Ratings based on 379 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2017
The rooms are large but very outdated. Our room was kept clean with plenty of towels, but it was obvious that it's a very old hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Chicago area

Friendly resort right on the beach

Posted Mar 21, 2017
My neice , daughter and I (60, female ) we're nervous about spending a Spring Break in Miami but this resort was far enough away from the craziness to be very relaxing. Every member of the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful with a king bed and pull out couch that slept us all comfortably. And the pool was about 100 steps from the clean private beach. Chairs and hut type cabanas were available . On the downside the traffic is pretty heavy - took 30 minutes to get to the airport - but Miami is huge so I guess that comes with the territory. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from ATL USA

Nice stay if you don't need Wi-Fi

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Location! Right on the beach, next to a great pier, across the (busy!) street from lots of strip mall shops.
Cons: Wi-Fi, without a doubt. The TV service was from the 1990s but we didn't go to Miami to watch TV. Had some noise from Spring Breakers but ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Location: That Russian deli across the street was pleasant surprise. I mean of course the local flair was fun but we didn't expect to shop at a Russian bodega.
First-time visitors to Miami, of course, DO need wi-fi to help plan their trip. I cannot stress how frustrating this was. There is literally zero signal in the rooms or even at the pool, and we were there 5 days / 4 nights. But getting that out of the way, this hotel was in a beautiful location, we had fantastic weather, and the house staff kept our room in great shape.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Nice Hotel, Loud Lobby

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the beach. Bar and Grill had good bar food.
Cons: Coffee pot in the room. More people at the front desk during peak hours.
Location: We didn't have the opportunity to explore the area. From conversations with other people, it's a great location.
We stayed at Newport Beachside twice in 1 week as a pit stop to a cruise ship. The hotel was very nice and very clean. The concierge was very helpful in setting up transportation to the ship and to the airport. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. There were some negatives, thought One elevator was broken so the wait for an elevator was minimum 10 minutes. Not being able to check in until 4 was exhausting. Because of the late check-in the lobby was usually packed with people and extremely loud. I think the biggest negative was not having a coffee pot in the room. At these prices, you would expect that amenity. If you're going for a relaxing stay, don't get an ocean view room, you can hear everything going on at the pool. We had a city view the first night and it was quiet and we still had a view of the ocean...just not balcony. It would have been just fine for an extended trip. We will definitely come back to the hotel, but will schedule our travel to better match the check in and check out times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from NJ

nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: GREAT LOCATION
Cons: OVERPRICED VALET PARKING FEES
Location: CASINO / CLUBS / CLOSE TO HIGHWAYS
I booked room according to pictures which included a balcony. check in to room on the seventh facing parking lot and NO BALCONY. I spoke to front desk and they said that it was what travelocity booked. Spoke to customer service at travelocity she nothing can be done and offered $50 towards next trip. They spoiled my valentine;s day and vacation...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

4 out of 5

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Overall a great stay with very helpful and professional staff. Rooms and all the amenities were awesome, enjoyed the pool and how close the pier was. One improvement would be more on location parking options besides valet. Would definitely consider staying next time in Miami
3 out of 5
by A traveler from asheville

Beachfront but dated

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: The room was a suite with two rooms and the "living room" had two tables making it work well for both eating and using the computer.
Cons: The condition of the room. And the communication skills of the staff -- it took 3 tries to get the password for the wifi.
Location: Too many people and cars. Hard to get around. Did love the Oasis restaurant.
It is a resort hotel. Pretentious without substance. You enter a large lobby with lots of people busseling around and have to wait in line to get checked in, but once you get to the room you realize the facility hasn't been well maintained. Our room was large and the bed was comfortable but there were little things wrong with it: the hot water in the tub never got really hot. It looked like it had the jets of a jacuzzi, but they didn't turn on. The faucet was loose in the tub. There was a mini fridge, but it was situated under the sink in a way that made it difficult to open. The plaster on the wall over the door to the bedroom was bubbling. There was a fee of $25 to park the car. Although the price of the room was very reasonable, everything had an extra price tag: breakfast, parking, etc. The beach was full of chairs only a few occupied and almost no one actually in the water. It is an older building that has been refurbished, but not well maintained. !0 stories in an area of 20 story buidings. The streets are crowded and driving is very difficult.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Exceeded expectations

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Like I said before, the best part of the hotel...by far...was the staff. They were awesome. The rooms were spacious and comfortable.
Cons: The restaurant. It wasnt really BAD, but felt and tasted more like Red Lobster than Gotham NY.
Location: Right on the beach, and that's all we wanted to do. The restaurant at the pier had a REALLY nice whole fried fresh Red Snapper dish that I'd recomend
Booked this hotel at the last minute. We were flying to Ft Lauderdale to meet another couple, but their plans had to change so we had to scramble to find a room a couple of days before the flight left. We booked the flights through Travelocity weeks ago, and they sent an email about hotels for the trip. This hotel was the first one on the list, so this is the one I booked. After booking the hotel I read reviews and they were somewhat mixed, so I thought I'd actually write one (I basically never do this) to clarify some things. This hotel is NOT a Ritz Carlton. If that's what you are expecting, you are going to be disappointed. If that's your standard...then this hotel will be disappointing in most ways other than the bill. Now that said... This hotel really does a very good job. I cant say enough about the staff. The bartenders at the tiki hut (one was Rhonda, I dont remember the other's names) and the servers we had at the beach cabanas were really awesome! Lots of fun to talk to, had flawless timing on taking orders, etc. They all just seemed to really enjoy their jobs, which made the experience even better for us. It just appears that the hotel staff has a great professional culture. The facilities could use a bit of an update but nothing major....but there is really everything you could want on site. Good bar food at the tiki hut! My wife and I will certainly revisit on a regular basis. We found quite the little gem of a resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

nice enviroment

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Location: Good position, excellent hotel facilities, perfect access to the beach and close to the best shopping center.
Excellent in every aspect. Front Desk attention good. Hotel Room nice and clean, despite did not have view to the ocean this time. tks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2016 by mihaela mihai, Hotel Management
Dear Rafael, It is always such an honor to read feedback from our guests and to learn all that they enjoyed while staying with us at Newport Beachside Hotel & Resort. Our team truly cares about what they do and love to provide a warm, welcoming experience for all of our guests. We are thrilled your special visit with us was memorable and that you look forward to staying with us again. Thank you for your review. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back for another wonderful experience. Sincerely, Mihaela Mihai - Director of Guest Services
2 out of 5
by A traveler from MD

Needs to be updated.

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Location - It is right on the beach. Nice area to hang out. Shops are within walking distance.
Cons: It was dated, beat up and dirty. House Keeping knocked on the door several times at strange hours.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2016 by mihaela mihai, Hotel Management
Dear Scott, We value the time you have taken to share those aspects of your stay, that you enjoyed and those that you were less impressed with. Your feedback about our Resort will be addressed by our team. We hope any disappointments were minimal. It is our wish to one day welcome you back so that we can surpass your expectations and provide you with a better experience. Sincerely, Mihaela Mihai - Director of Guest Services