Ratings based on 23 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.5 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2017
We had issue with the hotel staff going through our luggage. It was mentioned to the hotel management yet nothing was done and no follow-up. Also, they ran out of bottled water!! Would not recommend this hotel unfortunately. Barcelo properties are usually very good. Not this one though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous: We were very disappointed to read your experience during your stay in our Barceló Gran Faro hotel, whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, please believe we do extend it with all sincerity. We sincerely lament your exceptional experience when staying among us and would like to take the opportunity to clarify that in the event of having a guest reporting a theft in the room, our staff is fully aware of the procedures to undertake, being first to verify the cards used to enter the room and offer the option to contact the official authorities for you to fill an official complaint, unfortunately as clearly reported on the hotel's literature, the hotel cannot be taken responsible for valuables and personal belongings not secured in our in-room safes,lastly we also would like to reassure you on the fact that none of our maids would ever put their job at risk by taking any belonging of our guests.Nevertheless please be assured that your comments have been shared with the concerned managers so they can make the appropriate adjustments in the areas you mentioned. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. We sincerely lament reading that your stay was not as pleasant as it should have been and we would be very pleased to welcome you again in the future ensuring you in advance of our utmost commitment to make your next Barceló holiday experience an unforgettable one for all the right reasons. Kind regards from Los Cabos
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Wisconsin

Overall not impressed wouldn't stay here again

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: The buffets were good and from what other said the sushi was really good.
Cons: The amount of staff members and opening things ON TIME.
Location: About a 15 minute walk is a really nice tourist shop area. We walked with ease to this location.
This was our second time at a Barcelo location, first time was Riviera Maya and I DO NOT recommend that one at all. This one wasn't much better but it was smaller so it was easier to navigate. The timing of everything was really annoying. When you say you are going to have something open at 10:00AM that means 10:00AM not 10:15AM or 10:30AM. This goes for everything from the buffets to the bars to the nice restaurants. The Italian restaurant was awful (food, service, everything). My wife and I will never be back to any Barcelo locations. The Cabo atmosphere is awesome though so I recommend going to Cabo just not to the Barcelo location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2017 by Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ryan : We were very disappointed to read your experience during your stay in our Barceló Gran Faro hotel, whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, please believe we do extend it with all sincerity. We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service you experienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests also please receive our most sincere apologies for not fulfilling your expectations regarding our gastronomy and all-inclusive service, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision. Once again, many thanks for your help to get to know the points where we can still improve the experiences of the ones that come to visit us and we truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Los Cabos. Kind regards from Los Cabos
3 out of 5
by A traveler from midwest usa

Poor mgmt=average experience

Posted Feb 25, 2017
We just got back. It was average at best. Our superior room was anything but superior. It was equivalent to a Best Western or red roof Inn in USA. It was clean though. Only big towels or change. They never had wash clothes or hand towels. Ever. The food was below average. Breakfast was fine. After that, it went downhill quickly. Never had hand sanitizers at the buffet. The sanitizer stand was there, but it was always empty. No urgency ever to refill it. Some staff were good people trying to do their best. Many were running around scrambling. Too few staff people in that facility to make it a nice experience. Spa was pricey and average. Pools were nice. They say no reserving of the sun chairs, but you know Americans and Canadians, up at the crack of dawn with flip-flops or a magazine on every single chair. Good luck finding a place to sun bathe. Skip the restaurants. And I mean this. Food was awful. Service was average. Regretting the deal we got. I would have rather paid more and stayed at RUI or secrets.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Lyn : We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to. Please receive our most sincere apologies for not fulfilling your expectations regarding our gastronomy and all-inclusive service. We work very hard, striving to surpass guest expectations and your review has stimulated us to continue endeavor to achieve your satisfaction if you decide to honor us with a new visit. Thank you again for your visit and constructuve critics, our primary goal being to assure our guests feel comfortable and fully enjoy their visits, we are eager to regain your confidence during another occasion if you gave us that chance Kind regards from Los Cabos
3 out of 5
by A traveler

