Ratings based on 155 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from l

Amazing

Posted Jun 6, 2016
After long day of delayed flights, new flights and layovers we arrived exhausted. The hotel was beautiful at night, we were treated very well at check in. The cool rag she gave all of us to refresh ourselves with was devine and felt very luxurious. Beautiful leis were also donned on us on arrival, a very sweet touch. Exquisitely manicured grounds. Took many gorgeous pictures. Nice beach but must arrive early to find a seat. Excellent service by the pool. Breakfast restaurant was in a stunningly beautiful area and very yummy food. All services personnel were very helpful, informative and accommodating. Will definitely come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from southern California

Peaceful and quiet

Posted May 22, 2016
Lovely stay on a beautiful beach. Great price, with wonderful amenities included (huge buffet breakfast, complimentary valet, beach towels, wifi, ukulele lessons, yoga on the beach, and more!). The building is older than the Fairmont, Ritz-Carlton, or Grand Wailea--all on the same beach--but it's quieter. Don't forget to swim with the turtles!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from MT

Great location, great hotel

Posted Jan 14, 2016
We had a great time at Makena. It's a bit longer drive from the airport, but the hotel's location is beautiful and quieter than the hustle and bustle of west Maui. The hotel is right next to a great beach, and very close to Big Beach. The staff are friendly and the facility is wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from California

Gorgeous view, wonderful stay

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: You had the shuttle available to take you anywhere within a five mile radius, very convenient. The shuttle drivers pick you up, quick and helpful.
Cons: I would say they need a place for you to listen to some music and relax at night, although we went to nearby restaurants and hotels so that was fine.
Location: There are a lot of choices, we ate at a restaurant in the Grand Walia and it was very expensive but worth it. Beautiful view, food incredible.
I researched a lot before booking this trip and I went off of people's experiences on Travelocity. I read and read and read for weeks before we booked this. I am 100% satisfied! Our view was spectacular, ocean view, we paid extra for the top notch view, and it was worth it. The bed was extremely comfortable and room was spacious and so quiet. The balcony was private, no one could see you and you had no people walking by and no noise but the ocean. We went to a few other resorts on Mauiu just to check them out and yes, places like The Grand Wailia were gorgeous and incredible but we were so glad we chose Makena. Although they are so beautiful to look at the rooms were not private, you had a lot of people, your view was not just of the ocean. I think we would not have enjoyed staying there nearly as much, and I am sure the rooms there were quite a bit more. It was a very expensive trip but we got exactly what we wanted, a gorgeous view and private balcony. The staff were all excellent, our meals delicious, I got a book on Mauiu and we followed his advice on restaurants and each one was worth it. There are plenty of choices nearby to eat at. Definitely a wonderful, memorable trip. I am so glad for all of the reviews on Travelocity that made choosing a hotel that much easier. I would recommend the Makena hotel. We loved it!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Northern CA

Best Hawaii accommodations in my seven trips

Posted Nov 12, 2015
Pros: Just about everything. It has wonderful ambiance. The grounds are fabulous!
Cons: The outdoor floor tiling is showing some surface wear. Recommend resurfacing existing tiles and grout.
Location: Wailea is the nicest area on Maui. Golfing, snorkeling and cruising on a catamaran are all available on site. It is an easy drive to Lahaina.
The Makena Beach Resort was a wonderful experience. The facility is well maintained and sits right on a spacious sandy beach. We had a wonderful time there. The grounds are lovely. The staff took very good care of us, and the shops, the on site restaurant and the service were amazing. This resort is Wailea at its finest. If you prefer a quiet pace like we do, with less crowds, you won't be disappointed. There are plenty of opportunities for activities and larger shopping venues are near by. We hope to return soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Texas

Nice hotel with its own beach.

Posted Oct 16, 2015
Pros: Nice room, freshly remodeled. Quiet location with an uncrowded beach. Friendly staff.
Cons: Food and drink quality. It is adequate.
Location: in a resort area with only hotels and vacation homes. Beautiful beach, shared only with adjoining private homes.
Rooms are freshly remodeled. The beds and linens are high quality and comfortable. Landscaping in the center atrium and on the grounds is lovely and well kept. No resort fee — but amenities, like free bicycles are available. Staff is friendly and prompt. Overall, a great value, and a nice place to stay! Food and drinks were average, but there are good restaurants nearby. Also, there are no golf courses open at this resort. Wailea has three courses, and the valet took my husband and picked him up from their courses.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Washington DC

Old hotel but good

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Hotel needs an update but overall is a great stay! I didn't like the fact that I reserved a ocean view room and I got partial view and to the pool side which have always something noise happening on the evening:-/ When I pointed it out to the front desk girl, she told me it was my fault that I didn't book for a front ocean view :-/ I was like; u have tons of rooms on the other side of the hotel and it is not even full, u could totally have accommodate my needs but instead she blamed me. I won't stay with them again. Is nice but old and service could be better. Our room was extremely clean everyday and I liked it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from San Francisco, CA

hotel room with a view and almost private beach

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: The balcony with view and table. The free morning yoga. The nearly private beach
Cons: pricing at the restaurant was high for families.
Location: Almost private beach was great, Big Beach boogie boarders and Snorkeling at La Perouse was good. Wailea has nice restaurants
All rooms seem to have some view of the ocean. The beach is mostly hotel guests and soft white sand with big crashing waves. The hotel has a beach hut with paddle boards, boogie boards, snorkeling and shaved ice. Free morning yoga beachside. You are the last hotel so things are quiet and you can hear the ocean. Makena State Beach close by for boogie boarders and La Perouse is lava beach for snorkeling. Wailea is close for restaurants and shopping. We are a family of four with 2 teens. Everyone had fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Elk Grove, CA

Beautiful oceanfront view from the hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Excellent, friendly staffs. Perfect for honeymoon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Montana

Great place to stay.

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: Location and the staff.
Cons: It was a beautiful resort, maybe just some freshening up in the hallways leading to the rooms.
Location: The locations was perfect, we didn't do much in Makena except enjoy the beach and restaurants.
My wife and I stayed here for our 20th wedding anniversary, we loved it! Some of the reviews that I read complained that it was too far from everything else on the island. That was actually what convinced me to stay here. It was quiet and peaceful and the beach was never crowded. If your looking for a place to stay that has night life around it then this is not your resort, this is a place to enjoy the paradise that is Maui.