Ratings based on 195 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from San Diego

Great Classic Hawaiian Hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: The staff, rooms, grounds, and the awesome beach.
Location: Lot's to do and see or just sit in a comfy chair and take in the sites.
If you want a relaxed, old-school, but old-school done right hotel - this is the place to stay. Great beach, activities, pool, grounds, staff... what all hotels should shoot for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from B

Great beach

Posted Aug 11, 2015
The location, beach and staff were great. The room (640) was good, however the following issues were present: 1. Balcony door did not lock, being on the 6th floor, we ignored this. 2. Where shower surround joins ceiling, the caulk was separated and could use some attention. 3. Inside of shower curtain, on the top by the rings had some mildew I pointed out to housekeeping numerous times but they said it was a rust stain and not fixable. I've cleaned enough mildew off my gutters to know it when I see it, and besides the shower rod was aluminum and rings plastic, so what's there to rust? A new $10 plastic shower curtain could have resolved. 4. The outdoor carpeting and paint in hallways could use refreshing. Overall the place was fine, just a few little things that prevent it from being on par with say the Hyatt next door, which I have also stayed at.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Houston, TX

Great hotel and great location

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Our rooms were impeccably cleaned every day, the staff was very friendly and helpful with anything we requested of them.
This hotel is a somewhat older model, but our rooms (2) were very clean every day (5) and the staff was very polite and helpful. The location is fantastic for going to the beach, getting necessary supplies/foodstuffs/drinks for your room, eating, shopping, etc. Whaler's Village has an ABC store for necessities, convenience items, souvenirs, to-go food & drinks. It also has 90+ shops from casual to high-end items and 2 large restaurants/bars and several casual dining/fastfood shops for a quick bite. Our family of six, including 4 teenagers, thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and will be back. The grounds are impeccable, the view is amazing, and everything we came to do was within a short walking distance---snorkeling @ Black Rock, swimming, shopping, great dining, casual dining, luau, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Carson, Ca

Nice Hotel for the Price a bit run down

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: The location was the best.
Cons: Front desk and desperate upgrade to everything..
Location: This location is the best next to Lahaina and Whailers Village is next door which is great for dinner after a long day and beach foot steps away.
Great hotel just run down need a desperate upgrade. Great location, food was good as well at hotel restaurant. Staff was great as well. Front desk could use some help. Had a question after checking in and as I was looking down at my paperwork I asked a question and the girl helping me was gone left me there alone and no one else was around to ask so never got my question answered. The people at the help desk were also unwelcoming seem mad all the time. But we are not picky so we enjoyed our time at the beach and the entire Maui Island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Best Hotel on Kaanapali Strip

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: We loved the location, hawaiian feel and wonderful beach.
Cons: Improve the hotel restaurant quality and have pricing comparable to the higher quality restaurants in the area.
Location: Snorkling, parasailing, lounging on the beach, shopping, restaurants, treats, scuba, surfing all within 1-3 minute walk.
Kaanapali Beach Hotel is not the fanciest or newest hotel, but the location and classic feel cannot be beat. I will definitely be back to this hotel for years to come. The grounds of the hotel are lush and tropical with lounge chairs all around to enjoy the grounds. You are literally 1 minute from walking to black rock for snorkling or two minutes walk to shopping and food at Whalers village. I loved the information breakfast the first morning and when you leave they present you with a necklace to remember your stay. It is a very classic resort and reminds me of old Hawaii. It is very clean and the staff was friendly and nice. My wife and I would lay on the sand at night right out in front of the resort and enjoy the surf and stars. If you are looking for a cozy, relaxing hotel with amazing location to everything, this is your hotel. It is better priced than the surrounding hotels and I has a much better feel and Hawaiian quality to it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from CA

Nice older hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: The garden area is lovely!
Cons: The rooms need some attention & updated decor.
Location: Good location with easy access to the beach & shops.
We've stayed at this hotel 3 times & the staff are very friendly. However the rooms are average but you're rarely inside so it is a great deal!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2015 by Ka'anapali Beach Hotel, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for staying with us, we work hard to make our guests happy. We appreciate your feedback!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Portland, Oregon

Comfy hotel, spacious grounds, close to the beach

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: Spacious lawns, trees, plentiful lounge chairs, proximity to the beach, decent restaurant, proximity to shopping & dining options.
Cons: Update the rooms.
Location: Kaanapali Beach, Maui. Snorkeling at Black Rock, body surfing, sunning, swimming. Dining & shopping at Whalers Village. Visit Whalers Museum.
We were very comfortable and ended up pleased with our decision to stay here. Earlier in the week we'd stayed at a very upscale hotel at the other end of the island so were initially disappointed by the overall appearance of the hotel and room; the reception area was slightly shabby, as was the room — very "sixties" in appearance. The room itself was nice and clean. We were on the ground level, so had easy access to lounge chairs on the grass as well as a patio table and chairs on the patio. The beach was close by for snorkeling and body surfing, and there were plenty of available lounge chairs scattered around the spacious lawns, and lots of shady trees to lounge beneath. The pool was small, though we didn't use it. The meals at the hotel restaurant were nice, and priced as elsewhere, and we enjoyed the free nightly hula show and music. All in all, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would stay there again in a heartbeat, it was so very relaxing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2015 by Ka'anapali Beach Hotel, Hotel Management
Mahalo for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the Hotel grounds and surrounding area so much and truly got to experience the Hawaiian culture! We invite you back to stay with us in the future. Don't forget to bring your kukui nut lei!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from sf ca

Nice close to the beach

Posted Apr 20, 2015
It has the right location and although an older building it is right on for the price. Best drink prices on the strip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Fargo, ND

GREAT LOCATION. GREAT VALUE.

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: location location location.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Bars, shopping, restaurants, ocean activities, all within throwing distance.
I've stayed here a few different times and it never disappoints. For the value and location, KBH is perfect. You are smack dab in the middle of restaurants, bars, and a BEAUTIFUL beach. Beach activities are on hotel property as well. It isn't the most updated hotel, but who goes to Hawaii for the room décor? Also, they have a welcome breakfast that I highly recommend. It's not sales pressured at all. Just go, eat a fabulous breakfast and see what Maui has to offer you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2015 by Ka'anapali Beach Hotel, Hotel Management
Mahalo for staying with us, we are delighted that you enjoyed your time here. We appreciate you taking the time to write your review. We look forward to adding another kukui nut to your lei when we meet again! Aloha.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

GREAT HOTEL. FLIGHTS WERE A MESS!!!!!!!

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: EVERYTHING. GOOD NOT BE MORE PLEASED.
Cons: NOTHING. HOTEL WAS GREAT
Location: CLOSE TO BEACH AND SHOPPING AND REASTURANTS.
GREAT STAY AT HOTEL. RETURN FLIGHTS WERE LOST THEN WHEN RESCHEDULED AND WERE UNABLE TO SIT TOGTHER FOR THE LONG FLIGHTS BACK. VERY UPSETTING.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2015 by Ka'anapali Beach Hotel, Hotel Management
We are so sorry to hear taht your flight experience tarnished your experience of coming to Maui. We are delighted, However that you enjoyed your time with us! We hope to welcome you back again soon.