Ratings based on 3,367 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
by A traveler from A

Nice hotel next to the beach.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Nice, clean, upgraded. The hotel was a bit pricy. Another thing I would say is the employees are, for the most part, rude and careless of others. Otherwise, nice hotel, nothing crazy fancy or anything (even with the upgrades) and close to the beach. Parking is terrible. If you rent a car, buy the insurance....there is barely room to get out of your car with how small the spaces are.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Deer Park, Texas

Not happy Hotel Stay

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: It had beach access other than that I was very disappointed.
Cons: I felt rushed to find another hotel when the Makena announced they were closing by Travelocity. I think more time should of been spent finding a hotel
Not happy with the Travelocity on rebooking our hotel stay. We originally booked the Makena Beach and Golf Resort and then it closed at the end of June. So Travelocity called to book another hotel with the same amenities we had at the Makena. We booked the Royal Lahaina Resort. Travelocity said we would get the breakfast buffet like we had at the Makena, that did not happen. The Royal Lahaina said they did not know anything about a breakfast being included. The hotel staff treated you just like another hotel, not what we expected from a resort in Hawaii.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Very comfortable and friendly hotel.

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Staff were friendly and helpful. Guest relations were helpful. Everything was close by on the hotel site. Great beach, pool, and wedding ceremony. Very satisfied.
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Anniversary Getaway

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Very nice hotel, oceanfront property.. Very friendly staff.. Great place to stay..
5 out of 5
by A traveler from tx

Great customer service, beautiful beach view!

Posted May 22, 2016
Great experience! We were able to check in early jo hassle and they met all of our needs
4 out of 5
by A traveler

On the beach.

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Expedia
Very service oriented staff. The tower rooms give a great view of the ocean and neighboring islands. The Concierge was extremely helpful, they worked out our activities lust, a last minute decision.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from midwest

Not all together

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: location, beach, grounds
Cons: quality of restaurant lunch and dinner; wait staff needs better training; pool area needs overhaul
Location: The location is fine and there are plenty of activities available to book. The beach , "beach walk", golf, and tennis options are very nice..
check-in/check-out: good housekeeping: good grounds keeping: very good Royal Scoop ice cream/coffee shop: very good Restaurant: average dinner food & poor/slow service pool area: dated; should be updated bar: good Resort maintenance: whoever repairs dry wall is terrible This is an older lower cost resort who's overall review is brought down by the restaurant and pool area. It was our third stay here, but will be our last. We soon chose to eat lunch and dinner elsewhere. It is not terrible. There are just other more appealing choices in the area (some at comparable cost, some at higher cost).
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Hilo, HI

Nice hotel on beach

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Location, beach, friendly staff
Cons: Parking spaces are very small.
Friendly staff and beautiful beach. Room was nicely decorated and had a wonderful ocean view. Will stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Steve

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A traveler from California

Worth the Stay

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Above average customer service, grounds were well groomed and clean, beautiful views and a gorgeous beach.
Cons: The mattress in our room was awful, I slept really poorly because of it. I think there was a mattress topper on there, but it wasn't effective.
Location: It's Hawaii, so of course it was gorgeous! There are some great little restaurants nearby, very close to Lahaina town, activities are plentiful.
My husband and I went on a very belated honeymoon (5 years) and were excited for our first trip to Hawaii. The Royal Lahaina Resort was truly a great place to stay. We initially booked a room with the Garden View Cottages, but ended up upgrading to the Ocean View Room in the tower, and it was totally worth it! The view was spectacular and made it easy being in our room, yet still enjoying the sight of the ocean. We ate at the restaurant a fews times and it was was above average food, and ended up ordering some room service and it was delivered very quickly after ordering. The hotel staff was very hospitable, and we had no issues with lack of good customer service. We did not use the pools while we were there, but did hang out at the beach which was very clean (along with the grounds of the resort). We played shuffle board outside which was a nice way to spend the evening. They offer many activities throughout the week, but we did not partake because we wanted to do our own thing.