Ratings based on 82 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Chicago

Hotel great plane ride terrible

Posted Sep 17, 2017
The hotel stay was great but i can't review the plane ride cause it was canceled even though it wasn't. Travelocity refuses to refund anything and i purchased insurance. I paid for a first class round trip ticket but came home on economy. Worst experience ever, very disappointed and now i don't want to use this site again, i will be sure to voice my disappointment every chance i get.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Toronto

The best thing is the location

Posted May 30, 2017
The location is perfect. The hotel was in my view 3.5 stars and not more. Little things like a coffee maker in the room was missing. The lobby, restaurants and bar are cut off from eachother making the area less inviting than it really is. Our closet door stuck and was hard to slide open. Bathroom was a good size. Room was pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Awesome stay

Posted May 1, 2017
Tracy at the front desk was one of the nicest individual we have met in our many hotel stays. Thanks for helping to make our one night in Chicago a great one!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Nice Boutique. Worn but comfortable

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Great location, small rooms, worn in places, ice on request, no fridge, great staff, great history, overall a nice stay.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Covington

Dated, but great location

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Perfect location for shopping, restaurants and public transportation. Staff was helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. Seemed a bit dated, and the one downside was that the toilet did not flush easily
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Ottawa, IL

Great location

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Our stay at the Whitehall was perfect. The location just off Michigan was great, easy walk to shopping and restaurants. We love exploring a city on foot and really enjoyed walking around Chicago. The hotel room was spacious and very clean and we even had a great view looking East at Michigan Ave. and the John Hancock building. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Would recommend this hotel highly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Detroit, MI

Great stay!

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Clean rooms...great staff...especially Dan at the desk and the doormen were awesome. Have recommended this hotel and we will be back on our next visit to Chicago.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Almost

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: see above
Cons: Better beds and pillows and lose the umbrella charge---the umbrella could not be worth more than $3-to add a $30 room charge seems unfriendly at best.
Location: perfect location restaurants off all types nearby and the same for shopping.
The hotel is perfectly located, charming and small-coffee available in the lounge each morning and a nice bar restaurant in the back. The hotel is bustling and thus there are a fair amount of people and luggage lingering in the lobby area throughout the day, which for me takes away from the aesthetic and charm of the hotel. The beds are hard as a brick and we woke up stiff and sore every morning. The shower which was not producing hot water when we first arrived, turned out to be a nice strong shower later on- though my husband 6'1" found the showerhead to be way too low and had to duck a fair amount to shampoo his hair. I asked for an umbrella the night before a rainy day---since the lobby is swarming with people not just checking in and out but just hanging around-I thought I would secure an umbrella and avoid standing in line the next morning. I was told by the women at the desk (who reluctantly gave me the umbrella) the night before that $30 would be charged to our room bill for the umbrella and only removed once it was retuned by the end of the day. I would not describe her as especially pleasant nor have I EVER experienced a charge for an umbrella while a guest in a hotel. All and all, would not stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from K. Florida

Can't go wrong

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Very comfortable room, coffee downstairs , umbrellas available, superb location, very capable staff, our second stay here.. Good value. Many restaurants, cafes, and shopping just minutes away.. A CTA pass and a Uber app on your phone is all you need to explore Chicago.
Comment from Hotel Management
by The Whitehall Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your response!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from New York

Great bed & location, clean & quiet room but dark

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: Location, bedding, cleanliness, quiet
Cons: Lighting was poor and view was terrible
Location: Near magnificent mile shopping and the Hancock tower.
We stayed in room 1213, which has a single, king size bed. The room is nicely furnished, but the d├ęcor is dark and lighting was limited. Keeping the window shades up for light wasn't a great option because the room opens to an air shaft and there are rooms directly opposite. On the bright side, the hotel is very nicely situated near magnificent mile shopping and a block from the Hancock tower. The bed and bedding were excellent and the room was very quiet. If you are looking for a clean, convenient place to sleep and you aren't planning to hang out in the hotel, this could be a good hotel choice for you.