Ratings based on 53 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Henniker, NH

Nice condo on beach.

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: The condo had everything I needed and it was very clean. The bed was extremely comfortable.
Location: I was on Ka'anapali Beach. It is very close to everything.
I had a wonderful stay at the Whaler. Friendly staff and very clean condo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from CA

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Location was fantastic and the grounds are beautiful.
Cons: Would be great if there was a bathroom close to the pool so one did not have to go up to their room.
Location: Great location next door to Whaler's Village.
Check in was on time at 4pm. Studio rooms have gorgeous views and nice balconies. Full refrigerator, oven, dishwasher and garbage disposal. Room was clean and king sized murphy bed was very comfy.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Michigan

Whaler Unit 524

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Location, close to the beach and restaurants
Cons: The condo needs a total makeover
Location: It's right on Kaannapali beach, there are several good restaurants within walking distance, The Whaler Village mall is right next to the condo complex
We have stayed at the Whaler several times with very positive experiences when we rented directly from condo owners. This time we booked with The Aston who control several units at The Whaler. We were supposed to have a Garden View, it was written into the reservation, that never happened. The sofa in the living room stinks, not because it is old and worn out, it literally stunk! The living room carpet was worn right down to the matting in several locations. The entire unit (524) needs remodeling. The kitchen was updated, but the rest of the place has the original elements from the early 1970's.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Monroe, NY

Great location

Posted May 21, 2016
Beautiful resort in an excellent location. Loved everything about it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Okla. City, OK

Beautiful condo next to the Whaler Shopping Center

Posted Nov 11, 2015
Pros: Air conditioned spacious studio with daily maid service. Well maintained grounds. Friendly and courteous staff.
Location: On Kaanapali beach and could walk the beach sidewalk to other condos/hotels and restaurants and shopping.
Our experience was great. All staff were friendly and courteous. We appreciated the daily maid service. Was surprised by the fresh pineapple, coffee cups and coffee. It had a lovely fish pond with a bridge that went over. It was very "Maui" landscaped and you felt like you were in paradise. Well maintained.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from California

Nightmare checking-in to an otherwise nice condo.

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: Great location, right on the beach, next door to restaurants and shopping.
Cons: Management. After our second room change, the manager on duty could have come out of his office and taken care of things.
Location: Shopping, restaurants, golf.
We were checked-in to a studio garden condo that was a total dump. The Motel 6 across the highway would have been better. Couch was worn and torn, the fridge all scratched up, walls with nail holes but no picture frames, dirty floor, etc. After asking for a different unit, we were put in a room that was scheduled for fumigation while we were there. We demanded a different unit, again. This time they gave us a key that opened a unit that was already occupied, walking in on people in bed. A couple of hours later, we were sent to a new unit that was just cleaned. The carpet must have been shampooed minutes earlier since the whole floor was still soaking wet. We were ready to look for lodging elsewhere. The manager on duty didn't even bother to come out of his office to talk to us. He let two rather inept desk receptionists to handle the fiasco. Ultimately, a different, "better" room was found and we settled in for the week. A nasty way to start a vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler

Great Stay

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Cons: Free Parking
Great location, Great views, Great staff, the snack delivery was appreciated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Chicago, IL

Beautiful grounds, well kept

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Right on the beach and within walk to Whailer Village.
Cons: Bigger pool as mentioned above and separate one for kids.
Location: Black rock snorkeling,
Love this place nice rooms, very spacious . Staff very friendly . Pool little small I wish they would have separate pool for kids, also whirlpool small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from San Diego

Home away from home...Love it!!

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: Everything!!!
Cons: Nothing, love it just as it is...
This is our fourth time staying here, we consider it home away from home. We have stayed at bigger more high end places and we keep coming back to the Whaler. It is perfect for us, we love the full kitchen, community laundry, location etc... It is a little slower than the bigger hotel chains and we like that. I would say it is an older crowd which again we like. Our two your old enjoys it too. We have always gone with the Garden View Studio room and been very happy, this year we got upgraded to a one bedroom two bath because they were under renovations on one side of the building. We loved our room, (106). Ground floor with two Lanai's (balconies). Our daughter could go out the sliding door right to the beautiful grass. The hotel/condo is right next to the Whaler's Village which is great, you can go eat or shop etc...A wonderful beach, pool and jacuzzi. There is an exercise room and more. We love the shopping carts in the parking garage, you can load groceries or luggage and bring them right to your room. It is more like a condo/home than a hotel and we love that. You are greeted on your second day with a cut up fresh Pineapple. It is to die for. This year we even got a free reusable bag which made for a great beach bag etc...We use the community laundry which is located on each floor, in all the years we have never run into anyone else doing laundry. One of our favorite things is when you leave the property in your car the person at the gate gives you a Shaka/Hang-loose.
4 out of 5
by MM79 from Seattle, WA, United States

Great place - Freindly and convenient

Posted Dec 3, 2013
This was a great place to stay. All of the hotel staff as well as the guys at the towel shack (guy that wears a gold chain was really nice and accommodating) were very nice. Very convenient. Parking is under the hotel, hop on the elevator right up to room. The beach and black rock are right there, Whalers Villiage, right there. Nice morning walk to Starbucks. Just a perfect central location. Room was nice with a view of black rock 214