Ratings based on 1,529 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Coconut Creek, FL

A block away from pretty bad area

Posted Jun 19, 2017
Well for starters the casino area smells overwhelmingly like cigarettes. I'm not sensitive to smoke but on this trip it totally aggravated my lungs because I had a cold. When we checked into the room it was absolutely terrible with a tiny window and 70s era decor. It looked like a Cheap motel. I texted to complain which was really convenient and I upgraded my room for $30 which was much better. The local Carl Jr across the street was dirty and full of homeless people with sores on their bodies harassing people to give them food. I will likely never stay at Stratosphere unless it was that much cheaper to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from NE Ohio

Better Than I was Expecting.

Posted Jun 18, 2017
Pros: Location, outside the busy area and a bus stop right outside. The view from the top of the tower.
Cons: Taking care of some of the small details in the room and additional clean ups of the hallway areas (not the hotels fault, really), guests littering.
Location: The view at the top. Buy the bus pass, we did $20 for 3 days, busses come every 20-25 minutes, with access to the strip and downtown.
Okay, this was my first time staying here and I read a bunch of reviews, before I booked the hotel, so I was expecting a lot worse. I can understand some of the other reviewers complaints, but if you factor in the price of this hotel, you really have to adjust your expectations. For the price, I would stay here again, in a heart beat. Overall, I was very satisfied with my stay. The hotel is a bit older. You can see some signs of wear and tear in the room, but nothing that took away from my stay. There was a small issue with the curtain, it was not hanging right, and was a little off. There was some mildew in the grout in the bathroom, which shows some age, but it was nothing out of the ordinary for an older hotel. We did see more than a fare share of trash in the hallways, however, the ones to blame are the other guests. People on our floor dropped french fries, food, glasses, and other stupid things in the hallway. They were all picked up by housekeeping later. The hotel is very convenient to the bus that runs up and down the strip and to the Freemont area. That is the way to go. The rest of the hotel was nicer than we expected, the restaurants inside the restaurant, made it very convenient, the McDonalds, especially for coffee and soda. The prices were not bad either, especially for Vegas. The casino was nice and the view from the top was FANTASTIC. The price for guests is $5.00 for all day. It is WELL worth it!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2017 by Jamie - Digital Brand Specialist, Hotel Management
Thank you for your extensive review. We strive to provide a comfortable stay for our guests, and we are glad that your overall stay was enjoyable. We are in the process of updating our Guest Rooms in order to provide a better experience for our guests. Thank you for your visit, and we look forward to seeing you again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Minnesota

Ok for the price

Posted Jun 17, 2017
Pool closed too early at 7 every night. Roxys diner and the pizza place had poor service and poor food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2017 by Jamie - Digital Brand Specialist, Hotel Management
We apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay. Your feedback is important and is noted. We appreciate your visit, and we hope you permit us another opportunity to better impress you in the future.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Waco, Texaa

Hotel Experience

Posted Jun 16, 2017
I have stayed at this hotel many years ago and at that time things were good. This time things were way different. To start off, this hotel is old and has not been updated in a very long time. The rooms are small, the furniture is old, beaten and weather. The bathroom was so small that could barely fit one person. Within 30 mins of me checking in I had to call in to housekeeping to report plumbing problems. Also if you want to get a receipt of your bill upon checking out, I stood in line for over 30 mins, finally a young lady came by with a tablet and took my room number, and said that a copy of the bill would be emailed, but it has been over 24 hours later since I left and still no receipt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

The hotel was nice.

Posted Jun 12, 2017
The only thing that i Experiences that hotel didnt have, that i wanted was a coffee machine, ice box or microwave.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2017 by Jamie - Digital Brand Specialist, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay here at the Stratosphere. We are in the process of updating our Guest Rooms in order to provide a better experience for our guests. Thank you for your visit, and we will see you again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Pleasant stay!

Posted Jun 8, 2017
For a better price we knowingly accepted a room that had not yet been refurbished. However, except for a few quirks it was still very nice. There was an odor, possibly from old carpet, but a can of bathroom spray took care of it. The casino floor and public areas were clean, well lighted, and smelled fresh. The WiFi was lousy for some reason especially at $29 a day for the resort fee. There is a fantastic Denny's 3 blocks away that gives a discount to Stratosphere customers. Bring your room key. Parking is easy in and out. All staff we interacted with were very good. Question, why do ALL hotels use those awful bags of shapeless batting instead of real pillows?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from NY

Nice hotel. Free parking

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Little far from rush area but good staff. Good service and clean.
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Disappointed

Posted Jun 4, 2017
The $84 resort fee was worthless and just another way to get $. It paid for nothing. Everything was overpriced The next time I plan a vacation it won't be at the Strat or Vegas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Bethel, OH

NORMAL HOTEL, NOT A RESORT

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: The accessability of finding it and the ease of getting out to go places. .
Cons: Somehow streamline the processing-in procedure. There were WAY too many people in line all the time!
Location: It's LAS VEGAS!! Red Rock Canyon - Hoover Dam - Valley of Fire - Nellis AFB - just drive around!
Even though we had paid for our hotel room, we were charged a "resort fee" when we arrived but we GOT a normal boring hotel room. Even less of one, really, because we had a TV sitting on the table so we could not use the table at all except the first six inches (or a ledge). We were not able to play cards, to eat, to looking at our tour books, booklets, and so forth - it was very annoying. The niche in the armoire where the TV usually is was available for storage, but, again, not able to be used as a table. The window was very dirty and we weren't able to take (good) pictures through it. There was a tray with a carafe and two coffee cups sitting in the hallway the night (Sunday) we arrived, and it was still sitting there the morning (Friday) we left. Nasty! Overall, though, it was a good experience - we were happy with the hotel staff and the way they treated us, and the way they answered any questions we had. We did not expect much, and did not receive much - except a big whack to the wallet. Yes, we understand the 'resort fee' gave us access to the pool, etc., but why isn't that included in the price of the room? Why get whacked while you are checking in after traveling all day?
1 out of 5
by A traveler from st louis

The room was not up dated, and very dusty...

Posted May 29, 2017
I will NEVER return to that hotel again!!! The hotel was nasty and dusty.