Ratings based on 132 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Beautiful resort on the beach

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Staff was friendly, close to the beach and ocean, clean, beautiful lookouts to the ocean, and just an overall great resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha! Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found our location and grounds beautiful. We look forward to welcoming you back. Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from illinois

Great location and property

Posted Jan 31, 2017
The property is very nice-well kept and staff is always pitching in to make it looks nice. Rooms are spacious and beds are comfortable. Food is pretty good throughout. The staff is more than accommodating and very friendly. In other reviews the residence membership pitches weee pushy- we did not find that at all. The penquins in the main atrium are cute and not to be misssed. The pools are nice but crowded- they could do something about towel saving chairs as that is hard for other guests and chairs are covered sometimes for hours with others having to go to the beach or split up. overall a great stay. The greeting with leis is very nice too! Only one of three hotel stays that provided that Hawaiian touch!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha Renee! Thank you for your 5-star review! We are so glad you enjoyed the comforts of your guest room and our many resort amenities. We are delighted you found our staff friendly and very accommodating. We have shared your comment regarding the towel saving chairs at the pool with our resort team for further review. Come back and visit us soon! Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2016
The hotel is one of the best anywhere. After a long day traveling, the easy-going manner of desk staff helped transition us to vacation mode. The rooms are large and bright, beds are very comfortable and facilities are clean. The hotel boasts many interesting architectural features and well-placed art objects; the lobby includes a penguin den. The breakfast at the Sonz restaurant is outstanding, with a great variety of fruits, egg dishes, meats, salmon, breads and even soup. The beachfront location is great and a pathway is well-situated for strolling along the shore.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by Benjamin P., Hotel Management
Aloha, and thank you for your five-star review! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and had a pleasant check-in experience. We appreciate your positive comments regarding our decor and the cuisine at Son'z. We hope to welcome you back again, soon. Mahalo!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Washington, DC

Still nice, but a step down from previous stays

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Location on Kaanapali Beach
This is the fourth time we have stayed here since 2009 (2013 was the last time) and although it was very nice, it was far below previous experiences. Our room with a king bed and pull out sofa was perfect for two adults and a child, but the common facilities did not live up to our expectations. Several parts were under renovation, including Sonz, which used to be the breakfast restaurant. The new breakfast area was much more crowded and breakfast was not as good (no omelette station.) The whole place felt much more crowded, almost no seats at the pool if you come in the afternoon, very very few seats with any shade at all. Practically anywhere I tried to sit was next to a construction site, including the main open area next to lobbby, side area overlooking garden. Not sure if it has anything to do with the new timeshare, which was not there the last time we visited, but it seemed like there were about 30% more people than was appropriate for the facilities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by Benjamin P. , Hotel Management
Aloha Grace, thank you for your review. As a frequent guest, your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We're sorry to hear we did not meet all of your expectations during your stay. We are currently undergoing renovations in an effort to be the prestigious property you remember. We hope to welcome you back once our remodel is complete to enjoy our newly upgraded facilities. Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler from Chicago

This hotel has it all

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: The slide in the pool, the beach, the penguins, the fitness center.
Cons: The pool was definitely too deep in most places, so it made it hard to hang out in it. Also, housekeeping came too late in the day.
Location: The location was great. Front Street is a fun area to shop and go out to eat.
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at the Hyatt. It was definitely a high end hotel in terms of amenities. We enjoyed having the pool right by the beach, and the workout facility was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2016 by Benjamin P., Hotel Management
Aloha Kathy! Thank you for your positive review! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to relax by the beach. We look forward to your next stay. Mahalo!
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Melbourne Beach, Fl

Hyatt no service

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: The pool size and design.
Cons: Staff could be much friendlier, prices could be reduced, the assignment of larger rooms for four people.
Location: Had to take the trolley or bus to reach most shopping areas which tend to be in Lahinia
Service was minimal, room size for 4 persons was ridiculously small, and there was a $50 per person per night charge by the hotel for additional 2 persons. Drinks and food were very expensive. It was very difficult to have your own drink by the pool or on the beach! The size of the pool and the outdoor bar were nice but could get really crowded at sports event times. Overall, I would find a condo to rent the next trip as this hotel is aging and the times and wishes of travelers have out grown its facilities. The emphasis is on their Hyatt Residence timeshare facility next door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Front ocean view was beautiful. We loved it !!!

Posted Sep 26, 2015
We were very happy and pleased with the room service as well as our view . We loved it !!!
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Idaho

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: The beach was very nice. Just don't go out to far because you will cut your feet on all the rocks.
Cons: I would give a call to all the guest the second day to see how there stay is going..
Location: All the surrounding beaches are great... Did lots of snorkeling and paddle boarding. There are a lot of places to do daily and weekly rentals.
It seemed that we were penalized for using Travelocity. They put us in the room that had the worst view and distance from the beach. We pre paid for our room BUT the still held over $800 on my credit card. We did pre pay but they still charged us again for the first day that we stayed. They did refund us after I pointed it out. We asked for early maid service but our room was the last to be serviced around 4 to 5 pm. Toilet backed up into the bathtub. Talk to front desk and was told because of the location of the room it sometimes happens. Make sure you get to the pool early because everyone puts there towel on the chairs and leaves for the day. You have a lot of yellow towels but no people around the pool. But we did get a free cocktail for our anniversary.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from A

Great place to stay if you want lots of pools

Posted Aug 26, 2015
The hotel is really beautiful. The big pool was nice, a little old looking and there were some drunk guests throwing a football in the pool almost hitting other guests. However the pools next door at the Hyatt Residence were amazing. The hotel room was comfortable and clean. However it was really hard to watch tv when the channels kept losing signal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Second Honeymoon

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: The amenities and staff.
The hotel stay was nice. Our only complaint was the view from our room. We had a roof view with corroding pipes. We asked them to change our room and they offered us a worse one. Other than that, it was wonderful! We kept our curtains closed. Which was too bad.