Ratings based on 149 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Washington DC

Old hotel but good

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Hotel needs an update but overall is a great stay! I didn't like the fact that I reserved a ocean view room and I got partial view and to the pool side which have always something noise happening on the evening:-/ When I pointed it out to the front desk girl, she told me it was my fault that I didn't book for a front ocean view :-/ I was like; u have tons of rooms on the other side of the hotel and it is not even full, u could totally have accommodate my needs but instead she blamed me. I won't stay with them again. Is nice but old and service could be better. Our room was extremely clean everyday and I liked it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from San Francisco, CA

hotel room with a view and almost private beach

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: The balcony with view and table. The free morning yoga. The nearly private beach
Cons: pricing at the restaurant was high for families.
Location: Almost private beach was great, Big Beach boogie boarders and Snorkeling at La Perouse was good. Wailea has nice restaurants
All rooms seem to have some view of the ocean. The beach is mostly hotel guests and soft white sand with big crashing waves. The hotel has a beach hut with paddle boards, boogie boards, snorkeling and shaved ice. Free morning yoga beachside. You are the last hotel so things are quiet and you can hear the ocean. Makena State Beach close by for boogie boarders and La Perouse is lava beach for snorkeling. Wailea is close for restaurants and shopping. We are a family of four with 2 teens. Everyone had fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Elk Grove, CA

Beautiful oceanfront view from the hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Excellent, friendly staffs. Perfect for honeymoon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Montana

Great place to stay.

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: Location and the staff.
Cons: It was a beautiful resort, maybe just some freshening up in the hallways leading to the rooms.
Location: The locations was perfect, we didn't do much in Makena except enjoy the beach and restaurants.
My wife and I stayed here for our 20th wedding anniversary, we loved it! Some of the reviews that I read complained that it was too far from everything else on the island. That was actually what convinced me to stay here. It was quiet and peaceful and the beach was never crowded. If your looking for a place to stay that has night life around it then this is not your resort, this is a place to enjoy the paradise that is Maui.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by CSW1 from Olympia, WA

Spectacular & Serene Island Escape

Posted Nov 5, 2013
Wow - best vacation ever! We immediately felt at home at the Makena Beach & Golf Resort - incredible welcome, setting, activities, food, & service = total relaxation. We will go back again and again. Loved the Astronomy evening!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Maichan from Stamford, CT

Such nice service, beautiful property, great deal

Posted Sep 22, 2013
This hotel made our amazing experience in Maui all that much more fantastic.  What really made the stay memorable were the staff, from the welcoming and helpful people at valet who greeted us everytime we left and came back, the front desk, waiters at breakfast, poolside/beach staff (they come around periodically offering ice water! I've been to my share of resorts and never got offered this before), and housekeeping. Everything was said and done with a genuine smile, and they all helped us in any way they could. Another plus was that the valet staff always offered to give us towels or cold bottled water for no extra charge whenever they saw us heading out. That's such a nice service that you don't find at many places.  Especially coming from fairfield county/new York area, the kindness and happiness we felt from the staff was such a refreshing experience. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in wailea. Another plus - the beach here is reeeeeally nice!!! The pool is very mediocre but being in Hawaii, I'd pick a hotel with a spacious, clean beach over one with a grandiose pool any day. Mahalo!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Lindsay81 from Clearfield, Utah

Friendly, comfortable & accomodating

Posted Sep 18, 2013
The Makena Beach & Golf Resort was amazing. The hotel is beautiful, the staff are so friendly & accommodating, the rooms are very nice & comfortable. The beach behind the hotel was so beautiful & some of our best snorkeling was done there. They also offer so many activities that can be booked right at the hotel. I booked our activities before our trip with some other providers & wish that I had done some of them with the hotel itself. Next time we return to Maui we will definitely be staying here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Friendsfromhouston from Houston texad

Location, sevice and value

Posted Sep 16, 2013
We could not have had a better experience!  Thanks so much to every employee we had the pleasure of interacting with.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A traveler from Mountain House, CA

June 24-29,2013 review

Posted Jul 5, 2013
I like the service, the room is very clean. Food are Delicious but a little pricey. Birds were flying around the food area and eating exposed food off serving spoons. 
5 out of 5
by jlmrn1 from Atlanta, GA

Absolutely LOVED it!

Posted Jun 27, 2013
My friend and I stayed at the Makena Beach and Golf Resort last week for 6 nights. We were treated like royalty! Everyone we met, from concierge, to bell hops, to waiters-- everyone was so friendly and hospitable. The concierge was especially helpful in arranging the many activities to be enjoyed in Maui. We planned activities for every day we were there (Haleakala volcano sunrise bike tour, surfing lessons, Road to Hana, etc) and they gladly arranged everything. They were so knowledgeable and could answer any question you had. The resort is beautiful with lush vegetation everywhere. The location was perfect. Of all the areas we traveled in Maui, we agreed that our hotel was in the perfect spot. Close to other nice resorts, but also a little secluded to where it didn't seem all "touristy". We rented a car and easily got around Maui. There are a few restaurants nearby and many more in Kihei, just a short drive away. There are also several really nice restaurants in the resort. We ate the breakfast buffet at Cafe Kiowai twice. So yummy! Our room was nice and spacious. Newly remodeled. The beach and pool are beautiful as well, and not overcrowded at all. Waiters brought ice water to you while at the beach and pool, and also frozen grapes, all free of charge. Beach towels and lounge chairs on the beach were also provided at no cost. You can rent snorkeling equipment, as well as paddle boards and kayaks right there at the beach for a very reasonable price. There is coral reef rather close to the shore with plenty of fish to see. We also saw lots of big sea turtles, even while swimming! I would stay here again and recommend it highly! We had the most perfect vacation there.