Ratings based on 28 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.0 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Connecticut

Fit the need for a one night hotel stay

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Location and price. Friendly staff. Included breakfast.
Cons: Upgrade rooms - new TV system. Put iron / board in the rooms. (Business traveler couldn't iron my shirt for the next day)
Location: Just blocks away from Flower street business buildings, Staples Center, "LA Live".
I was in LA for business and needed a hotel room for a night. Most hotels were booked up with no availability but I saw the Milner in my online search and only 4 blocks from where I was meeting. So, good location and the price was nice! The front desk staff upon check-in were great. Friendly and offered great suggestions for restaurants and food choices. The Milner is an old hotel. Some scratch graffiti in elevator cars. Smallish rooms and very small bathroom/shower. The TV was surprisingly old (large old style tube!). Window AC. The included breakfast was fine (juices, coffee, muffins/pastries, yogurts, waffle machine, fruit, etc.). As a business traveler this hotel worked fine for the night due to its location and price. If I was staying for a week or desired more amenities, I might look elsewhere.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Ok hotel

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Location: There was different places to go eat at with walking distance.
It's an ok hotel when there is no available rooms anywhere else. We had to squeeze through the bathroom door since the bed was to close it not to mention that the door was half the size of a regular door and the beds were to soft.
1 out of 5
by A traveler

Terrible

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Proximity to office
Cons: Everything needs an upgrade
Location: Walking near hotel is sketchy. Homeless & other odd characters at every turn...
Hotel is in major need of a renovation. Rooms are small & run down. Entire hotel was dark & scary. I came to the conclusion the lighting effect helped hind the terrible condition of the hotel. Will not stay again at any price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Sacramento, CA

Hello....from The Milner Hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: The close proximity to my final destination of the Staples Center.
Cons: There could be work done on the cosmetics of the rooms.. baseboards (cracked), leaking ice machine (towels on floor).
Location: 3 blocks from Staples Center, Microsoft Theater, L.A. Live. Macys, iHop, Starbucks, Subway all on corners near Hotel.
My stay at The Milner was part of a 'Bucket List' trip to see Adele at the Staples Center. The Milner Hotel was very convenient for me being it is located 3 short blocks from the Staples Center. The front desk staff greeted me with smiles and professionalism making my check-in quick and painless. The lobby area is quaint and clean. After a short elevator ride to the 11th floor I got to my room. The room was 'sufficient'. It had all the amenities that I would need for my 1 night (actually only a few sleeping hours). When I couldn't get the TV to work, the front desk had maintenance come and show ME how to work the remotes. Small bathroom, but again, everything you need including shampoo, conditioner, soap, body wash and hair net. I was VERY SATISFIED with my stay and would recommend it to anyone.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from Las Angeles, CA

You get what you pay for....

Posted May 13, 2015
I would not book this hotel ever again. The elevators are so scary that it seems like it's going to fall down every time. The room is so small that it felt like you had no where to walk. The TV didn't work at all and the ac shouldn't be by the head of the bed since some people do have allergies. And we weren't informed that there's a step into the bathroom so the whole time we kept on hitting or toes on it.
2 out of 5
by Ann3tr from Suriname

Rooms are to small. Beds also. Only the suites are ok.

Posted Dec 11, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet
Cons: Poor breakfast
Rooms are to small. Beds also. Only the suites are ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by zizorn from Garden Grove, CA, USA

Great deal in Downtown Los Angeles!

Posted Sep 5, 2012
Pros: Close restaurants, Free Internet, Free breakfast, close to public transit
Cons: check-in at 3 pm
The Ritz Milner in my opinion is one of the best deals in downtown Los Angeles. My main reason is because it is extremely close to the 7th Street/Metro Center station which basically connects you to all major trains and subways in L.A. (Yes L.A. has subways!). I stayed here with my fiancée due to a beer crawl that was happening downtown and I did not feel like driving home. The building is old but charming in my opinion and can look rundown a bit. However don’t let that deter you from here. The front desk staff was not friendly but not rude either. I am not complaining but just do not expect it to be all cheerful like a bigger hotel. I was given a room on the 8th floor and to me it was very small. However since I was only going to use the room to just sleep, it was not a big issue. If you are planning to stay there for several days then maybe a bigger hotel would be your choice. There is a window AC which was super cold and it was awesome due to the current California heat wave. As far as the bathrooms go, they were tiny. The shower stall was probably 3 feet by 2 feet. However, it didn’t really bother me and am just stating it so readers would know. There is a free continental breakfast in the lobby however I did not partake since we went out and about very early. Overall I would definitely stay here again and would recommend others to go as well.
2 out of 5
by My1stTimeThere from Raleigh, NC, USA

Not Impressive at all

Posted Aug 29, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Quiet
Very old hotel, small room and small bathroom w/a tiny shower! I stayed on the 6th floor and the hall windows where always opened....kind of erie. Does not have parking, had to park in public lot 2 doors away at $12 bucks each stay over 4 hours. Near to the Staples and Nokia Centers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by oldskoolpartyanimal

Nothing Fancy but not bad

Posted Jan 4, 2012
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Quiet, cheap parking next door
If you are looking for a cheap hotel within walking distance from the downtown LA scene (about 3 blocks) and don't need anything fancy, this is a good deal. It is old but reasonably well maintained. It was quite small for a "suite" and there was 1 queen bed and a very uncomfortable pull-out bed, the view from our room was depressing, but it was clean and quiet and served the purpose. Also there is no mini-fridge in the room so we had to improvise our "ice bucket" by using the wastebaskets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by LAtravelor from Minnesota, USA

The rooms are better than the building apperance

Posted Nov 30, 2011
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet
The room was very clean and better than expected from the ageing building interior. For the location, it was a very good value. The day staff was average, while the late night, early morning staff were not very knowledgeable. The breakfast was solid for a cheap continental breakfast.