Ratings based on 258 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from California

Great Experience.

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Very nice room view and with excellent and helpful friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Park City, UT

Beautiful view but old hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: The only 2 things about this hotel that were good was the staff and the view.
Cons: Renovations and figuring out why they have mistakes in the reservation system.
Location: Nice location on Kanapali Beach.
The only 2 things about this hotel that were good was the staff and the view. The hotel is very aged and needs to be remodeled. Also, I had made our reservation thru Travelocity and prepaid. They could'nt find the reservation at first and then after some time they finallly found it but only after discovering that their people that input our reservation into their system input the wrong date and days that we were staying. Upon checking out they tried to charge us for our room again. If you prepay a room, make sure that you bring proof of it. Once I found my prepaid reservation and showed it to them, they corrected the problem. However it took a long time to get it resolved.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Retirement get away

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Spent 3 days here had great luau right on gorgeous beach good show! Had a standard room with balcony and good views of beach and villas sunrise and sunset at good price
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Washington, DC

Absolutely Awesome Vacation!

Posted Jul 31, 2016
We had such a wonderful time here! The grounds were gorgeous and expansive. The room was very comfy, and I thought it was nice that this hotel had no resort fee. The restaurant food was fantastic, a bit pricey but totally worth it. I loved the beach bar they had right next to the pool and steps away from the beach. The hotel is right on Kaanapali Beach and it was amazing with gorgeous sunset views everyday. The gift shop had a nice variety of things. The luau was so much fun and absolutely unforgettable! The story teller was goo and the dancers rocked! The food and drinks were spot on. I'd say the only drawback for me was the parking lot. It got full very quickly and was hard to ever find a spot. Overall we had an AMAZING time in Maui and I highly recommend it. Aloha!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from A

Nice hotel next to the beach.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Nice, clean, upgraded. The hotel was a bit pricy. Another thing I would say is the employees are, for the most part, rude and careless of others. Otherwise, nice hotel, nothing crazy fancy or anything (even with the upgrades) and close to the beach. Parking is terrible. If you rent a car, buy the insurance....there is barely room to get out of your car with how small the spaces are.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Deer Park, Texas

Not happy Hotel Stay

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: It had beach access other than that I was very disappointed.
Cons: I felt rushed to find another hotel when the Makena announced they were closing by Travelocity. I think more time should of been spent finding a hotel
Not happy with the Travelocity on rebooking our hotel stay. We originally booked the Makena Beach and Golf Resort and then it closed at the end of June. So Travelocity called to book another hotel with the same amenities we had at the Makena. We booked the Royal Lahaina Resort. Travelocity said we would get the breakfast buffet like we had at the Makena, that did not happen. The Royal Lahaina said they did not know anything about a breakfast being included. The hotel staff treated you just like another hotel, not what we expected from a resort in Hawaii.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Very comfortable and friendly hotel.

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Staff were friendly and helpful. Guest relations were helpful. Everything was close by on the hotel site. Great beach, pool, and wedding ceremony. Very satisfied.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Anniversary Getaway

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Very nice hotel, oceanfront property.. Very friendly staff.. Great place to stay..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from tx

Great customer service, beautiful beach view!

Posted May 22, 2016
Great experience! We were able to check in early jo hassle and they met all of our needs
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Chicago, IL

Mixed Feelings

Posted Dec 23, 2015
Pros: The staff was excellent, couldn't of asked for better people. They were professional, courteous and friendly. They should all be commended.
Cons: The cottages need updating. Nobody should've been put into outdated cottages. Not at full price anyway.
Location: Great location. A 15 minute walk to shopping and dining. A 10 minute ride to nearby Lahaina.
We were booked into a room that was not yet renovated. Paint chipping from wall and ceiling, air conditioner that literally stayed on for 9 days and struggled to keep room cool. Bed was uncomfortable. Found out during check out, they charge $10 a day for you to park your own rental car. All of the above mentioned were a surprise. This was our fourth trip to Maui and we will return, but will not stay at the Royal Lahaina Resort again without confirming a renovated cottage or room and waiver of parking fees. This was the first time we were required to pay for parking at a resort in Lahaina.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2015 by kory, Hotel Management
Mahalo Bruce! Glad to hear you enjoyed the location and our staff. I'm sorry the un-renovated cottage room was not what you were expecting. We are working hard to complete all new cottage renovations as quickly as possible. Also, most resorts on Maui do charge a parking fee or it is included in a mandatory "Resort-Fee", again, our apologies that this was not made clear to you. We hope you otherwise enjoyed the beautiful island and hope to see you again. A hui hou!