Ratings based on 117 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.8 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Portsmouth,Virgina

One Happy Couple from Portsmouth Virginia

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Everything was nice. The hotel grounds was breath taking. The two huge pools were awesome!!!! The hotel had two beautiful beaches. One was a natural beach, and the other was man made.. Guess which one we went to the most?(The natural one) The property also had a shopping center were you can get all your souvenirs at a great price and yes, you can negotiate. That was the fun part :). One more thing for those people who are adventurous. There is also a nude beach on the property. The hotel is kid friendly and smoke free :). For all you smokers there are a few smoking designated area where you can light up. The food was delicious. There was about six or seven restaurants to choose from and three of those were buffes.Be prepared for alot of walking, which is good for you :) In conclusion the hotel was awesome!!!!!
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Had to waiit almost 4 hours for my room some of the staff very rude smart mouthed I was trying to remain calm but I was very frustrated I didn't get in my room until 6 pm Jamaican time I felt like 1 whole day of my vacation was wasted by sitting in the lobby they suggested another room by a construction site that was loud ands terrible view while I was waiting another gentleman came to complain 5 times saying he had no towels and his toilet wasn't working the night before and no one came to fix it until 11:30 pm another lady complained that something was missing from her room and they had to refer her to security and the only reason why I know this is because I heard all this waiting in the hot lobby for 4 miserable hours
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Rivera

Awesome

Posted Aug 17, 2015
I had a great time, and I would go back. everyone was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from New York

Beautiful resort for a fun getaway trip!

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Cons: The elevator broke down for about 1.5 days of our stay and we had to climb 5 stories to get to our room. Air conditioning could be stronger!
Location: Dunn River Falls and Dolphin Cove are definitely worth going to! Only 30 minutes from the resort.
I stayed at the Grand Bahia for 5 days in July, 2015 with my sister and cousin. The resort was beautiful! The pool is enormous and the swim up bar is amazing. The staff was extremely friendly. The food was pretty good at the buffet and the a la carte restaurants were phenomenal! The alcoholic drinks were delicious and they bartenders usually made them with a decent amount of liquor (they didn't cheap out). The resort is overall beautiful. There is a wide selection of open beach to go swimming which is only a short walk from the hotel. The resort did not feel crowded and it was very clean. This was my first all inclusive trip, and I was nervous about finding a good hotel that was clean, safe, and enjoyable. I would say that the Grand Bahia Principe definitely went beyond my expectations.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from atlanta

Bring your own wash cloth

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Cons: get more wash clots and staffing
This was my second visit to this resort and I was very disappointed, on arrival after traveling for over 12 hours got to the hotel there was no wash clot I waited in the room about an hour and four phone call later and no wash cloth, I had to take a shower without a wash cloth on day one. Three days later and multiple phones calls, I went as high as a supervisor who told the person that was helping me that he did not have time to deal with my issue she should handle it. I started to raise my voice in the lobby ( 3 DAYS LATER AFTER TAKING SHOWERS WITHOUT WASH CLOT) someone brought 2 wash cloth for me and my husband.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Ohio

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Took my adult children for a long weekend. The resort is beautiful, the views are great, the grounds well-maintained. We loved the swimming beach and the jerk chicken at the grill. There is a lot of walking involved because of the size of the grounds. Get your pool towels early because they run out and don't replenish regularly during the day!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler

Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Vacation March 2015.

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: The location, beaches, bars, cleanliness, and the food.
Cons: More towels in the rooms and some top shelf liquors at the bars.
Location: There are plenty of excursions like, Ocho Rios, Dunn River Fall, Dolphin Cove, Bob Marley Experience. etc.. Local restaurants, shopping
Our stay at the Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica was great. My wife and I had an excellent time on our stay March 2015 and hope to return. We loved it. The staff was very pleasant, the food was delicious and the beaches was awesome, could use some more beach chairs during the busy seasons. We had a great time at the snack bar, Chris and the rest of the staff was awesome. We ate a lot, drank a lot, smoked it, relaxed on the beach, experienced the nude beach, and swam in the blue tropical waters. The party boat to Dunn River falls, Blue Lagoon tour, and the Bob Marley experience was great, a must do for everyone. Hope to return soon. Thanks, Sobie & Prea.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Chicago

Relaxing and enjoyable getaway

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Large comfortable rooms. Open and inviting public areas. Beautiful beaches with comfortable and plentiful lounge chairs
Cons: Food and restaurants. Food was OK but not inspired. Reservations for speical dinner restaurants were VERY hard to get, seemingly on purpose.
Location: We took a reft trip and loved everything about it. It was interesting to see what the inner island was like once you left the beach.
We were blessed with perfect weather. Hotel, beaches,and grounds were beautiful. We took a bamboo raft trip down a rainforest river and really felt at one with the island. Captain of raft was interesting and informative. I would reccommend this trip to everyone.
2 out of 5
by Table4Two from Florida

First and Last Trip to Gran Bahia

Posted Oct 25, 2013
Jamaica is a beautiful country. It's such a shame that our experience at this resort did not match our expectations of a relaxing vacation in paradise. We did enjoy the beautiful beach (on the far side) and mountain views. The grounds are also very beautiful and well-kept. The resort is clearly showing wear, but we would've forgiven that had the staff been friendlier. They weren't necessarily rude, but more indifferent. there were a few exceptions, such as some of the wait staff in the Orchid buffet restaurant. The sales ladies always wore smiles, but we didn't want to be bothered with a sales pitch on vacation. Check-in was pretty unremarkable, but our issues started right away. Immediately after check-in, we called to request a new room when we discovered that our "view" was of a concrete slab. The sheets on the bed were also stained. We were told that the advantage of that room was the hot tub, to which we said no thanks (we are not fans of water-borne bacteria/disease). We were asked to check availability of a new room in the morning, so we sprayed the sheets with our travel can of Lysol and slept in an unstained corner of the bed. We were accommodated the next day, but the new room had damp sheets and bedding, which smelled of mildew. The smell was not slight or faint either. We requested new sheets when we came in from dinner that night and changed them ourselves. The food was okay and so was the entertainment. We had dinner at Mikado one night, which was above average. I enjoyed the Jamaican heritage dance show on Saturday night. Still, neither my boyfriend nor I felt like we were on vacation. We had a great time spotting cool sea life and swimming in the ocean (which is why we gave it 2 stars), but our experience wasn't so great back at the ranch. If I could sum up the feeling, I'd say we felt like the resort staff's pesky house guests. I'm told that we Americans set too high a bar, but I don't think clean sheets and friendly service is too much to ask. Maybe it was the color of our bracelets? Nonetheless, we will visit Jamaica again but we will be staying elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Charlett from Toronto, ON, Canada

Absolutely Stunning!!

Posted Sep 22, 2013
My husband and I went to this resort for a one week vacation and to attend a wedding. The lobby is breath-taking and the grounds are stunning, a 5 star resort all the way!! The staff are friendly and try to make you happy at all times. The golden club staff are the best and resolve any issues immediately. We are planning to make this resort our home resort in all future Jamaica travel. The suites are also equally beautiful and very clean. The food is the best on the island, be prepared to gain weight!!