Ratings based on 12 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Business Trip to Mexico City

Posted Jun 27, 2017
I was traveling for business and originally stayed in Santa Fe Mexico. My trip unexpectedly extended a few days so I decided to switch hotels for no particular reason other than to experience another part of the city. The hotel was centrally located, very majestic, great historic atmosphere, and the room was very nice. The room location overlooked the main center of the city. The room and hotel was quiet, clean, and comfortable. I will definitely stay at this hotel next month when I return next month.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Guest Service, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We could not feel happier to know that you had such a good experience on your last stay with us, knowing that you enjoyed our location, the amazing room, the views, the history which makes us feel really proud. Please do not hesitate in visiting us again as we will always be trying to create memorable moments. Best wishes,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Michigan

Perfect Stay in Mexico City

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Historic, character, stained glass ceiling, location to historic sites, staff.
Cons: Not much, no complaints.
Location: Walking distance to: Cathedral, Aztec Temple Mayor and Museum, Dining, Street Shopping, Palace of Fine Arts, Historic District. Tour bus trip stop too
Location was absolutely ideal, walking distance to everywhere, no taxis needed. Historic hotel was outstanding, oozing with character. They don't make them like this anymore. Concierge and staff were extremely helpful, and helped us plan the perfect visit. (Thanks Salvador!). Highly recommended, all the way around.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2016 by Guest Service, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and of course that you had a wonderful time while you were visiting our city. Best regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Dallas, TX

A 2nd home away from home

Posted Nov 6, 2015
I cannot say enough for the staff and the well keep of the hotel. I will be looking to stay at the Grand again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2015 by GRAN HOTEL CIUDAD DE MÉXICO, Hotel Management
Dear Joseph, thank you for your positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope your next stay and just around the corner. Call us if there is anything we can help you with.
4 out of 5
by KCoutNabout from I am Canadian living in Long Island New York

The service went above and beyond the usual hotel!

Posted Nov 30, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, great views from the restaurant
The staff were very sweet and kind. Although I speak Spanish they spoke in English to me. That would be very welcoming to someone who did not have a grasp of the language. At one point I was having difficulty accessing the the internet. I went to the front desk explained my problem and within 20 min. a service man was at my door and resolved my problem.. Bottom line...if you want to feel a little bit like royalty for at least a day then stay at the Gran Hotel.....It was truly an experience worth having.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2015 by Guest Service Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your comment, it is very important for us to provide excellent completely personalized and friendly service at all times. We hope your visit again.
4 out of 5
by PhilKuo from Taiwan

In good historic location with good service

Posted May 9, 2012
Pros: Free Internet
The serice is standard and hotel is very classical and beautiful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2015 by Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your kind comments, we are happy to have sidod and their liking our facilities and the Art Nouveau style of our hotel. We hope your visit again.
5 out of 5
by qdigger from Small town, Ohio

Really nice hotel

Posted Nov 10, 2011
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet
Cons: the accoridan player on the street was annoying.
It is a really great hotel although when I checked in, the electricity was out which was around 3:00 PM, it was out until at least 7:00 PM. Luckily I had plans so I was not in the hotel most of that time. I have to say that the hotel was working on the problem and has battery-powered lighting up in the halls to insure safety. It is by far the nicest hotel I have stayed in Mexico City and would use again no doubt. Beautiful lobby and bathrooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2015 by Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your great comments, we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope your visit again
2 out of 5
by ryanj from LA

Nice old Colonial Hotel with a great location but...

Posted Feb 4, 2011
Pros: location
Cons: Noisy, Poor breakfast
Man its noisy. The location in this case is a plus and a negative issue here. The proximity to "El Zocalo" makes it a nice hotel for tourists but the noisy downtown (with loud music from shops in the morning and loud music from nightclubs at night) makes this Hotel a horrible place to rest.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2015 by Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for sharing your comments and observations Sorry you have had these problems during your stay, we are working to improve the experience of our guests in terms of external noise. We look forward
5 out of 5
by A traveler

fabulous!!!

Posted Oct 25, 2010
Stayed at hotel for 3nights. Was there when the Soap was being tape but I was on the 4th floor so I did not hear any type of band either Rock nor Mariachi.... There was alot of people in the foyer starting early in the am to late pm but that was for 1 night only! The other nights we enjoyed cocktails and listening to the piano ...I am planning on staying there again....My only complain was that room service would not answer their phone after 8pm... I would have to contact operator and then they would connect me right thru to them!s
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2016 by Community Manager - Gran Hotel Ciudad de México, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review of our property. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this positive review, and we look forward to your next stay with us. Best Regards
5 out of 5
by A traveler

fabulous!!!

Posted Oct 25, 2010
Stayed at hotel for 3nights. Was there when the Soap was being tape but I was on the 4th floor so I did not hear any type of band either Rock nor Mariachi.... There was alot of people in the foyer starting early in the am to late pm but that was for 1 night only! The other nights we enjoyed cocktails and listening to the piano ...I am planning on staying there again....My only complain was that room service would not answer their phone after 8pm... I would have to contact operator and then they would connect me right thru to them!s
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2016 by Community Manager - Gran Hotel Ciudad de México, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review of our property. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this positive review, and we look forward to your next stay with us. Best Regards
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Nice Hotel, but Beware

Posted Oct 17, 2010
This hotel is beautifully appointed. My room was very spacious and very clean. The staff was friendly and attentive (to a point ... see below). The wait staff in the breakfast restaurant were a little slow. My room was extremely quiet for being in the heart of the historic center (to a point ... se below). Caution! Because of this hotel's beauty and location, it appears to be a popular location for many activities. During my four-day stay there were activities taking place almost daily which restricted you from parts of the hotel and ambience that you thought you were paying for. On my last night there, they were filming a Mexican night-time soap opera. After the filming was over, they had a party for the crew and actors in a conference room (not a ballroom) DIRECTLY under my room. The party included a very loud rock and roll band that did not allow for any sleep. We complained to the front dest at 11:30pm who said it should have ended at 11:00pm. At midnight, the band ended and we had silence for about 10 minutes until a loud mariachi band started. After several calls to the frontdesk we were told that he could do nothing. We called the police and finally the party ended at 1:15am. The hotel informed us that this was normal in Mexico and our cab driver confirmed that they are constant hosts to large, loud parties. Unbelievable disrespect for their paying guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2016 by Community Manager - Gran Hotel Ciudad de México, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of our hotel. You have noted some deficiencies during your stay, and I will make sure that these items are looked after. I would like to thank you for staying with us, and I hope you will give us another opportunity to be of service. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally, should you wish to discuss further. Best Regards