Ratings based on 703 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Home away from home with a spectacular view

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Expedia
In addition to the spectacular view we had a full size refrigerator, stove kitchen utensils and bowls, access to a top-of-the-line grill, a complimentary washer and dryer right outside of our room. The room was cleaned up for us daily and replacement of products and towels were never an issue. Access to tennis courts, swimming pool, jacuzzi right in front of beach. It was an awesome stay and will definitely return. Golf course was fabulous!
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Los Angeles

Family's First Time on Maui

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
You cannot beat the location especially since the hotel was reasonably priced. Our room was clean and comfortable, the only issue was the noise from the construction when we were in our room, which was rare since we were mostly enjoying being at the beach. Restaurants and activities were plentiful and within walking distance (3 mins to Whalers Village for example), however they were on the pricey side. All expected due to the location and your usual resort area pricing; just be prepared. It's not unusual to pay for a "cheap" meal for 2 for $60-ish. Our 3 year old enjoyed absolutely everything. From going up and down in the elevators, the balcony, the courtyard with the fish pond, the pool and of course, the beach. If the pricing remains the same or lower, we will definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Palo Alto

Nice Hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Proximity to beach and shopping; good clean rooms
Hotel in middle of renovation with new lobby, so construction noise was a problem. It didn't help that Whaler's Village was undergoing renovation on the other side of Tower 2, so we had it from both sides. Other than that, we really liked the place and it should be great once the construction is completed.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from San Francisco

NO, NO, NO! Undergoing noisy hard remodel!

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
Near nightmare averted. The Whaler is doing a major hard remodel. When we approached the hotel driveway we were directed to a detour underground garage interim front door; the pleasant bell staff then led us to a temporary check in area in the basement. The construction noise includes jackhammers blasting through concrete. There was no warning that construction is underway, that the restaurant and lobby are closed, and that the pool area is in the same area as the jackhammers. From there we went to our rooms and it was loudly obvious that we would have to make other arrangements. CHECKED OUT WITHIN TEN MINUTES OF CHECKING IN. Luckily the only good thing that I can say is the check-in agent went out of her way to find us great rooms in a different Aston property less than a mile away. I am in the hospitality industry and am still blown away that there was no warning on the booking website/property site about the noisy remodel. PROPERTY should have been closed to new bookings. Bad corporate judgement. People expect quiet relaxation in Maui. The only other funny moment...I asked one of the staff if they would stay at the property during a remodel like this...her answer was "yes but she has very low standards". One minor critique...plastic flowers abound on the balconies. It's HAWAII!
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Great condo

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Excellent location.
Would have given the condo 5 stars; however the lobby was under construction and we heard the noise every morning. That being said, the staff, spacious studio room and location made up for noise. Also, underground parking was free, which is unheard of in Maui! Will definitely return next year and hopefully the construction will be complete.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Victoria , AUSTRALIA

Great Hotel right on Beach!

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Expedia
Despite the continuing renovations this is a fantastic Hotel positioned perfectly on Kanapali Beach We saved $$$ by shopping at the local safeway and enjoying bbq s while watching the breathtaking sunsets!!! Tip: Ask for any room facing the Black Rock beach side to avoid the construction noise between the two towers!
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Sydney

Excellent hotel and great stay

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Expedia
We were traveling as a couple Pros: - Excellent location on beachfront on probably one of the top beaches on the island - Our room was more of an apartment and we had a full kitchen - Very helpful and nice staff - Nice and clean room with a good view Cons - We were charged $16USD per night on top of the room rates - I believe this is some sort of tourism tax? - There was construction going on the hotel lobby (major) that we were unaware of Overall, an excellent stay and would highly recommend
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Fresno, CA

Disappointed

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Condo was very clean and quiet. Except for the construction noise, we could not hear any neighbor or hallway noise. Staff was very friendly.
Cons: Wi-fi. The heavy glass-topped table in front of the sofa. Very dangerous to move in order to convert the sofa to a bed. Replace bedroom doors.
Location: Whaler Village, with a lot of shops, is right next door. There are also a lot of good restaurants and you can book a lot of activities nearby.
When we arrived we discovered that the hotel lobby and surrounding areas (Whaler Village) were under construction/renovation. The makeshift lobby was located in a cramped and humid utility room off of the underground garage. While we had booked an ocean view room, we were stuck on the south side of Tower 2 which had 25% ocean view and 75% garden/construction view. Construction began at 7:30am and lasted until after 4:00pm. Even on Saturday. The beach was very small, as was the pool and common area. Construction probably won't be completed until early 2017, so try to avoid this place until then. After construction has been completed, it will be a decent place to stay.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from Oakland, CA

Demolition not renovation!

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Expedia
Guests should be aware that the renovation the property is undergoing involves concrete cutting, jack hammers and heavy construction. The noise was non stop from 9am-5pm on our recent trip and filled the entire property from the rooms to the beach. Not sure this isn't false advertising but certainly a far greater level of disclosure is warranted. The Whaler Village is also undergoing reconstruction so that experience is also diminished. We received no response from management to our emailed comments about the situation. Extremely disappointing overall.