Ratings based on 44 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Palmer, Alaska

misleading

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: The pool, oceanfront view, grounds are kept nicely. Stunning ocean views and sunset views.
Cons: Kitchen and bathroom update. One of the cupboards broke loose from the nails while opening it.New couch would be very appreciated. Towel availability.
Location: Location and walking distance were awesome. We walked to the fish market and farmers market daily. Lots of beaches nearby but hard to find parking.
We booked this resort through travelocity as a package. I have to say I was very disappointed with our actual unit. Travelocity only shows the updated, nice, newer units which appear to be very nice. Our unit was super dated with an very uncomfortable couch. Also, I was unaware that we were in a unit that did not have house keeping or towel exchange services. The last thing I want to do on my vacation is LAUNDRY. When I made this reservation, I called to reserve an infant crib. I was given a SERIOUSLY out of date metal fold up crib that looked kind of illegal. We used it for one night as her leg was stuck between the bars when we woke up. The oceanfront view was stunning and there is nothing like falling asleep to the found of crashing waves, so I cannot complain too much. The pool areas were very nice and super clean and the grounds were kept very nicely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Loved the view and surrounding area. Plenty of things to do close to the resort that were extremely easy to get to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Lake Tahoe, CA

Relaxed feel-beautiful grounds-lack of beach

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Pros: The grounds, the staff, the vibe, the location.
Cons: The beach area, if there was a restaurant or bar on site, had a shuttle whalers village.
Location: Close to Black rock, tons of snorkeling, 5-10 minutes to downtown Lahaina.
What we liked about Papakea was that it wasn't as 'resorty' as nearby condo/hotels, but it wasn't too far from them and all the action. The grounds were quiet for the most part and we could come back after a day of activities to some peace and solitude. We booked a garden view room but ended up with a filtered ocean view which was quite nice. We would have meals on the balcony and watch the sunset at night. There wasn't a sandy beach on grounds, but a short walk would bring you to a small sandy beach that was swimmable but had a few rocks. There were lots of great beaches within a minute or two drive. There was construction going on right in front of the water while we were there which blocked the view a bit and was noisy one of the days. The hotel staff was very friendly and the concierge was extremely helpful and went out of their way to help us in a few situations. There were some fruit flies in the kitchen but I think it comes with the climate and didn't bother us much. Overall we were pleased with the accommodations and would be happy to return.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Los Angeles

There are better places on Maui

Posted Dec 7, 2015
The amenities here were not good at all. They did not clean during the week, you had to call them to ask for clean, dry towels, and you had to take out your own trash and dump it into a large container on the ground floor that was full the first time I took trash out. They charge $90 to clean after you leave, but when we first got there and reached in the cupboard for dishes, they were dirty. We washed them ourselves.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Yelm, WA

Aston at Papakea Resort 7 day stay

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: The view and the balcony, pol and hot tubs
Cons: Elevator is slow, we used the stairs, this particular place doe not have a beach, it is a tall rock wall and you have to go next door to swim
Location: Lots to do in Lahina, snorkel etc, beaches are nice
I liked this place, have stayed here before but this time we had a great ocean view room but only booked a garden view, we stayed with a large group and I think they upgraded us to keep us all together in the same building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by John808 from Aiea, HI

Loved it!

Posted Aug 17, 2013
Really enjoying my stay in my oceanfront room. I had requested a room above ground floor (for privacy & a better view), but when I checked in, we had been assigned a ground-room floor. They found an upstairs room for us, but it wasn't clean yet so they told us to go to our assigned room & they would call us when the other was ready. I'm glad! A109 had a bad smell (strong Indian curry), but otherwise was a nice room. A309 was even better! It took only about 5 minutes for the new room to get ready & we moved upstairs. The front desk staff was courteous & helpful and so was housekeeping, who let us see into a couple of other rooms. Grounds are immaculate, and if you walk off the grounds there are many shops & restaurants right outside. I would definitely come back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by BrownSugars from Modesto, CA

Comfortable

Posted Jul 17, 2013
We had six adults traveling.  The 2 BDR,  loft and sofa bed can comfortably accommodate 5 adults and 2 children under 12 years old or 6 adults.  There was only one working shower, but 2 bathtubs and 3 toilets.  Everything worked except second shower head.  We made due.  The kitchen is a great money saver because restaurant eating for 6 is expensive, around $90 or more per meal for 6.  Grounds are well kept, and beach is good for snorkeling.  Stores and snorkeling place across the street.  Easy access.  In retrospect, should have rented snorkeling equipment for the week and not taken an expensive snorkeling boat excursion.  Would go back to Papakea for relaxing and comfortable trip.   I did recommend it to my friends on Facebook.  Aloha.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Kerr2429 from Chicago, IL

Great Property.

Posted Jun 26, 2013
We had a great time! The place is very clean (always important) and the staff was very friendly! We would stay there again in a minute! There was some construction going on there during our stay but we never were distribured by the sound!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Paerce from Phoenix, AZ, USA

Great ocean views

Posted Nov 13, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet
Everything was great about the room with the exception of the carpeting which was pretty dirty - not unusual in a beach setting. I'd rip out the carpeting and put in tile. Great location, could see ocean from balcony, hear waves all the time. Fully equipped kitchen, comfortable bed, large closet. Great price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Travel2lady from Burleson, TX, USA

Very relaxing and laid back.

Posted Oct 5, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, clean, beautiful grounds
Cons: no a/c in bedroom, no beach
It was a nice place and we had a great time. We stayed in a one bedroom with a partial ocean view which was beautiful. The bedroom and bed were small but comfortable. There was only a/c in the living room,none in the bedroom. There was no beach but we walked to the Aston next door. Beaches are all public. Nearby restaurants were very good. Staff was friendly and helpful.