Some cabanas for shade on the beach, working hand dryers in the rest rooms. More specialty restaurants as you are very limited to what you can go to.
Location: It is one & one half hour from the airport, tubing, zip lining, big flea market in town
The place was huge-easy to get lost, tons of mostly good food, great drinks.. We spent 18 plus hours getting home as they put us on the early bus.The Rio is a little outdated. The entertainment was mostly all Jamician - variety would be nice. The casino is a joke-it is tiny.Most of staff friendly,helpful.