Ratings based on 2,055 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Toronto

Cultural Gem!

Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Great Beach Great Staff Staff is rich in culture Great Location Great events/amenities
Cons: The bathroom could be updated a little. However, we didn't spend a lot of time in the washroom - we were out and about!
Location: The location is excellent because there are beachfront restaurants closeby; it's also up the road form Lahaina Cannery Mall & the Front Street Area
My wife and I came here for our honeymoon and it was amazing beyond our dreams. Ka'anapali Beach Hotel was so rich in Hawaiian culture - from the staff, to the classes available (ukulele, lei making, Hawaiian Language classes), to the hotel grounds. The beach is great because: it is steps from the hotel, the water is clear, it's close to Black Rock, the swells are manageable, there aren't any rocks close to the shoreline, and you can spot so many animals here. This hotel is perfectly located because it has a beachfront walk to the Whaler's Village and beachfront restaurants. This beach is a lot better than some hotel beaches in Wailea and Kihei that have a lot of rocks steps from the shoreline. Aside from the beach, there are complimentary loungers all over the site, rich foliage, and a great Lu'au. The staff is so embracing and caring, and they really feel like one big family. They have parking onsite, but you have to pay (you have in/out privileges) - but it is well worth it. The on-site Lu'au was also great - ample food, drinks, and dessert was awesome; I recommend the local craft beer! Also, before the Lu'au begins, there are various activities to try. The Lu'au only happens on Mondays, so book accordingly. All in all, a great place, with great staff, a great beach, and a great culture! I highly recommend Ka'anapali Beach Hotel and their Lu'au! Warmest aloha!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nicole

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from New York

Terrific place to stay!

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Expedia
Wonderful beach! We enjoyed snorkeling the Black Rock reef right outside our hotel--- saw lots of beautiful fish, several turtles, an eel and lots of coral. Hotel was clean,very comfortable beds and staff was friendly and helpful. No complaints at all! We'll definitely be coming back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Sydney, Australia

Right on the beach - set for relaxation.

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: We liked the relaxed atmosphere. Very good service all around.
Cons: Screens in the restaurant where we had breakfast would help keep the birds out and off your table when you went to the buffet.
Location: Lahaina Outlet Shops (Shuttle run by the Outlets). Drive to the Haleakala Volcano crater, Hana and take a helicopter flight over the island.
Spent 6 great days here and found the overall experience was worth the money. This part of Hawaii is not cheap, but you don't have to confine yourself to the hotel unless you want to. A car is a great help in getting around. The Hotel itself has different wings. We stayed in the older two storey wing and it was very comfortable and as clean as could be. Air con meant that we could cool down if we wanted. Breakfast was great and the staff were always courteous and helpful. We had beach views, but who cares, when you can walk to the beach in about 1 minute!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from BC, Canada

Hawaiian, family friendly, wonderful beach

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Setting, gardens, proximity to the beach and snorkelling, the path along most of Kaanapali beach and 3 minutes (walking) to Whalers village
Cons: The restaurants especially Sunday champagne brunch which was awful. Also the smell of old cooking fat around the Tiki Bar and Grill.
Location: The beach is wonderful for swimming and snorkelling. Lahaina is a great place to have only 10 minutes drive away
We loved the hotel. Our room was oceanfront with an amazing view and although not high end in decor, nonetheless was perfect for what we wanted. The room was very clean, plenty of towels and great cleaning lady. Precisely because it was not "high end", we felt able to relax, wander down to the beach in our swimsuits and go straight back to the room for a shower when we were done. Proximity to the Whalers village for supplies or a cheap breakfast, pizza or Subway was great. Lahaina is a 10 minute drive and has so much choice of restaurants, things to do and great shops. The beach is great with sand, great ocean steps from the hotel and fantastic snorkelling about 5 minutes walk up the beach. The other nice thing is that the grounds are nice and lounge chairs are able to be spread all over the grounds and not in military rows. Totally recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Franziska

3*Hotel mit hawaiianischem Flair

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
Wir hatten 4 Tage in dem Hotel verbracht. Es war wirklich Hawaii spürbar mit autenthischem Design. Von dem her schön. Aber man muss auch sagen, dass es wirklich in die Jahre gekommen ist. Wir hatten vorher, für fast den gleichen Preis in Big Island ein WAHNSINNS Hotel... und waren daher gerade etwas baff als wir ins Zimmer kamen und alles im älteren Zustand war. Auch kosten die Liegen am Strand extra(bei den anderen Hotels aber auch so). Fazit: Es wäre ein tolles Hotel, wenn der Preis etwas tiefer wäre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Eva from Deutschland

Sofort wieder!

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
Es war ein wunderbarer Kurzurlaub . Die Gartenanlagen sind sehr gepflegt und der breite Sandstrand lädt zum Baden ein. Restaurant und Bar sind sehr gut! Einen kurzen Spaziergang entfernt ist ein Einkaufszentrum mit Lokalen und Geschäften. Am schönsten fand ich diesen herrlichen Sonnenuntergang!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Austin, TX

Just what you imagined Hawaii to be

Posted Nov 1, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: The staff were amazing.
Cons: The wifi
Location: Right on the beach, with a little shopping mall near by, and a rocky point that has some coral and fish.
We loved staying here. The staff at this hotel really make you feel welcome, with sincerity. And they are very accommodating - I accidentally booked a room with 2 queen beds for our honeymoon (hah!), and they were happy to change it for us while we were out doing activities, even moving our bags for us. The gardens are picturesque. I think this is one of the older hotels on the beach, and the maturity and beauty of the gardens are unmatched in Kaanapali. Grab a lounge chair and pick a tree to lay under... you really feel like you're in the Hawaii you imagined. The only improvement I would suggest is that they upgrade the wifi connection or number of hotspots. It was frequently slow/unavailable, and cell service isn't the best in the area, making activity planning or retrieving confirmation e-mails more difficult. That said, we're going to choose this hotel again for all our future trips to Maui.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Julie from Sydney

Hawaii Maui Trip

Posted Nov 1, 2015 on Hotels
Very close to Whalers Village which gives more food options. The hula lessons were a great introduction to the Hawaii culture and great fun.
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Tennessee

Great location on Kaanapali Beach

Posted Oct 30, 2015
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Repairs cash infusion.
Location: Swimming and all water sports Close to Lehania Restaurants
This is my second time staying here: This resort is very dated and needs a total remodel! The staff is wonderful and prides itself on the "Aloha Spirit" which is refreshing andgives guests that warm fuzzy feel, but one can see the repairs that are needed and it seems KBH maintenance are holding it together with a "band aide" mind set! In closing I love the KBH philosophy and their determination to educate you on all things in Hawaiian Culture, but the time has come for a much needed upgrade.