Ratings based on 51 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.5 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
1 out of 5
by A traveler from Kansas

Could not sleep

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: It was near a nice beach.
Cons: Increase the room size, install quiet central air.
Location: Great little town, lots of touristy beaches.
The room was incredibly small and dark, low ceilings, without central air. Instead, it had a huge room air conditioner that not only turned on and off every few minutes, but sounded like a jet engine. We could hear footsteps above us and footsteps going up and down the exterior stairs. The bathroom was dimly lit with a tiny, tiny sink. We saw 1 mosquito in Maui during our week stay, and it was in this hotel room. Fortunately for us, we only had to spend 1 night at this depressing hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Cherlyn , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we are sorry to hear we fell short of your standards and will make sure our management hears your concerns so we can better serve you in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Most comfortable bed, and right on the beach

Posted Dec 19, 2016
I had a better night's sleep than at home. It was quiet, right by the beach and close to quaint little shops.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Cherlyn , Hotel Management
Thank you for the five star rating, we are delighted to know that we exceeded your expectations and hope you stay with us at Days Inn again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Alberta, Canada

Good hotel for a couple

Posted Dec 19, 2015
Pros: Price was fair and it was clean.
Cons: Size of room was my only real complaint, and I don't think they could do anything about that at this point ;)
Location: Beach is a 1 minute walk from any room, there are lots of shops and food options near by, especially if you have transportation.
My wife and I booked this hotel for the last few days of our trip to Maui, after already being on the island for 9 days, we were trying to keep expenses down. The room was clean and appeared to have been somewhat recently updated. It was a great value for the price ( i booked on Travelocity for around $110/Night), and it is right on the beach and close to shops and dining options. That being said, the rooms are small - not so small that it is unpleasant, but we were also traveling with our 4 year old daughter, which meant 3 people in the bed (there are no double rooms) and three suitcases, plus carry-on type bags, etc. it left very little room for getting around the room, or trying to locate things in bags. Overall, I would recommend it, based on those for warnings, and would stay there again if on a budget.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from kent

Lifetime dream...tahiti for me but "better"...

Posted Sep 26, 2015
I needed a vacation away from the"demands" of city life...i went there with and they squared me about island life on the first day...maui in is paradise..no worries on this island...i'm going again next year for longer maybe even for life...awesome
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Phoenix

GREAT LOCATION FOR THE MONEY!

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!
Cons: The motel's parking lot is shared with an independent restaurant, so the number of (very tight) spaces is limited. Housekeeping is careless.
Location: GREAT BEACH LOCATION! The restaurant (Sarrento's) next door is great but pricey, even by Hawaiian standards.
This is the sixth time we have stayed at the Maui Oceanfront. The location is what keeps bringing us back. There is probably not a room on this property that is more than a 30 second walk to the (Kiawakapu) beach. The sunsets are amazing, and you are likely to meet some other interesting guests during these spectacular, daily spectacles. If you are looking for a mega-luxury resort with all the amenities, then this is NOT the place for you. Head two miles south to Wailea where you might find a room that will cost you more for one night than would a room at the Maui Oceanfront for an entire week. Housekeeping is minimal. Each day we were shorted a bath towel, or a wash cloth, bathmat, etc. HINT: Always use the municipal parking on the north side of the property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by googen100 from California

Can't get closer to the beach

Posted Jul 25, 2013
This is roughly a budget motel type of joint, with the added benefit of being RIGHT on the beach (my room was first line behind beach) and having great beds (Tempurpedic). For me and my wife, we lacked nothing and it worked out perfect for our stay. Packed the mini-fridge with bottled drinks and headed out to the beach most of the day, and napped in the room as needed. For the price and our low expectations, we were pleasantly surprised overall. Restaurants on site got a little bit expensive, but there was a discount at one of them (20% I think) if you stay at Days Inn which made it reasonable for lunch. Location is great though you will need a car, though Kihei is good to find lots of unique food, and also the chains when you just need a quick bite. Main negatives were no internet (although advertised), and cell service was spotty around there. But, then again, who needs those things when you're in Maui - I took it as a good excuse to get off the grid for a few days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by steve85 from Gardena, CA

great beach location,beach is very nice

Posted May 30, 2013
first off the sign says it all maui oceanfront,there is not a hotel closer to the ocean than this hotel,i literally had to walk twenty yards to the sand,and twenty more to the water. the rooms are small but comfortable,there is a micro,coffee pot and frig thats all you need. as soon as you open the door to the room you could smell the musty ocean air,but hey the room is right on the beach.i mean right on. i would not expect anything less.the staff was great anything you needed they took care of,there are two restaurants one is on the premises and the other right next door,the one next door has a great happy hour from 4-6 and 9-11.the beach is great for swimming and excellent for snorkeling.for the value of the rooms the price is great,there are plenty of big hotels in kihei,but if you want something that is small,quite and a great price this is for you.     
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Matt201 from Hawaii

The Rooms are small, but it is located on a great beach, and the staff is friendly.

Posted Apr 16, 2013
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet
Cons: no affordable restaurant on property, limited parking
If you are on a budget, it is ok. The beach at the back of the hotel was great, but the rooms are quite small. The internet kept going out, and parking is limited. There is no restaurant in the hotel, but a seperate restaurant "Sorento's" is in the back facing the beach. The restaurant is quite expensive to be next door to a budget hotel. I ate there once, and the food was just ok.
2 out of 5
by twinklytoes from US

I liked the location

Posted Mar 16, 2013
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Nothing close
I don't have much of anything good to say about the inside of the room. There was mildew in the shower and the bed was less than Motel 6 quality. The one redeeming quality of the room was the ability to hear the waves washing up on the beach in the morning. Outside the room, the beach and sitting area - lounge chairs, very nice - was a short walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Lovetheturtles from Mn

Great location on the beach, hotel lacked many things.

Posted Feb 24, 2013
Room lacked a lamp, very dark, outside shower didn't work for the first ten days, Internet in room rarely worked, housekeeping left our room unlocked one day, another day they never cleaned the room. They say they change the sheets every three days but they don't. I had to ask to get sheets changed. Often out of beach towels. The staff seemed helpful to try and resolve some of the problems. The bed and the location on the beach were awesome.