Ratings based on 140 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from I

Good hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2017
No beach access on site. Restaurant was good. Room was crowded with bed , kitchen, couch in same room. No closet space for luggage. Pools were great. Concierge was very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from idaho

Clean Friendly Great location Beautiful Beaches

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, cleanliness, price
Location: Long walks on the beach, restaurants, shopping, great snorkeling directly in front of resort
Great place for older couples. Away from the busy downtown but within walking distance to great shopping and restaurants. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. This was our second visit to this resort and we loved it both times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler from California

Very nice property

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Not as crowded as the other big resorts (ie Westin/Sheraton).
Cons: It's all self parking, no valet. Would have been nice if there was a valet option.
Location: Go to the Longs and Safeway closer to Lahaina for supplies. Also came with one free ticket to the Maui Ocean Center.
We just got back from Kaanapali Shores. Stayed seven days but spent most of our vacation exploring Maui. The time we spent at the condo was great. We upgraded to a two bedroom ocean view. Expensive upgrade but worth it all in the end. Only negative was a small ant problem in the kitchen area and one of the bathrooms. I told front desk and they had someone come up and spray the areas while we were out. Overall a very pleasant place to stay for vacation. The beach next to the property is just ok. There are nicer beaches near Kaanapali so try to visit those spots as well. One beach next to the Westin and Kapalua Bay were our favorite locations. The Shores does have two decent swimming pools that we enjoyed. Rented a cabana and the pool staff was excellent. Rented a paddle board and chairs from them and they were very helpful and friendly. Overall very high on the Aloha spirit.
2 out of 5
by rudyjrs

hidden fees

Posted Sep 13, 2013
i was very upset because i was charged an extra 172.00 for parking fees and i was there for 7 days! i cant believe they did that!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2014
Aloha. Our parking fee is only $9 per night, which is one of the more reasonable fee levels in the resort area. The parking charge would not have been $172. Mahalo.
4 out of 5
by agm3mp4 from Canby, OR

First time to Maui

Posted Jun 18, 2013
It was our first time to Hawaii and we had a great time. The only down falls about the Aston Kaanapoli Shores was their towel service is really weird, they don't have any waitresses or waiters coming out to you at the pool like the hotel next door does. The last negative thing was the room service came really late in the day so we were always back in the room getting ready for dinner. The Concierge desk was amazing and really helpful. I would wait until you check in before booking any activities and do it through the hotel. The landscape was great there as well.
5 out of 5
by Jim3575 from Rochester, MI

Great Condo

Posted May 30, 2013
This is a very nice place to stay. We stayed in a two bedroom unit and it was large and very clean. Everything in the room appeared to be new or newer. We will stay here again on our next visit to Maui.
5 out of 5
by virtuouswoman from Roanoke, VA

Wonderful!!!!!

Posted May 22, 2013
This week was just marvelous, beautiful and oh so wonderful! I recommend the Aston Kaanapali Shores to everyone going to Hawaii! It was our 10th wedding anniversary and my husband and I enjoyed!
5 out of 5
by luvinmaui from Swanton, OH 43558, USA

Amazing atmosphere! Friendly people! Definitely worth a try!!

Posted Mar 19, 2013
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, spacious, playstation & dvd's included, beach towels
Cons: amenity fees for services not used, additional parking fee, additional fee for gym usage, beach area small and rocky, more knowledge needed of propane grills available
This was my family's first trip to Maui, booked through a website. Looks can be deceiving, I was skeptical. After arriving, I was completely in disbelief that we were staying at such a beautiful place. We stayed in a 1 bedroom condo (staying with 2 teenagers), so the full kitchen and washer/dryer was very appreciated. I do wish the propane grills available for use were more advertised, as we did not know about them until later in our stay. The sights were amazing and staff was very friendly. I would, however, recommend a ocean or garden view. Don't let the few cons below sway your decision not to stay. You will not be disappointed. I have raved about the amazing grounds. Looking forward to staying again in 2015!!
4 out of 5
by MinnesotaMauiFan from Minnesota, USA

This hotel has everything you need!

Posted Feb 14, 2013
Pros: Close restaurants
Cons: $25 day resort fee for towels & movies, $9 day parking
This was our 4th time staying at Kaanapali Shores. We will always stay here for the convenience, location, well kept grounds and great staff. With the grocery store, ABC Store, bars and restaurants within walking distance, you wouldn't need to venture far. One drawback is the beach. Although it is usable, there is limited lounging area and the water out in front of the resort is extremely rocky and very hard to enjoy (water shoes required). There is a small sandy area next to the neighboring property to swim. The staff, especially Ross at the front desk, are all very accommodating. Laundry in room is super convenient for long stays. Overall, another great stay on Maui. I can't wait to return.
5 out of 5
by hawaii2fun from California, USA

Aston resort made me feel like a Queen and so welcomed

Posted Dec 5, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, beautiful
This is such a beautiful resort inside and out. The staff are great we had a room that was not facing the ocean it was our anniversary and we wanted something more romantic they accomdated us and got us a room facing the court yard which is gorgeous with waterfalls and trees and lots of birds it was unbeliveable and you could sit out on the patio and see the ocean. The room was cleaned daily and a newspaper at the door everymorning. We walked along the beach to the other two resorts that are close by and I will say that the Aston beat them both in looks and stay. I can't say enough about the Aston Resort we will be back to this resort many times to come. it was our first time to Maui and the expericene was awesome