The views were great, but not a very clean resort

Posted Feb 22, 2017
It was an ok resort. For the price though, I would pick a different resort. The only restaurants available to eat at were the buffets, unless you can actually get a reservation at one of the others in the resort. We were there for 6 nights and they were booked on all reservations the entire stay. The pool was dirty, bathrooms by the pool were dirty and missing half the toilet seats. My first night there, I went to get into bed and there were food crumbs in my sheets.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymou: Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay at our Barceló Gran Faro hotel. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and improve upon the service that we provide to our guests. We are deeply sorry to hear you were not able to make any reservation at our specialty restaurants, our team tries the best to make reservations for everyone. We appreciate you taking the time to notify us of your personal experience and rest assured that your review will be discussed with all departmental managers for evaluation and action as needed. In relation to the incidents regarding the cleaning of the hotel, we would like to offer our sincere apologies as clearly we were not performing to our usual standards on this occasion; we will make sure to discuss your comments to the management team department with your review being used as the example to guarantee nothing like this ever happens again at our hotel and we thank you for bringing them to our attention as we have taken them extremely seriously and have learned from them. Once again, many thanks for your help to get to know the points where we can still improve the experiences of the ones that come to visit us and we truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Barceló Gran Faro. Kind regards from Los Cabos
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A traveler from Michigan

Nice hotel in good location if you want quiet

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: The smaller site made it easy to get around and be with others we traveled with.
Cons: Food choices, more waiters at poolside, and better entertainment.
Location: Good location for shopping, entertainment, and being offsite. Bad location for excursions and beach use.
Barceló is a nice hotel, however, the rooms could use some updating. The shower leaked, and the temperature control for the room didn't work - but overall, it was workable considering the price. The rooms are kept very clean and the entire staff is friendly. There's a language barrier throughout the site, especially in the lobby, but their great attitude made it tolerable. The food is average, but when you consider the total cost, it's reasonable - and the small site made getting around easy. If you like excursions or water sports on the beach, this hotel may not work for you - unless you don't mind a 40 minute ride (one way) to jet ski, parasail, drive quads, etc. Even then, the water in Cabo is cold. The beach at this hotel is nearly vacant due to not being able to enter the water with its constant undertow. This was a big disappointment, as I enjoy watching the characters walk by and the overall beach experience. If you want the beach to yourself and you don't mind not being able to use the water, this location is for you. Quiet and laid back defines this hotel. We vacationed here the first week of February and the weather was in the low 80's, but felt much hotter in the sun and much cooler in the shade. It was so much cooler in the shade that the swim-up bar wasn't being used. In fact, the pools overall we're mostly vacant. You will need long sleeve shirts or sweaters every evening and morning here. If you want quiet and privacy, this hotel provides that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Tom, We first would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló Gran Faro hotel for your holidays in Los Cabos and for sharing your comments on your experience among us. As you mention, our hotel is a family and relaxing property. We can guarantee quite and privacy to all of our guest. Thank you for your remarks on the things we can improve regarding the rooms and services around the hotel. We are taking good notes of it. One more time thank you for your visit and sharing your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Kindest Regards
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A traveler from Seattle

Beautiful view of the water

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: The grounds-keeping was great.
Cons: Food - options for vegetarians, and overall quality/taste. The rooms should get an upgrade.
Location: The location (San Jose del Cabo) was perfect for family vacations, or with young children. Not overly crowded, easy access to the beach.
We took a family reunion vacation at Barcelo. The views and grounds of hotel definitely met our expectations. They take very good care of all public spaces. The hotel rooms could use an upgrade, but still good enough for basics. The food was okay - we are all vegetarian and getting good veg food was difficult. The kitchen staff wanted to help, but because of the language barrier, they couldn't understand what we were asking very well. After 3 days in, we finally got hold of a manager that spoke English, and he conveyed to the chef what we needed as vegetarians. The staff was great in all areas of the hotel. They were very friendly and worked hard to please all the guests. Those who spoke English happily would stop to have conversations with guests. Overall, they were very inviting.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Pari: Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success We also regret that our buffet could not meet your expectations, mainly because the quality and the diversity of our culinary offer counts to our strengths. We take your comments regarding our cuisine very seriously, because we wish that our gastronomy remains a very special treat for our guests. We have taken note of your various constructive comments and please be assured that we value all our guests' feedback to be of utmost importance to us and will ensure that the necessary corrective measures are taken accordingly to avoid any similar situations in the future. Kind regards from Los Cabos.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A traveler from Sun City West AZ

Great Vacation!

