Ratings based on 2,220 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Sf

Nice hotel at Kaanapali beach.

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Very nice grounds never felt crowded. Right in front of Kaanapali beach.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Location excellent/Conditions fair

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: The location, the staff was friendly, accommodating and most of the amenities were good.
Cons: Temperature of room, communication on the Sunday Brunch & those with reservations should have a separate entrance & the bed sheets could be upgraded.
Location: All were excellent.
The location is excellent for beach access and activities. Most of the staff were wonderful and pleasing. They took good care of us. We had two major issues. One our room was warm and had to demand a fan be brought in since there was no one to take care of the issue. We had reservations for the Sunday Brunch at 10:00 a.m. We had to wait in line even with those who did not have reservations and/or having the regular breakfast. We were sat in the breakfast area and not told where the Brunch buffet was and that we should be seating in there. The bed sheets were not the usual standards we are used to. I cannot say that we will return to this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Los Angeles

Very family friendly beach hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Location on the beach. Very friendly staff.
Cons: Hotel needs a little updating. Small bathrooms made it difficult for wife and I to get ready in the morning. Prices at hotel restaurant.
Location: Whaler's Village is a short walk with plenty of shopping and a couple of restaurants on the beach. Short drive to Lahaina.
My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary. It is a very family friendly hotel right on the beach. Lots of families with kids. We had an ocean front room in the Kauai building. Short walk to Whaler's Village. Overall we had a nice time and would recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Macomb MI

Ok to sleep there

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Place was on a wonderful beach but is very outdated and old Daughter slipped on first step in pool; contacted front desk @ checkout and their reply was "Sorry we will take a lot at the step ." Never asked how she was. Man after us slid on same step too.
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Sacramento, CA

Don't pay more on this beach1

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Pros: Great sunrise at Haleakala and bike ride down the crater tour. Pick one with a follow van!
Cons: Had a maintenance issue with a running toilet but they fixed it quickly.
Location: Took a helicopter tour, sunset cruise, Segway tour of Lahaina, did a beachside cabana massage at nearby fancy resort. Lots of golf nearby.
This hotel was great and on the same beach as much higher placed hotels. Would stay here again for sure! Nice restaurant and tikki bar. Didn't use the pool since the ocean was right there. Great parking with easy in and out - no need for valet. Luau was fun too! It rained during the luau but there was no need to take cover - typical short lived warmish rain.
3 out of 5
by Cherise from Buffalo, NY

Kanapali Beach Hotel is worth it.

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
My stay was very nice. I was disappointed that there was no fitness facility and airport shuttle as listed online, but enjoyed the friendliness, quietness, great beach and food.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Flordia

Over priced cafes coffee bar more than Starbucks

Posted May 25, 2016 on Expedia
Tiki bar and food is all frozen even burgers as I observed frozen pot stickers burgers all coffee lattes I found out they were over charging me for I paid cash the never wrote up ticket $ 11.00 for a medium size with a vanilla syrup and 3 versus 2 shots expresso added 3 11.00 ? FOUND out it was 7 tops! Rooms are whatever. I could stay somewhere nicer same price have room service no real help to offer guest won't call a cab unless you come down to front then wait 10 minutes,. Personally I would not tell my friends or family to stay.. The good part is they have a small frig in room and you can smoke on some floors on your balcony so there your left alone..Sugar cane fields are now banned very dangerous smoke to inhale. Lived in Maui too long to believe this is SO authentic selling overpriced art and Jewelry in lobby. Staff is no assistance. Watching old folks in walkers as the just watered down the pavement and not one employee told these older seniors to please be careful JUST MY Boyfriend and myself.. Cheers No Stars Mahalo for taking near to 300.00 per night God Bless you.
4 out of 5
by anne from Ohio

Elevator

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
Was excited to be there. Got a room with a balcony and could see ocean. However, the screen door was ripped. The worse part was the room was right next to elevator and the motor kept us up all night. We knew when anyone used it. On the day we checked out they closed it down. Why wasn't that done sooner? It ruined any chance of a good night sleep
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Customer Service was terrible!

Posted May 21, 2016 on Expedia
Cons: Customer Service! People travel thousands of miles and spend a lot of money to stay in Maui, and don't want to be treated poorly! Try to smile more!
The Hotel facilities were good, but far less pleasing than the neighboring hotels in the area. The pool is small and many of the chairs at the pool were broken. The customer service was terrible! The female server at the Tiki Bar would barely acknowledge me when I sat down to order a drink on several occasions. And would often serve others who had just sat down before asking for my order. I had to speak up to get her to take my order. When I ordered food at the Tiki Bar grill and then went to sit down on one of the pool lounge chairs, it was broken and I fell off it and my food hit the ground. They made me order and pay for new food... When I requested an additional 15 minutes for check out because I was not feeling well, I was told NO! They said that they housekeeper was coming to my room right away to clean it. When I left the room I saw the housekeeper and let her know that I was out of the room now. She said "no worries, take your time, I won't be cleaning your room for about an hour".. When I checked in they said that I could remain on the property and use the facilities after i checked out since my flight did not leave until late that day. When I checked out, they said that I could remain on the property and sit at the bar or restaurant (and obviously purchase things!), but I could NOT sit at the pool. That was it for me.... I will never stay at this hotel again...
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Comfortable and convenient.

Posted May 20, 2016 on Expedia
Every year my grand-daughter has a states wrestling tournament held in lahaina. I've always booked my stay at KBH. It's comfortable, convenient, and meets all my needs. Being a smoker, I always request a room that can smoke. And I always got that accomodated. My grand-children is very comfortable at this hotel. They love the view from our room given and the grounds that they can explore around. They especially love the comfortable and relaxing bed that they get to sleep on. Parking is convenient and not a hassle at all. I will always book my stay at KBH. And most importantly it's affortable for me to have my family stay here. My family and I have been treated and accomdated very well. Until next year, mahalo for a hotel like this!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2016 by Manager at Kaanapali Beach Hotel, Hotel Management
Mahalo for sharing your feedback from your recent visit to our hotel. Guest feedback is extremely important to the KBH team and we will be sure to share your comments and concerns. Thank you.