Ratings based on 1,344 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Sacramento , CA

Maui Family Vacation

Posted Aug 2, 2016
From the check in to check out I was very impressed. The grounds and decor were beautiful. Our two bedroom suite was clean with up to date appliances. The bathrooms were nice with huge tubs to soak! The sofa bed was a little uncomfortable but our kids didn't complain. I was very relieved when I had to get a document Notarized and there was a public notary on site, fee of charge. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend to all! Aloha and Mahalo!
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Washington, DC

beautiful hotel in a beautiful location

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: The kitchen, bathroom, lanai, washer and dryer, staff, facilities, grounds, beach, walking paths, coffee shop, and Dukes restaurant.
Cons: Would have liked some washcloths and coffee for the coffee maker. Was able to get coffee when asked cleaning staff, but no washcloths available.
Location: Right on the beach. Several hotels/ resorts along side it, but Honua Kai seemed to be the nicest. Town of Lahaina was nice. Loved the harbour.
We were so pleased with our stay at the Honua Kai! The condo was perfect - loved the kitchen and bathroom. The grounds were beautiful and the staff was fantastic. This was our first trip to Hawaii and we couldn't have been more pleased. Can't wait to come back - we will definitely stay at the Honua Kai again!
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Victoria BC

Excellent Resort!!

Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Expedia
Excellent resort! Awesome location and great for families!! Highly recommend it:)
4 out of 5
by A traveler from los angeles, ca

Nice hotel in good location

Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Expedia
The hotel is nice. The rooms are big and clean. There are 3 pools at the hotel with the beach nearby. The beach right behind the hotel is a bit small and the sand is on an incline so difficult to lay out. The pools are nice but the towel service closes at 5:30. Pools are open until 8:00. Overall it was a nice hotel.
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Montebello, CA

Awesome pools for kids and adults, calm & peaceful

Posted May 31, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Views, peacefulness.
Cons: Room service is not daily, only every other day.
Location: Location is north of the more crowded Lahaina, so it's less people on the beaches.
It was an overall great experience, hotel was peaceful and calm. The views were great, awesome sunsets! The pools were awesome, kids love the pools and didn't want to get out. The odd thing was that the slide closes at 4:45pm which was a bummer.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Great stay

Posted May 31, 2016 on Expedia
We arrived late on our first night and the check-in staff were friendly and helpful. We had a room with a mountain view which provided beautiful mountain vistas with mist on the mountains and rainbows. Our only complaint about our room and its location was the noise from the construction next door. But this was only during the day when we were mostly out of the room. The pools were nice, well maintained and not super busy. We read other reviews about various issues such as people reserving pool chairs and the resort staff was very quick address and correct these concerns. The resort is close Lahaina but far enough removed to be out of the township. While Duke's is a very nice restaurant it was quiet pricey even during happy hour. But that is not unusual for Maui. While we loved hanging out at the pool and the beach on property it was tiresome to get a sales pitch for various items such as sunglasses each day when picking up our beach towels for the day. Overall, we loved our experience at Honua Kai and would be happy to stay there again.
5 out of 5
by regina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A traveler from alabama

Beautiful Resort

Posted May 30, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: It was very spacious and equipped
Cons: Be more helpful and kinder
Location: The location was perfect and lots of things to do nearby just expect to pay for every little thing!!! Parking is $5 for 2 hrs. There is no free parkin
The resort was beautiful! It was really comfortable. But everybody was out for a tip. When we loaded up with groceries for our 9 day stay, they wouldn't let us use one of the 7 luggage carts there to take our groceries up to the 7th floor room. We had to take 2 trips. There was people there trying to sell you their products which was annoying. But the resort was beautiful and had lots to do
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Lynnwood, WA

I enjoyed the pools.

Posted May 29, 2016 on Expedia
Unforgettable experience! It think the housekeeping of the hotel did a good job. They clean our room even that we did not ask for the service. We will definitely book through Expedia again in the future!
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Texas

Beautiful view and convenient location

Posted May 29, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Hotel staff (especially at Duke's) and the view is incredible
Cons: Housekeeping & maintenance could be improved
Location: On the beach, 10 minutes from Lahaina. Lots of great restaurants nearby. Highly recommend Hula Grill at sunset on Front Street.
Loved our stay! Arrived 5/21 for 7 nights. We didn't want to leave. Stayed in an ocean view suite. It was very nice. Only a couple of things...thermostat didn't work properly & housekeeping never left enough wash cloths. The pillows were a little firmer than we like also, but these are small complaints that were easy to overlook in comparison to the property as a whole. A lot of families with small children stay here but there is an adult only pool so we didn't have to hear the noise if we didn't want to. With so much to do on Maui, we weren't in our room much anyway!