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: Everything! Close to the airport, close to the town of San Jose Del Cabo, quiet, no sales people hassling you.The people are warm and friendly.
Cons: Most of the time the ocean is too rough to be in.
Location: WE only leave the resort for church on Sunday in the nice little town and for our daily walk streetside.
This was our 13th stay at this resort and it was great as usual. The buildings and grounds are meticulously maintained and in great shape. Housekeeping does a good job with no complaints by us.The food is very good with numerous selections and great presentation. All the staff is very helpful and always ready to please.We hope to return in 2017.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by Guest Service Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Ron: Thank you so much to take the time to share your experience about your last visit at our resort. We feel so glad to hear from you after the amazing time you had with us, thank you so much for your review and acknowledge about our outgoing staff. We are happy to warmly welcome you back in the future. Warm regards.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Seattle, WA

Nice hotel, but better options are out there

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: We loved the shows and the beach! The pools and the bars were also great.
Cons: The service declined immensely as the trip went on and the resort got busier. We also would have liked more options in the mini-bar and restaurants.
Location: The location has fewer options than Cabo San Lucas. Most excursions involved at least a 40 min drive & there weren't many vendors on the beach.
Overall, we did enjoy our stay at Barcelo, but if we return, we will likely stay somewhere else. Here's a brief overview of the main features: - Food: The food was good, but options were limited. Only one or two restaurants would take reservations each night, and the only other option was the buffet. I'm not sure if it was the food that did it, but my husband and I both did get sick stomach-wise during the trip. We did enjoy one great dinner at the Mexican restaurant. - Entertainment: AWESOME shows! I've stayed at a different all-inclusive in Cabo, and the shows didn't compare. We loved the circus show, the Michael Jackson tribute, and the Mexican dancing and mariachi band. - Rooms: The room was adequate for the stay. I wish we had upgraded at the beginning (either larger bed or better view), but we didn't. We did lose power for one day, which was rough with no AC. There is construction next door, but the noise wasn't bad. - Pools & Resort: The pools were great! It wasn't too busy during the first part of our stay, so we were able to get good chairs near the pools and not feel crowded in the pool. The beach access was great! We loved venturing down at sunset every evening. - Service: At the beginning of our trip, the service was great. But as the resort got busier further into our trip, the service decreased immensely. We weren't even waited on during our last dinner and breakfast. Overall, it was a nice place to stay, but we'd be willing to pay more for a nicer spot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by Guest Service, Hotel Management
Hello Rachel, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos during your last visit. We are truly sorry for all those inconveniences you had encounter while you were here. We are taking serious measures to avoid those kinds of incidents and achieve our main goal that is your complete satisfaction exceeding your expectations with the best quality services and hospitality during your retreat at the resort. Sorry to hear you were ill, we have a medical center to provide you the best medical care. It’s nice to know you had enjoyed our services as entertainment, shows and pools. Our staff loves to work harder every day and continuously improve the way to make you happy. We hope you can give us a second chance and change that bad impression. Warm regards from Los Cabos.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A traveler from Ca

Get what you pay for .

Posted Aug 16, 2016
They try to give me wherever come to their heads. I made reservation for a suit with ocean view . I got a regular room with a partial view. I have to step on some people's toes and put my foot hard and tell this pleople ,they were messing with wrong (mf) guy, to make my story short , i got what i was paying for. Don't order room service , is a big charge for that . Food was great , room maid was great (over worked lady ) , but remember "theres no swimming beach in the hotel " .
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2016 by Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest we fell good to hear that your stay was pleasant with us, and at the same time we are working very hard so our staff be prepared to give the 5 star service you deserve. we hope to have you back with us anytime soon
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A traveler from New York City

Our stay at Barcelo Gran Faro

Posted Apr 29, 2016
We had a great time, the staff was very attentive and make you feel they have known you for long time. However, it would have been nice to know beforehand that you could not get in the beach in this area. Also, activities in San Jose should be emphasized because we ended up going to San Lucas most of the time because that's where everything was happening. Besides those 2 things everything else was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2016 by Guest Service, Hotel Management
Thank you for your nice comments about our lovely hotel and thank you for pointing out the positive aspects you have found.