Ratings based on 69 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Suisun City, Ca

Greatest Place to Stay in Maui!

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Pros: love the location! and views
Cons: Housekeeping could be every day instead of every other.
Location: great place for snorkeling...swimming...sitting on beach. Great pools. Lahaina downtown only a few minutes away.
This is our 2nd time at this hotel...and does not disappoint. The rooms are comfortable and we loved our first floor sitting area. Loved walking around the corner to get my coffee in the morning! The pools are awesome and can sit in there all day! Love that the beach is right there and can just walk to it and snorkel, sit or play in water. We love going to Duke's in the morning for breakfast. Great service and food! They are great to go to for a burger in the afternoon and can see the ocean right there from any seat. Staff is friendly and accomodates well. only a few cons...one of the pools was under construction...but didn't affect us too much. Housekeeping is every other day..i'd prefer every day...there was one day they forgot our room and had to call at end of day...when she did come, our room was barely cleaned.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Orange County, CA

Great condo right on the beach!

Posted Aug 5, 2015
We stayed in a studio condo with beautiful ocean view. The room was well equipped with modern furniture, SS kitchen, and doors that fully open from wall to wall. Friendly and professional staff. The pools are nice for kids and the beach was great for casual snorkeling or laying out under the banyan trees. Great fish n chips at Dukes. (Driveway is a bit annoying)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler

close to the beach

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: The area, love downtown Lahaina.
Location: Love downtown Lahaina
Did not realize it was such a family resort, little kids running around everywhere, a child jumped on our lounge chair by the pool and my cell phone went in the pool!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from california

Nice and friendly staff

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Celebrated our 35 year anniversary and it was one of the best places to go. This was our second time here. It was a very nice time to spend with someone very special to you;they do need a work out area at both hotels instead of one.
3 out of 5
by traveller9 from Texas

Nice location, nice beach, OK hotel.

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Three of our family stayed here for 3 nights January 2013.  Our initial impression was very favorable as the landscaping is very nice and the grounds well kept.  However, for the first 36 hours our room air conditioning was too warm and humid as the thermostat did not seem to work.  The outside air was more pleasant than our room.  We notified the front desk and they assured us it would be solved soon.  The temp was not right until late the next night. The room was very clean and modern with nice stacked washer & dryer.  There was a comfortable queen bed and a couch with pull out bed.  The pull out bed was very uncomfortable and I considered sleeping on the floor instead.  Either the cushioning or frame was insufficient as there was not enough support for an adult man.  The pull out bed would probably be fine for a child. We were in the north building (without the convenient coffee shop).  The only dining available was the beach side restaurant; Dukes.  Dukes serves good food at a reasonable price.  We liked it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by sjeTraveler from Philadelphia, PA

Lots good, some cautions

Posted Oct 29, 2013
The resort is beautifully located on the beach and the rooms are very nice. But the swimming pools are small and almost totally arranged for children and families. No area where real swimming (as in laps) is possible. Also, while there are markets and fast food restaurants just outside the property, the only food choices on site are an upscale restaurant and an exorbitant "market" -- nothing basic for sale at all, despite the kitchens in all the units.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Daylight1 from San Francisco, CA

Lifetime family memories

Posted Oct 2, 2013
Honua Kai Resort lived up to and even exceeded our expectations. We had an amazing family vacation! We thoroughly enjoyed the view from our lanai, the beautiful beachfront and the Hula Pie at nearby Duke's. The staff was friendly and the resort was very peaceful at night. We're already talking about a return visit next year. Great property.
4 out of 5
by Kataro from California

Family Wedding

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Overall the rooms are nice.  We experienced small annoyances such as a broken screen door leading to the lanai, too powerful shower spray in the master bath, and the corners of the bottom sheet continually coming off.  Rooms were clean and the housekeeping staff was very friendly and helpful. Nice toiletries and soft bath towels.  Plenty of available chairs by the pools.  Beaches are rocky once you go into the water.  Wear sandals to avoid the occasional thorns in the sand.  Duke's is good but a little pricey (like everywhere else nice on Maui). Self parking is available but whoever designed the entrances must have driven a compact because it was not designed for large cars in mind.  Valet service is friendly and accommodating.  
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Stlboysmom from St. Louis, MO

Good hotel for young children

Posted Aug 13, 2013
I read many reviews before booking Honua Kai. It turned out to be a good decision since we have 4 and 6 year old boys. There were many very young children here. Many of the reviews made this sound like a 5 star hotel. It is not, but the accomodations are comfortable and the pools are very nice. We had time to kill on our last day so we drove down to Wailea. If you're looking for posh, I would definitely stay down there especially since the rates are comparable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by sunny234 from Santa Barbara, CA

Very nice property

Posted Jul 2, 2013
This place is very nice. It is well maintained, the staff is nice, and everything is in great condition. The kitchen is nicely stocked and the market is across the street. The only drawback was one pool was supposed to be for kids but they were in all the pools and even the jacuzzi's which stated you needed to be 16 to use and the kids were under 10.