Ratings based on 1,918 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Seattle WA

Nice to have a kitchen

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Kitchen, balcony.
Cons: Bathroom. Kitchen utensil(some rice bowls,etc).
Location: The Napili Kai Beach; Lahaina town(Banyan tree park,Honolulu Cookie Company, Atlantis Submarine tour), Haleakala National Park,Hana Hwy,etc.
Hotel room is clean spacious with a kitchen to make a simple meal. If you stay many days and buy foods from local TIMES supermarket(next to the hotel on the other side of the street) and do your own cooking, that would save and be fun. The beach is not great but you can hang around and enjoy the ocean view,the breeze, the waves and sound, pretty nice. You are close to other great beaches such as Napili Kai beach. No need to pay a lot of money for the beach while they are free for everyone. We had a great time staying at this hotel, no complaints whatsoever. It is not a new hotel but it is clean and friendly.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Expedia
It was our second stay at this hotel and we were a little disappointed that the beach in front of it was no longer there (the sea was too high) but were told that it depends on the time of year. The restaurant hostess can be a little cranky but the rest of the staff was very friendly. It is nice to have a kitchen so you don't have to eat out every time. Although they will give you more dishwasher detergent they don't give you any more laundry detergent, I found that strange!
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Good location

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Expedia
Overall the location, lobby area and pools were great. I wouldn't say that there is an actual beach area because of how small and rocky it is. Also, if it is high tide there is absolutely no beach. we arrived after traveling over 13 hours and it was after the 3 pm checking and our room was still not ready so that was frustrating. The room never felt clean, the bath tub would clog up during every shower and the bed felt like something you would sleep on at summer camp. It was nice that they had a gift shop at the hotel with everything you need. Great location right across the street from a grocery store.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Denver, CO

Great family oriented hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Expedia
Based on the photos I thought this was a high end hotel, it really looked nice. When we got there it was nice but not as great as the photos. The staff was very nice and helpful to any questions we had. I was very surprised of how many families stayed at this hotel. We had a great time but I think the house keeping dept might have been a little under staffed. Other than that I would recommend this to others but I personally would like to try another on outlet next trip.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from San Francisco, CA

Wouldn't go back

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: The kid friendly pool.
Location: Was nice to be so close to Old Town Lahaina. Wish it was closer to an actual beach you can use and sit on.
This hotel is not beachfront. It's might be on the water...but there is NO beach. Just rocks and water. Only one restaurant on site; lacking a lot of amenities you would expect when staying on Maui. Uncomfortable bedding - the blankets are paper thin. Check -in process was super long with a lot of confusion and waiting.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Expedia
It was beautiful! The ocean front room was fabulous! We had a "great" stay and would highly recommend. It was our second stay. Sadly, the card in our room, welcoming me back, got mixed in our brochures and we failed to get to use the $50 credit at the Beach House. We did eat there, but I was disappointed, to miss out on that. Also, the cost of a roll-away for our use of $30 a night was extremely expensive. I felt we should have been given it to accommodate all of us. Disappointed in the beach, rocky and water was rough.
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Nice hotel, family friendly, clean

Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Expedia
Location: Great breakfast at Slappy Jacks, only a block walk away
Needed a hotel for six in a short period of time because of a canceled flight. They accommodated a late check out for us which was a very much appreciated. Pools are very family friendly. Hotel is clean and well laid out. Beach is too rocky to really swim off at the hotel. Nice walking path a few hotels down toward the east. Overall a nice hotel. Only tip for large families, if it says it sleeps 7, it really sleeps six, with 2 on a pull out couch.
5 out of 5
by Gabriele from Österreich

Familienurlaub

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
Kaanapali Shores liegt ideal für Erholung am Strand, Besichtigung aller Naturschönheiten von Maui und bietet sowohl die Möglichkeit sich selbst zu vorsorgen (Einkaufsmöglichkeiten in Nähe) als auch aus vielen verschiedenen Restaurants uns Bars zu wählen.
3 out of 5
by Aimee from Oregon

ok if u just want a place to lay your head for $$$

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
The shower was ridiculous...shower head sprayed at my neck and I'm not that tall. Decor in room was extremely dated; seemed 70's. We had a view of the dirty canal. They said they 'upgraded' us to better room when we arrived, but I'd really like to see what room we would have had. We were in the furthest wing from humanity but when we walked through the lobby and near the pools to the ocean, everything looked great...I hope, for Aston's sake, they just have 1 wing that needs to be remodeled. Service was prompt. They did handle a power outage pretty well on our last day. Ultimately, the beauty of Maui outweighs it all and our trip was still a success but the hotel room was overpriced for something that pushed us to want to leave the premises...
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
We have stayed here a coupe of times. However it had been 5 years since our last visit. The hotel has made some great renovations around their pool and the updating of the buildings. We would have preferred the beds to be a little more comfortable and the 2nd bedroom was advertised as 2 double beds and was actually 2 single beds. Overall a nice place to stay. Love the family atmosphere.