Ratings based on 3,365 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Deer Park, Texas

Not happy Hotel Stay

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: It had beach access other than that I was very disappointed.
Cons: I felt rushed to find another hotel when the Makena announced they were closing by Travelocity. I think more time should of been spent finding a hotel
Not happy with the Travelocity on rebooking our hotel stay. We originally booked the Makena Beach and Golf Resort and then it closed at the end of June. So Travelocity called to book another hotel with the same amenities we had at the Makena. We booked the Royal Lahaina Resort. Travelocity said we would get the breakfast buffet like we had at the Makena, that did not happen. The Royal Lahaina said they did not know anything about a breakfast being included. The hotel staff treated you just like another hotel, not what we expected from a resort in Hawaii.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Very comfortable and friendly hotel.

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Staff were friendly and helpful. Guest relations were helpful. Everything was close by on the hotel site. Great beach, pool, and wedding ceremony. Very satisfied.
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Anniversary Getaway

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Very nice hotel, oceanfront property.. Very friendly staff.. Great place to stay..
5 out of 5
by A traveler from tx

Great customer service, beautiful beach view!

Posted May 22, 2016
Great experience! We were able to check in early jo hassle and they met all of our needs
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Hilo, HI

Nice hotel on beach

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Location, beach, friendly staff
Cons: Parking spaces are very small.
Friendly staff and beautiful beach. Room was nicely decorated and had a wonderful ocean view. Will stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Steve

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A traveler from California

Worth the Stay

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Above average customer service, grounds were well groomed and clean, beautiful views and a gorgeous beach.
Cons: The mattress in our room was awful, I slept really poorly because of it. I think there was a mattress topper on there, but it wasn't effective.
Location: It's Hawaii, so of course it was gorgeous! There are some great little restaurants nearby, very close to Lahaina town, activities are plentiful.
My husband and I went on a very belated honeymoon (5 years) and were excited for our first trip to Hawaii. The Royal Lahaina Resort was truly a great place to stay. We initially booked a room with the Garden View Cottages, but ended up upgrading to the Ocean View Room in the tower, and it was totally worth it! The view was spectacular and made it easy being in our room, yet still enjoying the sight of the ocean. We ate at the restaurant a fews times and it was was above average food, and ended up ordering some room service and it was delivered very quickly after ordering. The hotel staff was very hospitable, and we had no issues with lack of good customer service. We did not use the pools while we were there, but did hang out at the beach which was very clean (along with the grounds of the resort). We played shuffle board outside which was a nice way to spend the evening. They offer many activities throughout the week, but we did not partake because we wanted to do our own thing.
4 out of 5
by Trevor from New Zealand

Good location like all resorts overpriced

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
service was good overall but housekeeping was very late in the day. Great happy hour but if you want to rent snorkel gear take a 5 minute walk up the road to the snokle store. A weekly rental is same cost as a daily rental on resort!!!
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Nice Resort on the beach

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Expedia
Beware... Ocean view and Ocean front are vastly different. Went to both rooms and the ocean front is ocean front... Ocean view is the side of the building with partial views. Restaurant food is mediocre but very pricey. $19 dollars for a burger. Room service comes with an automatic 18% gratuity. Otherwise the people were very friendly excluding a super thin young man who is a luau performer (super short with guest)...which was quite funny considering. The hotel needs some updating but the location earns the stars. It has beautiful views and a helpful front desk and Jacob from valet was amazing! Super nice guy. I would book there again but would be interested in testing out another resort first.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Best deal in maui

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Expedia
Great hotel on best beach. Stay away from the luau. Hour long wait to get in very disorganized large groups of people allowed to cut in line for no reason. Experience would have been perfect if i would have saved the 180 dollars I spent on the luau.