Ratings based on 4,956 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Midwest US

Great hotel, great location, friendly staff

Posted Aug 19, 2017 on Expedia
Pros: The staff and location. Our room was on the 9th floor, away from the elevator, and quiet.
Cons: Get rid of the silly resort fee, and refit the rooms.
Location: Midtown location, steps from the Empire State Building and Grand Central Terminal - which is handy for a quick bite while you are sightseeing.
My wife and I have stayed at the Shelburne a couple times now. The staff were a delight, and the the hotel is in an ideal location to explore the city. Room was a decent size. In general, we would not hesitate to stay here again if the situation warranted, though we would be wary of the resort fee, especially if our stay was longer than a few days. We did have to ask to have hand soap put in the bathroom when we checked in (there wasnt any), but that was minor Two minor nits - The first is the rooms themselves - they are a *bit* tired. Not overly so, but they could do with a refurb. (This is minor, as the rooms were not that bad.) The second is the "resort fee" that you likely wont hear about until you get there. Its approximately $25/day. For that, you get a 1 hr wine 'happy hour' each day, $10 each day in credit at a modestly overpriced minishop downstairs (which you lose if you dont use), and wifi. We felt it wasnt worth it, and does not provide good value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by Office Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Just Us, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay. The hotel facility fee has become common in NYC. Here at the Shelburne we do our best to add amenities for our guest to enjoy. We look forward to welcoming you back. Warmest regards, Kristina Perez Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Expedia
This hotel was a pleasant experience for myself and others travelling with me. We were impressed with the hotel staff and the condition of the hotel. I have stayed in many NYC hotels and this was one of the better hotels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by Office Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Kristina Perez
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Expedia
Ideal location near GCS. Room was larger than NYC standards. Staff were helpful and followed up with a call when room was ready. Would stay here again. Recommend to families. Rare restaurant attached to hotel served good brunch at reasonable price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by Office Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Kristina Perez
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
over rating this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for your rating. We hope to welcome you back. Warmest regards, Kristina Perez Office Manager
5 out of 5
by Candace

Posted Aug 17, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017
Dear Ms. Candace, Thank you for your five star review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back. Warmest regards, Kristina Perez Office Manager
5 out of 5
by Jan

Posted Aug 17, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017
Dear Jan, Thank you for your 5 star review. We look forward to welcoming you back. Warmest regards, Kristina Perez Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Personal

Posted Aug 17, 2017 on Expedia
Pros: everything
Cons: larger room
Location: location is good and accessable
Convenient,comfortable and it satisfied all our needs
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by Office Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Kristina Perez
4 out of 5
by Annette

Comfortable

Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
We just got back from performing and we were accommodated quickly by the concierge at that late morning, she was very gracious. The room was clean, the bed was comforting. I would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017
Dear Ms. Annette, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Kristina Perez Office Manager
5 out of 5
by thomas

Go to hotel

Posted Aug 12, 2017 on Hotels
Good hotel for the $
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017
Dear Thomas, Thank you for your five star review. We look forward to welcoming you back. Warmest regards, Kristina Perez Office manager
5 out of 5
by Matthew

Posted Aug 12, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017
Dear Matthew, Thank you for your five star review. Warmest regards, Kristina Perez Office Manager