Ratings based on 772 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Loved the view and surrounding area. Plenty of things to do close to the resort that were extremely easy to get to.
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Lake Tahoe, CA

Relaxed feel-beautiful grounds-lack of beach

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Pros: The grounds, the staff, the vibe, the location.
Cons: The beach area, if there was a restaurant or bar on site, had a shuttle whalers village.
Location: Close to Black rock, tons of snorkeling, 5-10 minutes to downtown Lahaina.
What we liked about Papakea was that it wasn't as 'resorty' as nearby condo/hotels, but it wasn't too far from them and all the action. The grounds were quiet for the most part and we could come back after a day of activities to some peace and solitude. We booked a garden view room but ended up with a filtered ocean view which was quite nice. We would have meals on the balcony and watch the sunset at night. There wasn't a sandy beach on grounds, but a short walk would bring you to a small sandy beach that was swimmable but had a few rocks. There were lots of great beaches within a minute or two drive. There was construction going on right in front of the water while we were there which blocked the view a bit and was noisy one of the days. The hotel staff was very friendly and the concierge was extremely helpful and went out of their way to help us in a few situations. There were some fruit flies in the kitchen but I think it comes with the climate and didn't bother us much. Overall we were pleased with the accommodations and would be happy to return.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Conveniently located

Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable & well located resort. No beach at premises - only a front yard with rock wall from which to view surf & sunset. Close to good snorkeling & swimming beaches, with supermarket across the street.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from Chicago, IL

Horrible but Expensive

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Inside they need to gut it out and re-do this place.
Location: location and nearby is nice close to beach/no beach access on property but they have pools outside.
I have stayed there only one night, outside the property looks fine, but this Property from inside is really old. (stucko) tub is broken. Old Toilet with no exhaust sorry there was one, a windows that you can open right across from the shower. Front Desk staff has no control, to get a small washing detergent they need to call ASTON management. Room was not clean old Sofa, scratchy - some need to see if there are bed bugs or not!!!!
3 out of 5
by A traveler from California

Ground great condo had issues

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Expedia
Have stayed here before and loved it. This time unit H201 AC broke no one to fix it for 3 days. Dryer did not dry clothes. Privacy screen was broken. I would not recommend this unit until these issues are resolved Hopefully we get a different unit next time.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

The hotel is very nice.

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Expedia
The hotel was very nice ans peaceful. . Sometimes the staff was not very friendly but overall. . We will recommended this hotel
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2016 on Expedia
trevligt mellanklassshotell. stranden är ganska smal och ibland kan vågorna skölja bort en del sand.
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Folsom Ca.

Great place to relax.

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Expedia
My wife and I had a destination wedding at this Resort 5 years ago. It was a great place to stay then and still is now. You can't be Papakea for the money. The location is great and the staff is excellent. Spring for the oceanfront and not on the ground floor.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Condo f107

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Expedia
Excellent studio on ground level. With fantastic look of the ocean outside of your lanai
4 out of 5
by A traveler from K

they should clean room mid- week

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Expedia
We were there 9 days and they didn't come vacuume or clean once. I found myself having to clean. Even timeshares offer a mid week cleaning. How long do you need to be there to get your place cleaned? We also washed out own towels. It was more like a condo.