Ratings based on 263 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Jun 21, 2017
GREAT HOTEL, GREAT STAFF, WILL VISIT AGAIN POSSIBLY STAYING IN A BUNGALOW.
2 out of 5
by A traveler

We wanted to like this hotel but disappointed

Posted Jun 18, 2017
Pros: beautiful beach, old Maui charm decor
Cons: nicer staff, working A/C
I reserved a room for 2 adults and 2 children. Upon checking in, the clerk was adamant I only reserved for 2 people. When I showed her our printed itinerary, she never apologized for being mistaken. She did find a room to accommodate 4 people, and we loved the ocean front view. We, however, did not love it when the A/C was out for 2 nights. It was 85+ degrees, very humid and very uncomfortable. There was no overall communication from the hotel staff when the A/C would again be working and little apology for the inconvenience. When we checked out, the clerk reluctantly took $50 off our bill, and only at our insistence. Proceed with caution before staying here!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from chicago

Great cottage, rude staff

Posted May 25, 2017
We stayed in one of the cottages instead of the hotel, which was a fantastic experience and I highly recommend. However, the staff of this hotel are so RUDE! The only nice person working at the front desk is named John. Hopefully he takes care of you because everyone else seems to hate their job. The cottage was great. We had our own, very private, lanai just steps from the golf course and a short walk to the pool and beach. The beach/cabana staff are great. They are friendly and knowledgeable. I would recommend this hotel and especially staying in a cottage. Just try your best to avoid the staff at the front desk, guest relations, and excursion kiosk. All are very RUDE!
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Portland

Wedding in Lahaina

Posted May 17, 2017
Shower drained very slow and every morning I stood in a pool of water. The toilet also was constantly running and making noise so I had to shut it off. The hotel needs better maintenance personnel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Minnesota

A wonderful time in Hawaii

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Location, view, beach, staff
Cons: Put hotel information packets in the room. We actually had to ask the clerk when checkout time was because it was not listed in room.
Location: Right on a beautiful beach with views of Lanai and Molokai. Difficult to make a northbound turn onto the nearby highway out of the resort area.
We enjoyed our stay at the Royal Lahaina. It has a beautiful beach and we were able to see whales hourly from our balcony. The room we were in was scheduled for a remodel and there were some minor maintenance issues, but the location was excellent, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the food was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from California

Great Experience.

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Very nice room view and with excellent and helpful friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Park City, UT

Beautiful view but old hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: The only 2 things about this hotel that were good was the staff and the view.
Cons: Renovations and figuring out why they have mistakes in the reservation system.
Location: Nice location on Kanapali Beach.
The only 2 things about this hotel that were good was the staff and the view. The hotel is very aged and needs to be remodeled. Also, I had made our reservation thru Travelocity and prepaid. They could'nt find the reservation at first and then after some time they finallly found it but only after discovering that their people that input our reservation into their system input the wrong date and days that we were staying. Upon checking out they tried to charge us for our room again. If you prepay a room, make sure that you bring proof of it. Once I found my prepaid reservation and showed it to them, they corrected the problem. However it took a long time to get it resolved.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Retirement get away

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Spent 3 days here had great luau right on gorgeous beach good show! Had a standard room with balcony and good views of beach and villas sunrise and sunset at good price
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Washington, DC

Absolutely Awesome Vacation!

Posted Jul 31, 2016
We had such a wonderful time here! The grounds were gorgeous and expansive. The room was very comfy, and I thought it was nice that this hotel had no resort fee. The restaurant food was fantastic, a bit pricey but totally worth it. I loved the beach bar they had right next to the pool and steps away from the beach. The hotel is right on Kaanapali Beach and it was amazing with gorgeous sunset views everyday. The gift shop had a nice variety of things. The luau was so much fun and absolutely unforgettable! The story teller was goo and the dancers rocked! The food and drinks were spot on. I'd say the only drawback for me was the parking lot. It got full very quickly and was hard to ever find a spot. Overall we had an AMAZING time in Maui and I highly recommend it. Aloha!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from A

Nice hotel next to the beach.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Nice, clean, upgraded. The hotel was a bit pricy. Another thing I would say is the employees are, for the most part, rude and careless of others. Otherwise, nice hotel, nothing crazy fancy or anything (even with the upgrades) and close to the beach. Parking is terrible. If you rent a car, buy the insurance....there is barely room to get out of your car with how small the spaces are.