Ratings based on 3,011 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A traveler from Wisconsin

Very nice hotel.

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: Very nice location. Friendly staff. Very helpful
Cons: Renovate all cottages
Location: Black rock was awesome. Swimming with turtles. Luau was incredible
Cottage we originally had was not very nice. Musty smell was not acceptable. Spider webs in corner by bed. Not up to our standards. Hotel was very nice. Friendly and helpful staff.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Oakland, Ca

Not the best

Posted Oct 2, 2015
Pros: The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Cons: The cottage needs extensive repairs.
Location: Liked the location
This time we stayed at Royal Lihaina's cottage. The room was clean but needed extensive repairs. The carpet was worn out and we had to avoid stepping on the carpet tack board that were coming through the frayed carpet. The patio sliding door was very difficult to open/close. The bathroom closet sliding door fell of it's track numerous times. The air conditioner was noisy and the walls had pealing paint and marks. We also had a problem with the door locking system and had to return to the front desks to get new keys 3 times.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A traveler from Alabama

Wonderful stay right on the beach

Posted Sep 15, 2015
While this is an older property it has been well maintained and currently they are renovating their cottages which are separate from the main tower. We had a room in the main tower which had a fantastic view of the ocean. I was even able to see the beach as I stood at the mirror getting ready. We had a late flight back to the mainland and we checked with the front desk who for a fee pushed out our checkout time from 11:00 am till 5:00 pm. Which was great as it was like we had another whole day to enjoy the beach. All in all our stay at the Royal Lahaina was great and we will definitely return.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A traveler from san diego

Great location

Posted Sep 13, 2015
Just steps away from the beach, with its own Luau dinner, great bar and restaurant, convenient shop with souvenirs as well as necessities such as drinks, snacks, sunscreen and other little things such as Tylenol, pepcid....( saves a trip to the store a few miles down the road )
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Dallas TX

A hotel in need of updating...

Posted Sep 8, 2015
Pros: The grounds and general setting.
Cons: Complete overhaul of the interior.
Location: Lahaina - everything from tourist trap shopping to upscale art. Breakfast at Cannery Mall - Lulu's and have the malasadas.
The facility is not what you would expect. It is one of the first built in this section of Maui, and many of the bungalow suites need updating. Ours was one such. The roof was literally full of holes - no kidding, you could see daylight through the edge of the overhang about a foot of the way up. The bath and kitchen facilities were ancient, and one of the louvered windows lacked many sections of glass. There was a declivity in the floor of our upstairs unit, and I honestly didn't want to put too much weight on the floor right there. The furniture was outdated. We ate in the hotel restaurant once - unimaginative, but fairly priced cuisine. The grounds and pool area were just fine, in contrast, and the beach walk between this hotel and others nearby is quite pleasant. The shoreline itself is clean and safe. I realize the hotel IS upgrading several units, so if you go there, demand one of those. It is close to Lahaina and the dining and shopping zone. One more thing...the valet staff parks your car right by the front door, but if you want to self-park, it is a hike and the parking is limited with narrow slots. If you want to forego the valet parking, you will need to refuse to give them your keys at check-in.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A traveler from ky

This is our 3rd stay here, we really like it!

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Some of the menu choices, have not change from last stay in October
Location: Lahaina town/harbor , beaches
We enjoy everything ; room, view, beach, Laua, pool, location !
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A traveler

had ocean view

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Pros: close to what we wanted
Cons: lobby/area a bit dated we were in a separate bldg a bit away from hotel
a bit dated. But what on Hawaii isn't. Had ocean front room with nice balcony
4 out of 5
for Families
by Janet

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 15, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Vacation night before checking into our condo.

Posted Jul 13, 2015 on Expedia
Desperately needs updating in rooms/bathrooms. Our toilet leaked, air conditioning was not working well. No lamp in the room worked.
3 out of 5
for Couples
by Jaimee from Wichita

Nice hotel but could have been better

Posted Jul 13, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was nice but the experience could have been much better. Room was not ready at check-in and the staff seemed unfriendly. We were only staying 1 night here as we arrived in Hawaii earlier than expected (was flying standby) and unfortunately got a room with a noisy toilet. Shutting the water valve off kept it quiet for the night. We could have moved rooms but this solved the noise issue and we were only staying 1 night.