Ratings based on 1,466 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from MT

Great location, great hotel

Posted Jan 14, 2016
We had a great time at Makena. It's a bit longer drive from the airport, but the hotel's location is beautiful and quieter than the hustle and bustle of west Maui. The hotel is right next to a great beach, and very close to Big Beach. The staff are friendly and the facility is wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from California

Gorgeous view, wonderful stay

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: You had the shuttle available to take you anywhere within a five mile radius, very convenient. The shuttle drivers pick you up, quick and helpful.
Cons: I would say they need a place for you to listen to some music and relax at night, although we went to nearby restaurants and hotels so that was fine.
Location: There are a lot of choices, we ate at a restaurant in the Grand Walia and it was very expensive but worth it. Beautiful view, food incredible.
I researched a lot before booking this trip and I went off of people's experiences on Travelocity. I read and read and read for weeks before we booked this. I am 100% satisfied! Our view was spectacular, ocean view, we paid extra for the top notch view, and it was worth it. The bed was extremely comfortable and room was spacious and so quiet. The balcony was private, no one could see you and you had no people walking by and no noise but the ocean. We went to a few other resorts on Mauiu just to check them out and yes, places like The Grand Wailia were gorgeous and incredible but we were so glad we chose Makena. Although they are so beautiful to look at the rooms were not private, you had a lot of people, your view was not just of the ocean. I think we would not have enjoyed staying there nearly as much, and I am sure the rooms there were quite a bit more. It was a very expensive trip but we got exactly what we wanted, a gorgeous view and private balcony. The staff were all excellent, our meals delicious, I got a book on Mauiu and we followed his advice on restaurants and each one was worth it. There are plenty of choices nearby to eat at. Definitely a wonderful, memorable trip. I am so glad for all of the reviews on Travelocity that made choosing a hotel that much easier. I would recommend the Makena hotel. We loved it!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from San Diego

Great hotel after a bad stay at Westin Resort

Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Nice rooms, nice pool, easy beach access.
Cons: Older hotel, could be updated, but it was clean and nice
Location: Lots of golf, shopping and other high end hotels with good restaurants.
Right from the start, the staff was friendly and helpful. There was no parking charge for valet, no resort fee and we could bring our friends for the day with no additional charge. None of these things were true at the Westin Resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Northern CA

Best Hawaii accommodations in my seven trips

Posted Nov 12, 2015
Pros: Just about everything. It has wonderful ambiance. The grounds are fabulous!
Cons: The outdoor floor tiling is showing some surface wear. Recommend resurfacing existing tiles and grout.
Location: Wailea is the nicest area on Maui. Golfing, snorkeling and cruising on a catamaran are all available on site. It is an easy drive to Lahaina.
The Makena Beach Resort was a wonderful experience. The facility is well maintained and sits right on a spacious sandy beach. We had a wonderful time there. The grounds are lovely. The staff took very good care of us, and the shops, the on site restaurant and the service were amazing. This resort is Wailea at its finest. If you prefer a quiet pace like we do, with less crowds, you won't be disappointed. There are plenty of opportunities for activities and larger shopping venues are near by. We hope to return soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Not Provided

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Oregon

Restorative

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Expedia
No party place this, but wonderfully tranquil and away from the crowds. Makes Kaanapali look like a carnival. Loved it despite limited dining options on property. Just a short drive to Wailea restaurants. Like a lot of Maui resorts, it will soon be time for updates.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from washington

Best beach ever!

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Lucky and Nichole at the pool bar are awesome.
We have been coming here for over 10 years. Very peaceful and low key, exactly what we want for our vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from United Kingdom

Hotel good, staff were polite, nice grounds.

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: The light and airy feeling. The exotic plants ,the fish in the large pool with the beautiful waterfall.
Cons: The lounge chairs and umbrellas and access to the beach.
Location: we went on lots of trips away from the hotel .A car is necessary for sight seeing.
Food in main dining room was very good. Breakfast was also very good, lots of fresh produce and a breakfast chef to cook your eggs for you. The pool bar staff were friendly & pool food good. Only problem there were a lot of flies on the pool bar. The beach was ok. The hotel has to improve the quality of the beach chairs and beach umbrellas should be provided. Access to the beach should be made easier for guests.. The furniture at the pool was very good. The size of the bathroom in our room was disappointing. The main dining room should give priority to hotel guests ( booking for the restaurant an idea). The Friday evening buffet was excellent. .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Charlotte, NC

Total Satisfied

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: I can't say enough about the staff. Service, restaurant, and cleaning members were all the best.
Cons: Slight aging of the facility, possibly a wider food menu selection or a second restaurant choice. Neither is a criticism, just a response.
Location: Location as the last hotel on the southwest shore creates some distance to things to do. But we deliberately chose this facility for that reason.
We loved the location, kind of away from the beatin' path. Superb staff. Superb facilities. Very slightly showing its age around the edges. We would return in a heartbeat, if we come back to Maui.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Los Angeles

Nice hotel close to the beach.Everyone is friendly

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Expedia
I absolutely love this place. Every one is friendly. I feel like I'm at home when I'm there with a few more friends. What more can I say, everything was totally Awesome!