Ratings based on 1,974 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
1 out of 5
by Stephanie from Vista, CA

Mouse in the hotel room..

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel room on 3rd had a kitchen in it... and when I went to sleep heard a noise, turned light on a a mouse ran across the counter!!! Packed up and went to front desk. Front desk gave me a different room, and for the inconvenience and scare,... they could only give me a $20.00 resort fee credit, not really concerned with the fact that mouse was in the room, like it happens all the time? Aston Kaanapali Shores, couldn't help with credit or anything more, because I booked with Hotels.com. Changed hotels, to Westin Kaanapali..heavenly
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Calgary, AB

Nice Resort for the Price

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Friendly staff, nice courtyard and pool areas, clean rooms, accessible beach.
Cons: Resort restaurant food, modernize suites.
Location: Close to Whalers Village and Ka'anapali Beach, but not really walkable.
Suite was a bit dated but overall nice resort. The food at the Beach Club Cafe on the resort was nothing special. Nice to have access to the beach from the resort, but the beach could have used some grooming. The beach is also cut off from other resorts making a romantic evening walk along the beach cut short. The staff were very friendly and overall the stay was nice. If I were to return to west Maui I would consider staying at a different resort to try something else.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Corona

Its a nice hotel, but older and run down,

Posted Aug 25, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: It had a nice atmosphere and staff was nice.
Cons: Rooms need to be updated
Location: Alot to do all nearby
It was a nie experiance but if you go to hawaii once every 5 years or less, spend a little more money on a nicer hotel , trust me its worth it . I have also stayed at 4 star hotels and they are well worth the extra cost
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Park City, Utah

Beautiful family hotel in Kaanapali.

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Luxury rooms with relaxing views. Easy parking. Beautiful gardens. The picture in my mind of what a Hawaiian vacation hotel should look like.
Cons: Choice of queen bed in second bedroom for two bedroom suites.
Location: Too far to walk to Whalers Village. Short walk to strip mall and a bus stop. If you don't have a car, the hotel is pretty much self contained.
Two bedroom suite on the fifth floor with beautiful views of the gardens, pool and ocean. Glass doors open the living room to a balcony, perfect for sitting and enjoying morning coffee. Fully appointed kitchen with top quality, full size appliances. Very nice modern bathrooms. One drawback for us was twin beds in the second bedroom. May be a plus for another family.
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Garrson, NY

Beautifully maintained, lovely pool setting

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Lovely gardens and pool areas, excellent maintenance. Loved the breakfasts/lunches at the poolside restaurant.
Cons: No problems.
Location: Near Lahaina and Whaler's Village. A quick drive.
Loved Aston Kaanapali Shores, which was a lovely setting, well kept up. Beautiful pool, really good food at the restaurant by the pool at reasonable prices. A fantastic value.
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Expedia
This hotel is quite old and outdated. There was seriously a VHS player in the bedroom and many books copyrighted in 1990 on the shelves. If it were not so expensive I would have understood, but as it is...?
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Vancouver, B.C.

Decent condo north of Kaanapali

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Grounds were clean and the pool area was not overcrowded. Elevators were quick. My kids liked playing tennis on the courts.
Cons: It was fine.
Location: Close to Times Supermarket and the beach area is nice.
Signed in at 3 pm into a Garden room at Kaanapali Shores. We were placed on the 5th floor and faced the garden pool and could see the ocean as well. The bedroom is at the back of the room with a narrow frosted window to let in some light while the kitchen and furniture are face towards the balcony. The main area of the rooms is quite nice, but the back bedroom is a little musty and claustrophobic. There are a couple of barbecues beside the tennis courts at the back of the property. The beach side of the property has a pool and a restaurant that services the ocean pool.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Expedia
So friendly and helpful, we couldnt be happier with choosing this resort.
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Honolulu, Hawaii

Not Enough Restaurants but otherwise, Excellent!

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Quiet, clean, safe.
Cons: Reastaurants or room service?
Location: Went to a wedding so we had things to do.
Everything about the resort was spot on. Check-in and out was so easy. Front desk was so accommodating. The rooms and kitchenette was spotless. The view from the room was really nice. The only complaint I have was the lack of eating places. Only one poolside restaurant. There is a supermarket across the street but you do need a car if buying a lot of groceries.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Great place to stay!

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Expedia
This Hotel is in a great location and has a lot of convenient features